Challenge your comfort zone

comfort zone

I have come to the conclusion that people will not do exercises they think “look hard”, don’t want to change their routine, don’t want to go out of their way to buy the equipment, and have a lack of understanding & like staying complacent.  This is what keeps some people from excelling in life, and in their goals. As a personal trainer in the making, I have already ran into the type of clients that want to stay in their “cube” and only do what they know and feel comfortable with; which in the beginning may be okay but as you decide that you want to grow and build on yourself, you will need to step outside the cube and do things that you wouldn’t normally do! Why? because growth doesn’t happen to those who aren’t willing to climb the ladder and go beyond. 

When I say step outside your comfort zone and challenge yourself, what I mean by this for example is, instead of making the treadmill your safe haven when you enter the gym, instead go do something that you normally would want to do but because you are scared of being judged or because you are scared you won’t know what to do, try it. Sometimes the things that come easy to us, keep us from growing and keep us from excelling and we hit a plateau that does us no good in the long run.   The hard part about challenging ourselves is not knowing how well we will do and taking a risk that might end badly; but it is worth it. 

Tell me why some of you don’t challenge yourself, why you are afraid to step outside your comfort zone & tell me what scares you about doing it, tell me what goals you have and what is keeping you from them? are you afraid to try something new, are you afraid of failure, do you make poor excuses and give up? Some people get so used to the same routine, that change scares them.  I know the feeling because when I started changing my eating habits, I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to stick to it, and I would get “bored” or wouldn’t be able to afford it.  When I decided to change my level of physical activity, I was the person who jumped on the treadmill and never wanted to venture out because anything outside of that made me nervous.  I knew I didn’t have huge amounts of muscle and I wasn’t the skinniest girl in there with the nicest, roundest butt and so I was afraid to stand next to someone who did have those qualities because it made me think lowly of myself.  As soon as I built my self confidence and produced goals and worked on them, I gained what I needed to run to the weights and never wanted to leave, I slowly decided to focus on myself at the gym and less on the people around me, I started taking things I learned from my exercise science classes and used them in the real world and I started to see results and trusted myself enough to continue on this path.  It isn’t easy, and the journey can be long and sometimes very uneasy but when you realize and notice how the challenges make you stronger; your thoughts & attitude changes. 

As I take this road to fulfilling my dreams to be in the fitness industry, I still have to maintain this type of confidence where no exercise is too scary and no exercise is too hard and looking in the mirror isn’t about whether you look good but how you look doing the workout.  I have to take a few steps back and analyze the type of workout I am doing before I start so that I am doing it safely and efficiently, it isn’t to “show off” mad skills and gain recognition, it is to hopefully open my eyes to new things and variety and keep me wanting to train harder and longer and build me as a person. When you stumble across new equipment that intimidates you, don’t turn your back on it; instead you should want to find out how it works and explore its possibilities. When it comes to fitness, nothing is impossible because in the long run, nothing has a limit, you can always go above and beyond & the only person who holds a standard for you to meet should be you! Hold yourself accountable for how hard you work, strive and keep yourself grounded but don’t not take risk because you are afraid of falling, take the risk because the end result could hold your future!  

Share, follow, comment, like and reblog. Thank you for reading!

Sincerely, 

Your blogger Shay-lon

2 thoughts on “Challenge your comfort zone

  1. I have a gym membership but don’t go as often as I should. My excuses are I don’t like to get sweaty and go to back to work or it is more fun to walk outside the treadmil is boring. But I want to gain health, I want to be stronger, and I want to run a 5k or 10k but I fear my knees won’t tolerate it. I am always feeling pain in my lower back from sciatica. I’m full of excuses but I know I need to fight on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stephie,
      Not everyone enjoys the treadmill, I am one of those people myself. I use it for a warmup and sometimes I tolerate it for a 45 minute run! but not often is it tolerable for a long period of time because like you said it is boring. I know that I could use an elliptical or bike or step machine or whatever; but I am afraid to go outside my comfort zone of the treadmill when it comes to cardio. Something I am working on, on the other hand, going outside for a walk would be pleasurable because I feel more like I am exploring versus just walking in pace. I, myself would love to run a 5k, or 10k as well; a goal of mine in the near future along with other things. We aren’t perfect and some people have injuries or conditions that cause them pain or hinder then from fulfilling their desires.
      What you have to realize is allowing the pain to be the obstacle and giving it power over you has been interrupting your progress toward being healthy and fit. Sometimes its better said then done, but if you give everyday your best try and walk a mile.. you will see that after a while the pain was just a boulder that was in your way but because you decided to use what strength you did have and the motivation inside of you was burning; you were able to make the boulder into a pebble and that pebble is much lighter and you can remove it much faster from your life.
      You cannot start something without the proper mindset to do so, people underestimate their motivations and their minds, but if your mind is not where it should be, neither will the body. You have some tough decisions to make internally about being healthy and starting this journey and all I can offer you is a peace of mind that it is truly worth the pain and struggle because everyone I know who took this same path came out stronger mentally and physically 🙂
      Feel free to contact me or leave me a comment on any of my post, I can definitely offer tips, advice and get you started in the best ways I know how but it will take you choosing this for yourself and not someone choosing it for you. Thank you for leaving a comment 🙂
      Talk to you soon!
      Best regards,
      Shay-lon

      Like

Leave a Reply

