Women & Fitness

 

For beginners, I would like to apologize that I have not been on to blog in a few days, I was very sickly and bed ridden and had very little to no energy left in me to blog or even leave my house. To say the least, today I am feeling a bit better and my appetite seems to be coming back now.  I have missed the gym for the past 3-4 days and I am very grumpy about that as of now, so tomorrow will be my first day back into the routine that I lost since being sick. I also am missing my 2nd softball game and this sucks as well but I will be fine to hopefully play next weekend; assuming my work schedule allows for me too,  I lost 2-5 pounds unintentionally since being sick and I will start my cleanse pill once again since I missed 3 days of that as well. So to say, I have been behind is about right, I have been behind and falling off track and complacent. I have decided to create a list of Goals and will go from there but this is a subject for another blog. I will say my guest post  went very well and I received a great amount of feedback and supportive, thanks to my followers and new followers and people who have taken time to read it! 

So to begin, I decided I would do a semi special post today because I thought it would make for a good topic since I myself am a female and have thoughts and I myself would love to hear from other females how they feel about women in the fitness industry (personal trainers, fitness professionals, etc) anything dealing with fitness and health but let us keep the fitness competition aspect out of this post since that will be a discussion for another day.  Now just because this post is about women’s fitness, please do not mistaken that for “I do not want to hear from a male perspective” because as you all know and should know by now, I encourage any and everybody to share their thoughts, opinions and alternative way of thinking with me and others because no answer is final when it comes to this discussion because I might share a different perspective from another female or male.  I don’t want anything I say to be taken as fact unless I say so otherwise in this particular post.  Are we all understanding of this? Okay, cool, moving on! The reason I want to discuss this is because I want to make light of the differences and share how I feel when I am being compared to a male or female counterpart.  It isn’t easy working in a male dominated industry but it especially isn’t easy if you can’t hold your own against one. I will even go further as to say that I believe working in a male dominated industry can take a toll on a female who isn’t yet self aware and self confident in herself. 

In my opinion women not only have to hold their own physically but mentally being in the fitness industry because the majority of critics are going to be more harsh toward a female if she doesn’t fit the “bill”; you won’t get anywhere if you are average. Now that doesn’t go to say that if we don’t all crossfit and look like ‘hulkgirl’, we won’t get anywhere because that is false, we will still find work and have clients and possibly be happy and love our jobs, but the women who look “above average” and have “above average” bodies and “above average” mentalities tend to make the majority of money and tend to get the majority of exposure NOT because they always have above average credentials and have experience but because they look good next to the above average male figure and would represent more and that means more revenue in the fitness industry.  The industry is unregulated, it fails to send the proper messages and it makes it difficult for average females such as myself to make a name for myself when I am competing against someone who is a bodybuilder and or someone who is a Crossfit champion 10 times over. Now am I angry? YES! not because I don’t respect other women and their hard work but because I want women to not feel like they need to stand next to a male figure and compete in order to prove something. Not all women in this industry care to be compared to their male counterparts and not all men care as of what a women stands for in the fitness industry but it has been clear to me that a lot of focus is pinned on: what she looks like, how often does she squat and how much? and can she used as not only a personal trainer but a sex symbol? I hate to say this, but sex sells and sex-appeal sells, if you do not look good, the fitness industry may or may not sponsor you, support your products, and may not give you an oz of a (f word). 

Another thing is, it depends on the woman’s goal in the fitness world, it depends on what she wants to do, the kind of clients she wants to help and how she wants to represent herself to the public. Back in the day, it didn’t take much but someone who wanted to make a difference in someone else’s health and give people results but these days results are second place unless you are working at a gym or starting off as a personal trainer and don’t really care to make a name for yourself. What people need to understand is results should be top priority (especially as a female) because you have to stand out. Our bodies can only take us so far, once our bodies have reached a certain point, there is always going to be bigger and better out there and instead of trying to keep up with everyone’s body type and trying to lift heavier and heavier weights to win over people, GO FOR THE RESULTS! make it so your clients are gaining results, because that is the difference between a good personal trainer and a model, in my opinion. Mentally it can take a toll on a female who is not already self prepared or self confident in herself because again she is going to want to constantly look better and do better than both her male counter parts and other women UNLESS she knows where she is going, how she is getting there, and what the goal is and sticks to it; otherwise she falls behind and becomes stressed. Women’s fitness can be difficult and scary because you don’t want to be looked down upon but don’t want people to feel bad for you and definitely don’t want to be compared to another female who is doing supposedly better or worse than you.  These is this saying that I made “if you want to be true to self, then do exactly opposite of what society tells you to”. 

