My First CrossFit Experience

 

So after researching CrossFit and taking a look at some of the things it does to benefit people and what it meant, I became more and more interested in the idea of wanting to be apart of it.  It has become somewhat a big deal over these past couple of years, and I have been slow walking the dog in wanting to give it a go.  As most of you know, I am a personal trainer in the making and I value fitness, and one of the main things I wanted to do was venture into a different side of fitness so that I had more experience and challenge myself.  I did some research on some local CrossFit gyms we had in my town, which I believe there were 2 to choose from ( I live in a semi small town) and out the two, I mainly just looked at their websites and based on choice on their reviews, and what they had to offer and location and prices. I finally nailed it when I found one that was on the same side of town as me and seemed like it offered some pretty decent priced classes but the ONE  thing that stood out to me was the fact it offered free Saturday morning classes each week and this was great news for someone like myself who has participated in CrossFit and had no idea what all I was getting myself into.  I had to register and sign a medical waiver before attending and afterwards I received an email from the owner telling me of what to basically bring with me the day of the class. 

Saturday morning, I was very prompt, made sure I ate a decent breakfast, had my water packed up and wore appropriate gym clothing for we were going to be indoors. My drive there was fairly uneasy because I was very nervous and not going to lie was scared of what this class was going to do to me, lol. I knew I worked out and stayed fairly fit & in shape, but this was so different then what I was used to and I wanted to make a good impression considering the circumstances of me wanting to be apart of the fitness industry.

 

When I arrived, I arrived early, and decided to stay inside my car until 5 minutes before the class started.  When I walked in the owner and some of the others recognized me from last weekend (when I shown up late to the class and didn’t get to partake in the class at the time); there were a good number of people that had already arrived.  I had to sign in for the first time, basically saying I made it to the class (they have tons of technology, it was pretty interesting to say the least).  I did some dynamic stretching of my own to get warmed up for the next 3-4 minutes before we began our workouts.  Luckily for me, once everyone shown up, we all had to do dynamic stretches and lined up behind the leaders and took turns going back and forth doing skips, lunges, sprints, bounding, ect.. everything I already knew how to do. Let me reverse back (before this all happened), we had to all go around and introduce ourselves so that everyone had an idea of who everyone was.  I was fairly nervous still, so I pretty much only met like 4 people due to my anxiety.  Now back to the warm-up, as part of a warm-up, the leaders had us play the “PVC pipe” game and explained the rules to everyone.  Basically everyone grabs a PVC pipe and stands in a large circle with the PVC pipe standing straight in front of them with 2 fingers on the top of the pipe.  The leader has to say “left go” or “right go” and the point is to go in that direction and catch the PVC pipe before it lands on the ground (the person on either side depending on what direction he calls out has to catch your PVC pipe when you let go to grab the one next to yours, and so on and so forth.. ) if the PVC pipe falls we had to do 5 burpees, luckily I made it past that round and ended up toward the end but didn’t qualify as the last two people standing.  We declared a winner and next we were told the workout would be AMRAPs or something around that nature for 15 minutes without stopping.  We had to choose a partner for this workout and because I didn’t know anyone, I kinda just stood around until a woman decided to ask me to be her partner (possibly next time I’ll have more guts to ask someone)

AMRAPS workout: 

