My First outside workout

outside workout

Today was my first time exercising outside.  I decided that instead of going to the gym this morning, that I would try something different and outside my comfort zone.  This idea came to me a long while ago but I was always worried about what others would think or say.  I noticed that on Instagram and Tumblr, many people were taking their workouts outside. I finally decided to give it a go and see what I would think of it and share with all of you my experience and workout.  I woke up around 8am this morning (normal time for me); and decided to skip breakfast because I had a late dinner last night and wasn’t very hungry this morning (normally I always eat breakfast and eat dinner on time).  I got changed into some fitness apparel, got my ipod ready to go and brought my phone along to keep up with my workout and steps.  To be honest, in Ohio the majority of people do not workout outside; I see some cyclist and runners but other than that, nothing much else (especially in my town).  I wasn’t quite sure how to go about my workout this morning or what all I wanted to do because I had nothing planned (it was a spur of the moment idea). Finally after pacing up and down my driveway, I decided I would go for a run and I don’t know my neighborhood all that well but I knew if I just managed to stay on the sidewalk and run in a circle I would somehow end back up at my place of residence (Aka, run around the block).  I didn’t do a proper dynamic warm-up so while running, I was fairly slow and breathing fairly hard less than half way home. I haven’t done a long distance run in awhile, but this is something I should do once a day everyday to help my oxidation and learn to keep a steady pace like I have in the past without feeling out of breathe at the end of the run.  I ended up running twice around the block, I would say it was probably somewhere between 5-6 miles if not a little bit more than that. The 2nd run, was a bit worse off than the first run but I made both runs around the block without stopping at all. 

The second workout was going to be sprints, because I wanted to work on some interval running and speed training. I did 10 200m sprints up and down the sidewalk (luckily with very littler interruption) and this workout was much easier for me to do since I am more anaerobic these days than I am aerobic. I ended my workout with 200 squats. I used my car as a way to measure how low I was getting to the ground to make sure I was going 90 degrees or lower. There was one gentleman that was breaking his neck to watch me do squats.  I think he was probably amazed that someone was doing such a workout outside but it didn’t bother me because I was already very amped up and ready to finish my workout.  I don’t have much exercise equipment, if any at all; so that is something I am going to invest in so I can have more to do outside. I also enjoyed being outside because I didn’t have to waste gas driving to the gym across town.  I will continue to go to the gym but decided when the weather permits I would also add this outside program to my gym program so I can get a good workout in.  I plan on experimenting with different workouts outside and possibly, at some point, I may decide to go to a nearby park and workout or expand my running beyond the neighborhood and venture about.  Anyways, this is definitely something someone should do at least once if they get the chance because it is a lot different than being inside a gym and you get to utilize things that you normally didn’t think would make for a good workout. Tomorrow I have crossfit class in the morning, so possibly after the class I may decide to do the workout outside again.  

If you are someone who works out outside, I would love to hear what exercises you do, what equipment you use if any and how long you workout, where do you workout and if you enjoy it more or less than going to a gym.  Also I would be happy to hear why some of you do not like exercising outside.  Thank you for reading!

Your Fitness Blogger Shay-lon xoxo

6 thoughts on “My First outside workout

  1. I used to practice kung-fu outside, because swinging a staff around and jumping about tends to break things indoors. I felt a little awkward doing it, since as you know one doesn’t often see people going through training routines outside in Ohio. But I also enjoyed being out in the fresh air and listening to the birds singing in the early morning.

    As for equipment, since I was practicing Kung Fu all I really needed was my body and some room. I also occasionally used an empty weight bar as a staff, which probably wasn’t the safest idea. It’s rather uncomfortable to get hit by a metal pole that’s spinning around in the air.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, you did mixed martial arts; not to mention outside? That is definitely not something one sees a lot in Ohio; not to mention working out outside doing standard movements. I am sure you were more entertaining to watch then mine, I will not deny the fact that if I had seen someone doing mixed martial arts outside, that I too would stop and watch, lol.
      Yes! same here, I enjoy the fresh air (although it was fairly hot outside during my session) nonetheless felt good. I think another thing that attracts me to outside workouts is being able to be creative and finding a zone or space and making use of the land around you.
      I would imagine it did hurt a bit, eh? Although I am sure you were also fairly careful and hey on the bright side, no one is going to mess with a guy with a weapon while swinging it around lol. 🙂
      -Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha yea, I imagine that I attracted some looks. But I really did it out of necessity: the moves I was practicing at the time literally required me to fly through the air, which I didn’t have room for inside.

        Heat was a problem, which is why I always tried to do my outdoor workouts early in the morning. It’s cooler then, and in my opinion dawn and dusk are the best times to be outside.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha. Everyone benefited that day, you were able to have enough space to do the proper movements and everyone else had free entertainment 🙂 I call that a good day! That is pretty spectacular to have capabilities that allow one to fly through the air. I am aware of martial arts from watching it on TV and the very little that I remember as a child when I was a beginners class karate but never seen it actually happen in person. It would be interesting to watch the flow and movement in person; and examine the body mechanics. Yes, I thought going out at 9 in the morning was a good idea and it was until I realized the closer to noon, the warmer it got. It killed my workout a bit but not enough where I was upset, I just had to go harder and further and drink more water in the process & more breaks. Next time, I think I will consider dawn and dusk; just to see if it makes a difference in my body and how it operates under less heat.
        -Shay-lon

        Like

      • If you’re interested in studying body mechanics, you might want to look into Chen style Tai Chi. It’s the main martial art I practiced when I still had time. The way the movements combine grace and power are almost artistic, and each tiny movement has a martial application: even the position of one’s fingers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Very interesting. That will be some extra curricular activity that I will look into when I have down time and need something to do, lol. Thank for lending me something to take a look at 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

