No more diets

dieting 1

Okay so let’s cut to the chase, I have provided many diets in my previous blogs that have all explained the pros and cons.  Some have been the more popular diets and some have yet to get much publicity or were unknown to the majority of us.  I think I did a pretty good job with providing information and covering my thoughts. If any of you remember me saying at the end of each blog “I hate diets” & “I hate the word diet” then you know this post is going to be about why I hate diets and how come I don’t believe in them. First of all, I will start off by saying If you are currently “dieting” this may or may not make you reconsider dieting and if I am good at what I do, I hope it does.  I hope by the end of this particular blog post that all of you will share this information and begin to see what path I will steer us in and why. Secondly, I did mention how I liked the “concepts” of some of the diets, but this doesn’t mean I like dieting and it doesn’t mean I am an advocate of dieting, this just meant, I like what it had to offer if someone was to do the diet.  Lets begin!

So dieting, eliminating, taking away, restricting, throwing away, vomiting up, don’t eat this, don’t eat that, am I allowed to eat this, this isn’t good for you, get rid of, I can’t have this, & I wonder if this would be okay to eat even though I am on this diet. Do any of these words and phrases sound familiar? I hope they do, because all of these words/phrases normally have something to do with dieting & I hate it because it’s too much, too hard and suffocates your rights to eat whatever the hell you want to eat. If your everyday starts with a should I eat an apple or pear this morning or should I eat at burger king or captain D’s then you are doing things wrong! The question should no longer be “Should you” the question should be “Why can’t I” i.e example “why can’t I eat an apple or pair?” or “Why can’t I eat at burger or Captain D’s? if you can’t answer these questions with a “I can” then your diet is restricting you and I feel bad because all this time you could have taken the easier way around and still been able to eat what you like without having to make choices that could cost you your happiness.  You are probably wondering why I think dieting is bad? Why is dieting so popular? & Why does dieting cause weight loss if it does one no good? Simple. Dieting is popular because everyone follows another person’s lead instead of taking charge of their own life, dieting causes weight loss because you have limited your amount of calories to the point where you have to literally count your calories in order to make sure you are above the recommended but below the standard. Finally, I think dieting is bad because it takes away your freedoms, it causes people to be more self conscious about their image (body shaming), it confuses people, can cause eating disorders, too many turn into fads and not enough turn into long term lifestyle changes, it promotes rapid weight loss that can’t be healthy for everyone, it can slow your metabolism, and it forces you to change your eating habits without teaching you how first.

I am going to give you a list of Dos in order to eat healthier, so that you don’t have to diet any longer. Now if you choose to continue to diet, that is fine, I won’t stop you or make you feel bad about your choice but when and if you decide you would like to take a new path in eating.. take a look at my list below.  Before I do this list, I just want to mention that I made this list based on my new concept called “EMVG” and this simply means I want you to eat without feeling bad about what you ate.

  • Exercise
  • moderation
  • variety
  • Goals

These 4 simple rules to my concept all have to do with how you can eat without having to diet & eliminate constantly.

Exercise- very important and since I am pro fitness this is number 1 for me, because if you don’t have an active lifestyle (i.e walking, running, biking, sports, ect) then this should change unless you have health conditions that keep you from being able to stay active.

Moderation- Everything is about balance & how well you balance your eating habits.  Make a habit of meal planning because it will help with moderation.  If you don’t understand meal planning, I am going to have a blog post about it and if you are one who doesn’t have time for meal planning, another idea is making a habit of reading the serving size and using it.

Variety: Eat different foods, explore different cultures, taste different spices, and gain more experience in the kitchen

Goals: Establish your goals, then establishing how your eating habits effect your goals and then changing your eating habits so that you achieve your goals by following the first 3 steps.

With this all being said, this is my way of teaching all of you how to eat without eliminating.  Everyone has different goals and no matter what they are, you can eat food without having to eliminate a whole food group or staying away from fast food.  I don’t like fast food, it does nothing for me anymore these days, so I could eat it if I want to but I don’t like to and that is okay.  I want people to branch out and explore their options, make mistakes in the kitchen and find what works for them. It doesn’t matter if someone is training to be a bodybuilder or wants to lose over a 100 pounds, these 4 rules still apply. A bodybuilder’s moderation is different then the “average joes” and the woman trying to lose weight moderation is different than the guy who wants to throw on more pounds. Once you explore what works for you in moderation and gives you results, you can start focusing on variety and then focus on how much exercise you want or need so that you get the best results possible. The rule is What works for you, doesn’t have to work for everyone else.

Truth is, I hope this gives some of you more hope and enlightened others. I am sure someone may disagree with what I have to share and that is okay because my idea isn’t flawless, I am actually still tweaking it every now and then until I find something that catches my attention but for now this is my idea of not having to diet and eating what you want without feeling like it is wrong.  I will talk more about my concept and go into more depth about it as we move along in my future blog post but I just want you to keep this in mind for now.

Sincerely,

Your FitnessBlogger Shay-lon xoxo

Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

3 thoughts on “No more diets”

Leave a Reply