As a woman in this industry and just starting out, I will admit I am confused as to what to do, where to start, what body type I want and why I want it and who am I trying to impress and if it is worth it? Not to mention I am still learning, and trying to network and trying to find my in.. my way of being me but not allowing others to change me or make me into this mold. I knew I wanted to personal train and be a wellness coach and I knew I wanted a better body for myself but I wasn’t sure how I wanted to mold my physical features; I just wanted to be like every fit girl on TV or on a magazine and be that person people say great things about.  I knew I wanted my name to be a reason people smiled and felt confident about who they are and how they look and I wanted to be something more than a girl on a magazine cover that had to pretend they knew what they were talking about in order to appease her sponsors and get paid. I always knew I wanted more! I didn’t want to follow the leader, instead I wanted to see where being me would take me and maybe give other people incentive to be themselves as well.  Now after realizing all that I wanted, I decided I would have to start from the bottom and work my way up like the next person and continue to work my ass off to make a brand name, become a staple and continue to learn about fitness/health and actually know what I am talking about by having my education and experience & talking to people who then become mentors; it is a process but I enjoy the process because I am going to benefit from taking the long road and having to struggle along the way versus taking the short path and ending up at a constant feeling of having to be like everyone else in the industry. I need to be the change I want to see happen so that is what I am setting out to do.  Believe it or not, I am setting out to be the change in the industry and being the reason we come together and work towards the same goal; which is helping others to want to take their health more seriously. That is my hope. It is a HUGE goal of mine but it can be done if I talk to the right people and take the proper steps in the right direction and get people on board. 

All in all, I have mad respect for the majority of people in this industry; whether you are a personal trainer, crossfit coach or fitness guru, health coach, etc. I have mad love for those who stay true to who they are and don’t allow society to mold them.  I have mad respect for all the women in our industry who know what it is like to have to work hard in order to make a business flourish. I have mad respect for the men who encourage women to continue working in this field, I have mad respect to those who do their job and do a damn good job doing it.  I have mad respect to those who are starting off like myself and are on the same journey, hopefully we shall meet.  I have mad respect for anyone and everyone in this field of work that didn’t look to be better than but to better themselves and grow. I love this field and I wouldn’t change my major for the world, but some things should be changed and someone has to step up and say how they feel, I don’t mind difference of opinions and/or feedback, I want to hear back from both males and females in the industry and share their experience, the good and bad.  Any tips women can give other women who want to be in this job market and how difficult it can be.. be honest but not brutal. Hope you enjoyed the read!

Your fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

4 thoughts on “Women & Fitness

    • Hello,
      Thank you for taking time to read it, it is interesting indeed. I wanted to give my audience a different perspective of things. I am eager to start reading more of your blog post as well.
      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi!!
    Let me thank you once again for your inspired and inspiring guest post. Also, my apologies because I´m late with my reading.
    Great post, as usual!
    I think men are the majority in almost any professional field, unfortunately. But I also think fitness industry is the best positioned to pursue equality in the workplace.
    Usually, women want to be trained by women, and men by men. Both genders are needed in this industry 🙂
    Hugs, Chape

    Like

    • Very welcome Chape, I appreciate your asking me to be a guest.
      Also, no worries, we both know you are quite the busy bee and if you know me well enough, I sometimes disappear for a few days and feel like I missed out on so much when I return. Yes, men tend to be the majority in major professional fields, but I do agree that the fitness industry does a great job making it so both sexes are able to train, and are capable reaching a certain client base. I think the whole women are more comfortable with women and men with men is probably something normal, although I think in the fitness industry, I think it comes out this way because I believe women tend to be intimidated by men who are more in shape themselves; and men to think that women sometimes cannot offer them the same amount of training as another male figure because of our strength differences.
      In my opinion though I believe working with the opposite sex can challenge both people and give them a better perspective in the differences and similarities.
      Hugs!
      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

