College student Fitness

 

http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=43497

http://healthyeating.sfgate.com/stay-fit-college-5352.html

http://www1.cbn.com/healthy-living-campus-how-college-students-can-stay-fit

“Tips and tricks of staying fit and healthy as a college student”

I am a college student and currently this is my last semester, but I have a a huge load of homework and I am still considered full time. It almost seemed impossible for me to make it to the gym when I want to, because my book load is heavy and I have stresses beyond stresses (which will be a different blog post). Nonetheless, I have managed to still stay fit and healthy even when I don’t make it to the gym everyday. Right now, I am taking an exercise science class (which is my major) and we have a project on the 25th of February where we have to meet someplace where the campus is busy and set up stands (each student) and talk about the challenges of being able to stay in shape, eat healthy, ect while being a college student then we will give our tips and tricks.  Now I have chosen my own topic i will discuss at my stand, but I will expose this information after the fact and will keep you posted on how things went.  

I for one, will be the first person to admit that staying fit and eating healthy while attending college is a struggle unless you are a current athlete or live at home possibly and/or just have good habits instilled in you; otherwise most of us college students are more focused on our grades and life after graduation. Which really, shouldn’t mean anything but when it comes down to it, between homework and the majority of students also work part-time and/or full-time jobs and some students even have children to raise; just don’t have time in their schedule to fit in “me time” & although those excuses may seem deemable, they are not! because guess what? there is ALWAYS a way to keep active when you least expect it.   This brings me to my next point, staying active is anything that keeps you moving & anything that keeps you moving or standing is a good thing when it comes to staying healthy. Below I will list some tips and ideas on ways us college students can continue down the road to better health and wellness as we progress through our majors. For some of you who may want to know a bit about my college life, I am going to share a tid bit so you can get to know me on my level. First off, I commute to my college campus (between 45 minutes to a hour depending on traffic and the weather), I graduate in May, my major is exercise science, I am taking 12 credit hours, I work part-time but sometimes it feels like full-time because I work long hours. I work tuesday, wednesday, friday and saturday (different times) this is just for the month of Feb.  I am also doing clinical hours/interning on Monday’s and Friday’s, I have been elected to be in the honors program but declined due to the fact I already had a huge work load and didn’t want to make things any harder on myself, I have been nominated by my professor and my Dean to be part of an activity for the school and I will receive some great rewards from that both on my transcript and letters of recommendations, certificates (it is exciting to say the least), my least favorite subject that I am taking right now is math; I suck at math.  My favorite classes are my exercise science classes for obvious reasons.  I won’t give out my whole daily routine because i don’t want any stalkers but lets just say I normally try to be at the gym Mon-Thursday. 

My social life is usually on hold unless I am texting some friends, I have big plans normally on the weekends after work but I don’t really party because I don’t have tons of time to be able to.  I am single, so no relationship to manage and I have no kids so I am lucky to have a bit more “me time” lol. So that was a bit about me and my life currently, obviously boring and not much to it but at least everyone can understand that I am somewhat in the same boat when it comes to having a busy schedule.

  1. Manage your workload and “me time”- you need the me time, no matter how you can get, because it is essential that you are able to still have time to decompress so that your stress levels decrease
  2. park further from the school building, you can be that kid who wants to park the closest but you can imagine how much more exercise you can get when you park further
  3. ride your bike if you want to, if you live close enough where you can walk or ride a bicycle, why not do it, it will save you gas and you get to exercise
  4. find out if your school offers a gym and what their hours are and if you have time, use it because normally it is free for students to use
  5. part take in a school sport either NCAA, or intramural sports
  6. try packing your lunch instead of eating lunch on campus
  7. eat breakfast
  8. make leftovers so you have food that can least 3 days to a week
  9. eat a variety of fruits and veggies
  10. eat more protein than carbs
  11. bring snacks with you so you don’t have to stop someplace to buy some
  12. do some community service hours, both beneficial to you for school and gets you out more
  13. take the long route to class, don’t take short cuts, walk the longer route
  14. don’t avoid stairs (unless you have a health condition that prohibits you)
  15. take some exercise classes (yoga, kickboxing, karate, walking, weight lifting, ect) if you can fit in your schedule
  16. learn new recipes
  17. cook often instead of take out
  18. buy fresh or buy frozen veggies (caned veggies and fruits sometimes have higher sugar content and sodium and corn syrup.. ect) read the labels if you need to
  19. budget your account (be financially responsible)
  20. take your kids to places like parks, events, things that get both of you out of the house and doing something active together
  21. meet like-minded individuals who also want to start working out or currently do
  22. join clubs
  23. carry water with you to stay hydrated 
  24. pack your gym clothes, it will be a good reminder of what you planned on doing for the day/ or wear them
  25. sign up for 5K runs, 10Ks and more
  26. choose restaurants that offer a good menu of items (better choice of foods like salads, green beans, ect)
  27. do workout videos at home if you don’t have time for a gym
  28. get a good nights sleep
  29. use your textbooks as weights so you can lift at home, might not weigh much but no doubt they come handy for someone who doesn’t own dumbbells 
  30. wake up earlier if you need to; it might suck but sometimes I wake earlier to stretch, to have time to cook breakfast and to just get moving

So this is a large list and hopefully it will help the majority of you college students, as it has helped me. There is no excuses for why we can’t continue to stay fit and healthy, we just need to make time for it and do things that mean the same thing as going to the gym, use your surroundings. Thanks for reading, please share, like and comment if you wish!

 

Sincerely,

Your blogger Shay-lon

Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

Leave a Reply

