Graduation, Grandma’s birthday and Mother’s day weekend all this Friday

celebration

This is an off the topic post because I wanted something to talk about that had to do with my own life and give you all some insight into my world, somewhat. I will continue writing about fitness and health but this was just something random to talk about because every once in a while I like to surprise my readers with something that isn’t necessarily fitness oriented. Everyone has a life outside of their blogging topics and I want my readers to connect with me on multiple levels and not just one. So as most of you know I graduate Friday May 6th in Exercise Science and I am very excited about all my achievements and very ready to start a new chapter in life no matter the path .. (but I will speak on this after graduation) be on the look out. I just feel like this whole month of May is bringing so much at me at once, not only do I graduate Friday but it is also my grandmother’s birthday that day and it is mother’s day (I don’t have kids) but I do have a mom.. and while my head has been spinning about over my anxiousness and eagerness to graduate, I have forgotten other people’s celebrations. If it wasn’t for a good friend of mine reminding me, I would have forgotten it was mother’s day weekend and probably would have slipped my mind that it would be my grandma’s birthday.. and I feel horrible because I want to celebrate their day as well as mine.  

I decided a while ago.. last minute that instead of attending my graduation ceremony that I would instead have a graduation dinner with both family and friends and while some of you may judge my choice to not attend a one time ceremony celebrating my graduating and achievements; it was a very difficult decision. I will be honest in saying that I was very late in preparing for this day and I didn’t allow people enough time to get the day off properly or even give my family a far enough heads up that I didn’t feel it would be right to pressure them to all show up to my graduation that takes place 45 minutes away. This means I will not be wearing a cap and gown or taking pictures on stage with my graduating class and not shaking the hand of the dean and vice president of the college. I hold myself accountable for these mistakes I made in preparing for this particular day and have chosen and slightly less selfish choice in honor of other people’s day. I am not sad nor upset with my choice but after having a professor try to talk me into going, and having people ask me why 100x over, I have decided to blog about it to get my irritations out of the way. First of all this is for my associates degree, so in my opinion it isn’t the last time I will be in school and hopefully graduating and while an associates degree is just as good, I don’t feel like it means much to me personally. In all honesty, if I had partied and cared less about my peers, I would have graduated with a BA in 2014 or 2015 but I chose a different route in life and was handed my own consequences & not to mention changed my major twice while attending college and probably wasted a fun amount of money.. who knows. 

Instead of getting a dress, shoes, waxed, nails done and accessories for a graduation ceremony.. I got all this done for Fridays dinner with my loved ones and close peers. I am still celebrating my own achievement but at the same time I am celebrating my journey forward.. and I have 2-3 letters of recommendations that professors and the Dean have written out to me. I am most proud of myself and how far I have come to end up at this point in my life where I have to make big decisions that determine my future. Chances are I will work harder than I have before, continue down this path where I know where I am going & how I am getting there. Sometimes I may get lost or be unprepared and end up regretting my decisions.. but other times.. I enjoy the wind blowing me in a direction of the unknown. I know this was quite a serious blog post, but I wanted to make sure I was open about why I chose to not attend my graduation ceremony; something tells me the next graduation I have .. I will attend it because then I will know how hard it was to finally get there and not worry about who is there with me. Thank you to all my readers who have been nothing but supportive!

Sincerely,

Your Fitness blogger Shay-lon xoxo

P.S

Only one person from my graduating class (of exercise science) chose to walk in the graduation ceremony.. so I don’t feel so bad that I am not the only one. 

7 thoughts on “Graduation, Grandma’s birthday and Mother’s day weekend all this Friday

    • Hmm, you think so? I feel like for an associates degree it wouldn’t mean as much.. I don’t know. Maybe I am just being hard on myself but I don’t feel like I achieved very much. Now once I get my BA then I will attend 🙂 at that point I will feel like I came very far.
      I never looked at it.. as “it is not for everyone” ; I am not sure why else anyone wouldn’t want to attend their ceremony. My reason was made clear sense in considering my circumstances but I don’t understand other people’s reasoning for not wanting to attend.

      Like

  1. Congratulations!!! And Happy B-Day to your grandma 🙂
    Just two words because you have better things to do today than reading comments: WISE CHOICE!
    Have a great day!!
    Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

