When all else fails, Use these

Simple Creates less problems

When I think about how we spoke about “body shaming” and why it wasn’t a good thing, I had to stop and also think about what words can be used to describe a person’s body without intentionally being negative. It’s really hard to think of many words to talk about the body without being honest & so that is why I came up with just a few simple words that can be used but have a HUGE meaning behind them. Underweight, overweight, normal weight, obese, these are all the words I came up with to use when describing someone’s shape.  The reason I have chosen these words are because they are simple & get straight to the point. 

The problem with using these words are because only one of them is “good” & the rest are somewhat not so good but that is why I think this is a good start:

  • No one can tell you what “normal” should look like because normal is different for everyone. Ha!
  • If you are underweight, you most likely should gain some weight and if it is an illness then this needs to be addressed with a Doctor & someone close to you that you can trust
  • Overweight will mean you should lose weight
  • Obese means you need to lose weight, talk to a doctor about any ailments or conditions you might be facing or have because of your weight and decide how you want to lose this weight

Easy enough? I find that no matter how we say it, being overweight or obese is never going to be a “good” thing and so there is no real technical way of making someone happy by using these words but at least these words confront the problem instead of disguising it & that goes for underweight as well.  Sometimes “beating behind the bush” makes the circumstances worse than what they should be. If I was to be really honest with you, I would tell you to stay away from describing a person’s body but since that is not going to happen, how about we stay away from degrading people’s body.  Professionals use these words & I don’t see why we shouldn’t because they are FACTS, they aren’t meant to put people down, or make one body more superior than the other; these words are meant to guide you in the right direction and bring things to light.  

If society continues to use body shaming words, this field is doomed & people are going to start to not care about their health and wellness at all, which is what I don’t want to happen.  I want everyone to care about what goes into their bodies, their fitness level, being able to keep up with their everyday routines, mental health & how healthy they really are.  What you should do is reevaluate your bodies using these words I mentioned up top & decide if that is what you want for yourself; either “yes” or “no”.  Change what you don’t like but do it knowing that you want to be healthy and within normal range of weight. This is a baby step & as soon as we dig in deeper than we can jump into specifics. 

Are you healthy?

Overweight, underweight, obese, normal weight?

Are you okay with this?

Please share, follow & comment.  I would love to hear from you!

Sincerely,

Your Blogger Shay-lon

Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

Leave a Reply