 
  1. Choosing a weighted ball (10-30lb); we got to choose what we were comfortable with, They recommended a heavier ball of course, but my partner and I settled on 10 pounds. The first event was to face the wall and squat down then stand and throw the ball as high as the indicated line on the wall (which was fairly high) we had to do a total of 50 reps.  This meant we could break it up however you wanted with your partner. My partner and I decided to do 10-10-10-10-5-5 each ( we each did 2 sets of 10 and 1 set of 5)
  2. The second event was sitting on the floor with our feet touching and having to do sit ups throwing the ball back and forth to one another when we came up. We had to do 30 reps total and this wasn’t something you could break up because it took teamwork.  
  3. The third event was one partner on the floor doing a plank, and the other having to do burpees over the other partner. Now depending on how long it takes your partner to do the burpees, could be down on the floor in the plank for 2 minutes or higher.  We had to do 30 burpees total so this means we had to take turns doing 15 reps each. My partner struggled with doing planks, so most of the time she was flat on the ground and I had to hold my plank for around 4-5 minutes sometimes because of how long it took to do the burpees when one is almost to fatigue.  Let me just say this burned my core so good I could feel it the whole workout long. 
  4. The last event was to do wall sits passing the ball to each other (sitting side by side) and twisting one side to the other and we had to do 30 reps total (no breaking it up)

When this was all finished up, we had to start back over at 1 until the 15 minutes was up and do as many rounds as possible without stopping.  We could not drop the ball in any of the workouts other than the burpee/planks, and the ball could touch the ground when we did our sit-ups otherwise there would be a penalty (we never figured out the penalty because we were very careful about not dropping the ball).  By end the end of the 15 minutes, I believe we did almost 3 or 4 rounds.  We all had to walk in a circle for a cool down and then lastly take part in a cool down stretch.  Once class was over they had the new people talk with one of the leaders so he could go over the classes, information and hand out pamphlets.  The great thing is we can all show up for free on Saturday mornings as many Saturdays as we want to workout.  The class is like 65 dollars before taxes (everyone has to do a beginners course for 4 weeks first; which is the 65 dollars class before they can start the actual CrossFit classes). I have yet to decide if I am going to join just yet because of my busy schedule and the possibility of moving when I get my certification, but I will try to make it on Saturday mornings when I am not working and hopefully I’ll invite some friends or family with me for next time. The class really challenged me and I liked that, not to mention everyone is pretty close knit in the class (like a family) and that is a positive as well as the fact they allow us to drink beer after the classes with the only rule being replace it the next time you show up for a class. 

 

The owner has a story as to how he started his own business, and it began when he was working with friends and all of sudden had them bring 10 dollars so he could help them stay fit and somehow he ended up helping someone who played hockey and they spread the word and he opened up his own CrossFit gym.  A story like this gives me hope, because ‘word of mouth’ plays a huge part in the fitness industry and this just goes to show that if you are good at what you do then you will excel and people will want to pay you and will seek out your services.  I guess this is another reason I blog so that I can hopefully help those around me and people from a far, I enjoy sharing my stories, information and networking (which all of you can follow me if you like), I started from the bottom and I am trying to make a name for myself and create some life changing results in people and help give people hope and motivate them to motivate others.  As bloggers, we can all say we hope to eventually make money from blogging or publish a book; which both are goals for myself but at the end of the day it isn’t about how much money I am going to collect from followers, it is about how many smiles I am going to put on followers and how many minds I am going to change when they don’t believe in themselves.  It is not easy being a blogger, I know I slip up and forget to blog daily, but it is a commitment that takes time and dedication and takes some kind of personality to nail the right people. I am still learning the ins and outs and still trying to create a face to my blogs so that all of you will hopefully follow me when I start my youtube channel 🙂 

 

I know sometimes I can come off very serious depending on the matter but this is because fitness and health are my passion and soon to be career for me. As much fun as it is to workout and be happy with our inner and outer beings, I want people to know how serious this issue is and the benefits that come from wanting to start this journey, The perks are endless once you hop on board and decide to make the positive changes within in. With all this being said, I enjoyed CrossFit, and I will make it to the next class hopefully in 2 weeks (next Saturday I work) and I think if you are one that wants to try CrossFit out, you should do your research on the specific gym and give it a go! I will be posting a post in the near future that talks about CrossFit Fitness. Thanks for reading, Feel free to follow, comment, share, reblog and like my social media pages.

 

Sincerely,

Your Fitness Blogger Shay-lon xoxo

2 thoughts on “My First CrossFit Experience

Leave a Reply

