Body and mind Malfuction

tired

The picture above depicts my life yesterday. Have you ever been so tired that leaving the bed becomes more like a chore and less like routine? The thought of moving makes you frown and you find every excuse to sleep in a little bit longer? Your body is off, you are used to waking up early with no problem but all of a sudden you have no motivation to leave your bed? You don’t quite fall bask to sleep, but instead either play on your phone waiting for the first text message of the day or find some other form of social media to keep you busy? You have something that needs done in the morning and you are steady trying to talk yourself into going, but after about 1 hour; you realize you aren’t going? You can’t seem to keep still for very long, you are trying to find a comfortable spot in the bed but the more you move, the more uncomfortable you are? Has anyone been through this period of their life, where getting out of bed seems impossible.  I had set my alarm clock the night prior because I knew I had CrossFit class in the morning; mind you I had gotten home after 11pm because I was working 8 hours. I went to bed around midnight or so, and I am not one who falls asleep as soon as I close my eyes, it takes me awhile before I fall asleep and normally it takes me trying to entertain myself to do so.  Well, anyways, I had woken up around 7AM and decided it was too early, I was thinking about CrossFit; which started at 9AM and decided I would sleep in for another hour before getting up and ready.  Well, 8AM came around and I was still debating about whether I wanted to wake up for the class or stay in bed/home, it was a back and forth fight in my mind.  I ended up drifting back to sleep, it was after 10AM when I had woken up and realized I had missed my class; I wasn’t too upset about it but it annoyed me because I could have used that workout since I missed 3 days at the gym.  Around that same time, I was slightly more functional, I had a text message from my mom reminding me to help my aunt with moving stuff to the U-haul and I made myself a decent breakfast and even had enough energy to make some homemade cheeseballs. 

Throughout the day, I was lagging and very slowly becoming irritable and bored.  I didn’t want to necessarily sleep but I felt fairly lazy; like my body wanted to rest but my mind didn’t.  I got home around 7PM and decided to have dinner, normally I eat dinner at 5PM but it was late dinner last night and if it wasn’t for a friend of mine, I would have either ended up sleeping before going back to work or laying down doing nothing productive.  Nonetheless, that is one of very rare other occasions where I just didn’t want to leave my bed, my body didn’t want to function or be productive and my mood was tired and exhausted but couldn’t bare having to go back to sleep. I think the cause could have been of many things but wanted your input on this, because I am sure others like myself have gone through this same thing and it bums ya out.  Luckily today I woke up on time and was able to function throughout the day with no issues.  I think what I will do is look up some information and might write a post on how to get a good nights rest and be productive for the next day and then maybe list some causes and effects; something like that. I think it will serve as good information for now only myself but others who may have gone through the same episode. I would love to hear from all of you if you have had this issue, or have some tips/advice you want to share with me and I will even add it to my next blog post on sleep and health. Thanks for reading! 

Your Fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

P.S If anyone also wants to add any input on how to make a good Youtube video that will attract people and be informative and fun about fitness and health, I would appreciate that as well. Tomorrow I am hopefully finally going to do my very first Youtube video (assuming my day goes as planned and I have time for it) I will let everyone know when it is posted though and would love feedback.  If you are someone who has used Youtube before and know the strings, please get ahold of me, I know very little about making a great video and channel and would adore tips/advice. I will also do my own research sometime today so I can be semi prepared for it.

I have a softball game today, so if you get a hold of me, please be patient, I will be sure to respond back ASAP. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

