IIFYM (If it Fits Your Macros) What is it?

 

I am sure this post is going to be semi popular since this is the newest form of keeping track of what you eat. I only heard of this recently and had to look into this because people were going crazy over it.  Between Instagram, Facebook, twitter and other bloggers; this has got so many people interested & following this plan and even I am doing this plan because I like it! Why do I like it? because it doesn’t eliminate foods, doesn’t restrict certain food groups, this is specific to each individual, no one is alike and everyone is different which means everyone will have different macros to reach based on a few things.  Yes, you have to count your calories and it is highly recommended that your purchase a food scale to measure your food in grams and keep track of it per an App or writing it down. I am going to share the ins & outs about IIFYM so that all of you can have an understanding of what this is and what one needs to do to start, share some cons and pros possibly and give you an inside look at this trending eating style, I’ll even share the link to the source so that you can get started, I will share some books I recommend that you read so that you have a better understanding and I’ll share with you what my daily goals are in case any of you haven’t had the chance to read my blog from the other night.

IIFYM (“If it fits your macros”): IIFYM speaks specifically for weight loss but this is also for muscle gains, maintenance and gaining weight.  This is specific to the individual so no one is on the same exact goals unless someone has the same exact goals and lifestyle as you do.  The word “macro” stands for macro-nutrients: Carbohydrates, Proteins, Fats, Fiber, and this form of eating does not emphasize on the “eating healthy” and “eating clean”.  Basically IIFYM allows you to eat whatever you want but in moderation and for this reason being, it teaches you to stay accountable for what you eat if you seek results. 

Along with having to keep track of carbs, proteins, fats and fiber.. you also should keep track of your sugar and sodium intake as well as alcohol intake.  For some people these other things may seem less important but in all honesty, they are just as important and should always be taken into consideration.  When it comes to keeping track of your macros, this goes a lot deeper than actually just saying you ate 2 slices of pizza, you need to actually take into account all the toppings on your pizza, the type of crust, size of the pizza, and then be able to know whether it fits your appropriate macros.. if not, don’t eat it or too much of it.. if it does.. eat it! simple! Now I have only gotten started recently so right now it is a trial and error situation and you should expect this for the first few weeks of doing the IIFYM because you have to learn as you go how much of something you can eat before it doesn’t fit your macros.

The basic idea of IIFYM

  1. Know how many calories your body burns in a day (TDEE)
  2. eat 15-20% less everyday than that number 
  3. Split the calories up between carbs, proteins and fats with adequate fiber and water intake.

Words that matter in IIFYM:

  • BMR: Basal metabolic rate (the number of calories your body burns at rest, with no zero activity)
  • TEF: Thermic effect of food (the number of calories burned in the process of digesting food you eat)
  • NEAT: None exercise Activity Thermogenesis (the number of calories burned in all activity, outside of exercise)
  • TEA: Thermic Effect of activity (The number of calories you burn exercising; or higher than usual energy output)
  • TDEE: Total daily energy expenditure (the amount of calories your body burns in a 24 hour period; sleeping, working, exercising, playing and digesting food) the IIFYM calculator will help you figure out your TDEE using the above terms.

With this being said, the IIFYM takes in consideration your age, height, body weight, activity level, and your goals.  This is something that is very detailed in the way they calculate your information so that you know in depth what to hit on your macros.  I might add this is not the fun part, but luckily for all of you, you are able to use the sites calculator and it does all the math for you.  One of the most important things to do while keeping track of macros is to meal plan because meal planning will help all the time when you are trying to hit your macros but this doesn’t mean you can’t eat out or sit at a nice restaurant and enjoy a meal, if that happens just write it down and add it to the tracker later or some people bring their food scale with them.  The most important word is MODERATION! everything should be eaten in moderation because if it is not done in moderation you will fail your macros every time & I would know because I found out what areas I keep missing and what areas I eat too much of.. and this has opened my eyes & hopefully it will help you manage your eating habits without having to eat like a “rabbit”. 

 

I won’t go into too much detail because I plan on sharing the site with all of you so that you can get started or research this more on your own time, but I wanted to give everyone the basics.  I have had people tell me it will be another fad and maybe this is so, but in my opinion this “fad” seems like a good idea for the most part as long as the individual trains their minds and body and keeps their macros in mind when they eat their food.  I don’t know what tips I can offer since I have just started myself,  but I believe that one thing that helps me is using an App on my phone and/or tablet that does all the tracking for me and exercising more; even though I do plenty of exercise in my opinion. The IIFYM, ask what fitness level you would consider yourself, you should be honest with yourself for the best results… I chose light activity because even though I probably fit within moderate exercise and have days I am at “very active”, I want to account for the days I am not as productive because not everyday will I be at the gym or working out and if I am not doing this or if I stop for whatever reason I want to make sure I can still keep up with my calorie intake and macros.   This is up to you, but I give myself some wiggle room in case and if you want you can calculate both just so you know. 

 

My macro goals

  • Carbs: 33% (137 grams)
  • Proteins: 37% (155 grams)
  • Fats: 29% (54g) 
  • Fiber: 23-31 grams

Suggested Calories I need to eat: 1658

My TDEE: 2072 calories a day

My BMR: 1503 calories/day

My weight: 150 pounds

My Height: 5’8

 

I added my weight and height because I am comfortable enough to share with all of you and want to make sure all of you at some point become comfortable with yourself and myself so that we can all help one another stay on track.  I hope this helped some of you and like I have said previously, I am going to make blogs about each day (IIFYM) allowing every one of you to keep me accountable of my eating and exercise regimens and motivating me to keep going and to give me the wisdom and share your stories with me and work along side of me if you doing the IIFYM. This is the site I would recommend you use so that you can do the calculations for the IIFYM, please feel free to share what your results are and take a look at the rest of the site for more information; if you have any questions, feel free to always ask! Thank you for reading.  http://www.iifym.com/iifym-calculator/

 

Leave a Reply

