Macrobiotic Diet (not the macro diet)

Macrobiotic diet 1

Again this is another diet that was request by the same person ( I suppose she was searching diets and thought this one was interesting as well), this will more than likely be the last of the diets I speak about for now (unless I should get another request between now and tomorrow).  Now from what she researched on her own, she seemed to come across how this diet wasn’t recommended although she feels as though it should be for vegan and vegetarians and thinks this type of diet could be a long term one for those that choose those type of lifestyles.  I find this quite funny because I was just thinking to myself how I was going to talk about these other two categories and eating lifestyles so I didn’t want to share anything about them on this particular post (which I won’t) but I am glad she was willing to share with me another diet that is “unknown” to the majority of the world.  Now for those of you who jumped to the conclusion this is the macros diet, this is NOT the same thing.. but trust me I will have a post about macros in the near future & I know it will be a huge read because it has become the next big thing these days.  I am neither vegan or vegetarian so this diet already sounds like I wouldn’t be able to cope with it, but for those of you who are this might be of use to you like a friend shared with me.  To start, I am going to give everyone the definition of this diet so that you can better understand what this is, because I am once again caught in a bind where I had no idea what this diet was nor have I ever heard of it. Hope someone who reads this will better be able to explain things for everyone and possibly give me more insight than what I am able to give all of you but I am going to try my best.  Macrobiotic diet:  This diet is meant to balance the “yin and yang” of foods, grains are a staple, vegetables and soy, and certain cookware has to be avoided. 

Already this sounds scary, lol. When they said certain cookware has to be avoided, I literally thought to myself this is very, very interesting yet very, very scary for someone who doesn’t think about the types of cookware they use.  From here I am going to share with you the pros and cons and then give my opinion of this particular diet and I might share some tid bits about it if anything stands out to me.  

Pros

  • Improvement with dietary intake
  • Reduced risk of certain diseases (which hasn’t been all the way proven quite yet)
  • promotes eating foods low in fat and high in fiber
  • No junk food
  • Eating locally and seasonally
  • encouraged to chew slowly & have mindful eating skills

Cons:

  • Nutrient deficiency: protein, iron, calcium, vitamin B12, and vitamin D
  • unrealistic limitations: eggs, dairy, avocados these are just a few
  • unintended weight loss has occurred 
  • No supplementation (discourages supplements)
  • very restrictive diet
  • majority of calories comes from whole grains
  • Not for everyone
  • high carb, low protein

The bottom line is this diet isn’t for everyone, literally not just anyone could do this diet and actually last more than a month, let alone a week unless they already have this type of lifestyle.  When she told me it would work for vegetarians and vegans, she was close to right with this one, but again that is a lifestyle they have chosen for themselves and the majority of them have been doing for years and are well disciplined with their eating habits and knowledgeable enough about what is necessary for their bodies.  Everyone once in a while I have someone who isn’t very educated on those choices and that is why I will share those lifestyles with everyone in other near future post.  The problem along side the fact it shouldn’t be done by just anyone, this diet holds so many restrictions that I am unsure whether this would even be considered a healthy way of living. I mean it takes away supplements and this can be dangerous for those of us who lack certain vitamins and nutrients.  The negatives in my opinion outweigh the pros in this diet and I can imagine this would be expensive because of the reckless amount of having to manage certain cookware, having to buy very certain foods and having to completely change everything. It is almost like you are starting from scratch and starting everything over.  The majority of diets I have spoken about have all been low carbohydrates and this is the total opposite and this could be a good and bad way of living depending on your lifestyle and goals.  I could go on and on about this diet because honestly I find this diet to be half way ridiculous and the other half hard as hell. I would definitely not recommend this diet unless you already have this lifestyle choice and have been doing it for a long time, otherwise this is signing up for a death wish and with as many people who are undisciplined in diets, I wouldn’t even try this unless you planned ahead of time.  

Lets be honest here, I wouldn’t do this diet because I know I wouldn’t be able to do this for the long term and even though the chances of losing weight can be great, it could be dangerous if you aren’t sure what you are doing and if you know that you aren’t trying to lose weight intentionally, skip this.  As a matter of fact, I wouldn’t even recommend this diet as a short term because it would be a waste of time because of how challenging it would be to the average person.  With all the things wrong with this diet, I will just leave it at if you don’t live this lifestyle choice and haven’t done it for a mature amount of years then don’t take on this diet unless you have a health condition that would make it so you need to be on it because otherwise I don’t think you have a high chance of succeeding.  If you are someone who knows someone on this diet or has tried it please feel free to leave comments or share with us your opinion or story. I would love to hear about it since I don’t know anyone who has been on this type of diet.  Thank you for reading.

 

Sincerely, 

Your Fitness & Health Blogger Shay-lon xoxo

Read this book about the macrobiotic if you think you are someone who could handle this way of life and this type of diet:)

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=fitne0af-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1605986666&asins=1605986666&linkId=KOS2QAEIT23YVLNF&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Leave a Reply

