Dietary supplements: Vitamins, Minerals, Botanicals

 

I would like to start off by saying that this post isn’t about the supplements one use for bodybuilding and or exercise (fat burners, aminos, whey, BCAAs, preworkout, post workout, etc) that is for a later post by itself. This post is for supplements such as: Vitamins, Botanicals, Minerals and Amino acids, etc. In my opinion people have gotten so used to wanting to substitute supplements for simple foods that can and will provide the same or more than what you need. The reason behind some people’s logic is that don’t believe they are getting all they need from their “diet” and don’t know what foods provide what naturally; it all honesty some of you could save more money if you knew how to get the proper dietary aids if you know what to eat and how much of it.  Now there are situations where one would need to take a supplement(s) and this happens because they are either allergic to the foods that provide it, their Dr. recommends it because they are deficient, they have a disease or illness that requires them to, or because they are on a strict diet.  So with that being said not everyone doesn’t need supplements but on the other hand I believe supplement pushing isn’t a bright idea either because some of them come with risk (if not all of them).

I will admit that for a while I was taking fish oil pills because I had someone tell me I should because of what they provide and all of its benefits, not to mention they told me especially if I don’t have the omega’s in my diet, it would help with it. So I did, I took it religiously and if anyone knows the cost of this supplement (it’s outrageous) and I went through so much money keeping up with it.  I finally read some articles and studies because I was interested in what I was taking and how my body responded to it; well what I found out at the time was how it didn’t show much proof of helping with the heart, it provided more omega’s than necessary for one person and it didn’t prove to have the benefits that everyone prides it for.  For this reason, it made me wonder if I was wasting money, so I stopped taking it. I have’t taken it since then and I would say it has been a little over a year now.  Now I won’t say that Fish oil pills have no use for others because I have family members who take it, but it shown no improvement for me and I know other ways to fit omega’s in my diet now (more educated than I once was) and by this time, I am sure there have been more studies looking into it; so it is possible that fish oil pills may prove to be reliable after all. 

What is a dietary supplement you ask?

Is any product that contains a dietary ingredient intended to add to the diet. The ingredient can be any of the above: vitamin, mineral, herb or botanical.

Vitamins:

  • Vitamin A: Naturally present in many foods and is a fat-soluble vitamin. The importance of vitamin A is it helps with vision, immune system and reproduction.  Helps the heart, lungs and kidneys as well. The amount of vitamin A needed depends on your age, and reproductive status.  (14 and older between 700-900mcg, and women who are nursing should take 1200-1300 and younger than 14 should take lower doses).  The foods that provide a sufficient amount of vitamin A: beef liver (organ meats), salmon (among other fish), broccoli, carrots and squash(green, yellow, orange veggies), cantaloupe, mango and apricots (among other fruits), dairy products & fortified breakfast cereals.  Being deficient in vitamin A is rare, but can cause an eye condition especially for young children and women who are pregnant. Getting too much vitamin A can cause dizziness, nausea, coma and death, turn the skin yellow-orange.  I won’t go into full detail but here is a link for more information on vitamin A. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminA-Consumer/#h7
I won’t go into all the vitamins and minerals because the list is very long but at the end of the post, I will put a link down for a website that might be handy and also add the FDA site on supplements so that you are aware of their part in this.  
  • Vitamin D: Need to aid in strong bones, and people who do not get enough vitamin D will end up with soft and brittle bones. The amount of vitamin D you need is based on age. Foods at provide vitamin D: Salmon, tuna and mackerel (fatty fish), beef liver, cheese and egg yolks (provide small amount), mushrooms, milk, some breakfast cereals, orange juice, yogurt and margarine (check the labels).  The body makes vitamin D uwhen the skin is directly exposed to the sun.  If you consume too much vitamin D it can be come toxic and cause vomiting, nausea, poor appetite, constipation, weakness and weight loss.  Here is a link for more information on vitamin D: https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminD-Consumer/ 

Minerals:

  • Zinc: Helps the immune system fight off bacteria and viruses. Zinc helps wounds to heal and is necessary for proper senses of taste and smell. Depending on the age will determine how much zinc your body should consume regularly. Zinc is found in these foods: Oysters, red meat, poultry, crab and lobster, fortified breakfast cereals, beans, nuts, whole grains, and dairy products.  Zinc deficiency can cause hair loss, diarrhea, eye and skin sores, loss of appetite, weight loss, problems with wound healing, decreased ability to taste food, lower alertness levels.  Too much zinc intake can cause: nausea, vomiting, loss of appetite, stomach cramps, diarrhea, and headaches (among other risk).  If you want more information on zinc: https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Zinc-Consumer/
  • Iron: Helps with growth and development. The amount of iron necessary depends on the age of the person. Iron is found in these foods: lean meat, seafood and poultry, iron fortified breakfast cereals and breads, white beans, lentils, spinach, kidney beans and peas, nuts and some dried fruits. Iron deficiency can cause: tiredness, lack of energy, G.I upset, poor memory and concentration, less ability to fight off germs and infections, less of ability to control body temperature. Too much iron can also be a risk: upset stomach, constipation, nausea, abdominal pain, vomiting and fainting, organ failure, coma, convulsions and death. For more information on iron: https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Iron-Consumer/
Botanicals (Plant based herbs):
  • Flaxseed: Normally used as a laxative but can be used for hot flashes and and breast pain. Flaxseed should be taken with tons of water because it could worsen constipation and cause blockage. For more information on flaxseed: https://nccih.nih.gov/health/flaxseed/ataglance.htm
  • Green Tea: Has been used for weight loss, cancers, mental alertness, protecting skin from damage and lowering cholesterol levels.  Green tea contains caffeine and caffeine can cause insomnia, upset stomach, anxiety, nausea, diarrhea, and frequent urination.  It contains vitamin K and this means it can react to medications such as Warfarin.  For information about green tea: https://nccih.nih.gov/health/greentea
Like I said I didn’t name all the vitamins, minerals and botanicals but it is something everyone should look into before taking any of these supplements, especially if taking supplements is new to you. I would highly recommend that before you start taking supplements that you try to at least get these nutrients first from food because that will help with the risk and complications.  I think the more you know about this type of stuff, the better off you are. I will have a couple of links down for reference in case any of you are interested in other vitamins, minerals and botanicals that I have not listed. Feel free to provide me with any questions. Also if you use any vitamins, etc.. don’t be afraid to share with me or comment, especially if you think it is beneficial or even if it something you would stay away from.. I am sure it would help someone out! have a good day!
Your Fitness Blogger, 
Shay-lon xoxo
Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

One thought on “Dietary supplements: Vitamins, Minerals, Botanicals”

  1. I wanted to comment on this blog. Most people are deficit in something, like calcium, or vitamin B. Then the quality of food we eat or how we cook it, we still may not get the quality we need from just food. So supplements are created really to keyword supplement. Now $$$ supplements replace and it is somewhat unregulated. In the end it is more about the quality of the supplement rather should one take them or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

