Back at it

 

Alright so some of you may have gathered from the title that I hadn’t been going to the gym, attending Crossfit and have missed a few Softball games because of me being sickly.  Yesterday was my first time back inside the gym since being bed ridden, I finally made the decision when I woke up that morning and decided that I didn’t want to make any more excuses and I needed to be more productive with my day because sleeping all day, not eating and not living was starting to play a huge role on my mood, attitude and my days seemed to always drag on. I normally do not mind taking rest days as needed but I felt good enough where I could leave the house and put in some work and get back my gains that I had lost during the time I was at my peak of illness. Now I won’t deny the fact that it took me forever and half to get around to it and I went later in the morning; skipped breakfast and on the way there was hoping it wasn’t too busy so I could get what I needed done and leave at an appropriate time so I could get other errands done (not that I had other errands, but the thought of having them made me anxious to get in and get out) possibly because the lack of energy I had.  I am not 100 percent better so it was a very slow mo kinda workout. When I had gotten to the gym, it was apparent that my mom was also inside the gym (she and I normally go together in the morning but we had a bit of a mother-daughter disagreement and hadn’t been talking for the past 6 days),  Part of me wanted to reverse my car from the parking spot and drive back home because I didn’t know if we were ready to talk to each other again, if it would be weird, what all I was going to say and if I had the energy to possibly bicker once again & I kinda wanted to avoid confrontation at the moment with everything in the world going on, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. Well, I grew some “balls” and decided to be the bigger person and make the first move if I had to, because at the end of the day it’s my mom and I never know when is the last day I will see her and not to mention I don’t like having to avoid talking to her and I love her. I got inside the gym and she was on the treadmill, well instead of trying to sneak by and pretend that I didn’t see her, I walked up to her and she was shocked to see me at first and didn’t have too much to say until I opened up a bit about certain things and came clean about being sick and having been sad and stressed out.  She, herself is going through some stressful situations so we kinda used that to connect and just talk for a little while.  When she smiled, I knew then on everything was okay between us & that made me happy!  

Yesterday was all upper-body workouts, I felt a decline in my muscular endurance a bit and I was taking more breaks than I had in the past and drinking more water than I would normally.  It was clear to me my sickness, and me not eating was part of the reason why I felt a small decline in my lifting and among other things, my mind was just fogged with so much that my focus might have been off as well. Nonetheless I continued with my workout and progressed with each exercise; I was really starting to feel good after 20 minutes of ongoing exercise but I had slowed down between sets every now and then when I felt fatigued.  Now as important as I take exercise, I take my health even more serious so I knew I had to take my time, no rushing things, no pushing myself beyond what I could and to make sure I kept a pace that was comfortable because until I am 100 percent I don’t want to overdue it and end up right back where I am or worse. Everything comes with time and patience and that is what I had to keep in mind, I think within the next few days I should be 100 percent or very close to it and hopefully by then I will be right where I left off before feeling sickly. I was at the gym for a hour; didn’t do any cardio, and was feeling better after finishing up my last exercise, so I am happy and my body still has made small results.  Overall, I guess I just learned that working out after you have been sick for some time can be a struggle sometimes and you might move slower or have a lack of energy at first but to take it easy and work your way back up to where you have been and things will all come together.   I also learned that, it is harder to be the bigger person sometimes, but it is worth it when you care or love someone. With Crossfit being tomorrow morning, I probably will not make it because I am planning to go out of town for an event, but next weekend I am hoping I can go; fingers crossed.  I also will hopefully be able to make my softball game next weekend! 

Yesterday turned out to be a decent day, I spent the majority of my day with my youngest brother playing baseball/softball with him, video games, etc and he enjoyed having my company since it had been a while since I had visited him.  He always knows how to put a smile on my face, love that kid. 

Your Fitness Blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

Leave a Reply

