Benefits of drinking enough water

 

Well, if the title isn’t already obvious, we will be talking about water and all that it provides the body and why we should drink more of it.  Again, I won’t be the one to tell you to put down the pop, juice, wine, beer, ect. Those things are fine as long as you make it your mission to also drink water; more water. There is such a thing as “too much” water, but in most cases, the majority of people do not drink enough of it and with that being said I will be the first to admit that before I started making it my mission to buy bottled water; I would never/ very rarely drink water, I would find refuge in other liquids of my choosing and after a while it was weighing on me in different ways.  I was gaining weight, I was feeling dehydrated, constant thirst, my bowel movements had issues and I was basically not excreting the kind of pee that means I have drank enough water. Now all of these things could happen regardless, I realize this and most liquids have some form of water in it in most cases and foods as well, but we have to think outside the box.  We have to think about how water can be beneficial to us when we drink enough of it and I want to share ways that could possibly help those of you who have had the same issues I had once (not drinking water, not liking the taste of water).

First of all, I highly recommend if you are exercising; especially high intensity exercise, that you drink water and maybe a powerade/gaterade every so often; if you are sweating a whole lot to replenish sodium (we will discuss powerade/gaterade in a different post).  How many of you do not like water? how many of you know you do not drink enough water? How many of you drink water constantly? how many of you keep track of how much water you drink? how many of you prefer bottled water? How many of you bring water with you where ever you decide to go? how many of you drink water with each meal? Hopefully after asking yourself these questions, you have either decided to continue reading or have decided you drink enough water and no longer care to hear about it.  This is up to you. Alright so let us begin with discussing the benefits of drinking water and why one should:

Benefits of drinking water:

  • Relieves fatigue
  • Improves mood
  • Sometimes can treat headaches and migraines depending on the severity
  • Helps in digestion and constipation 
  • Aids weight loss- helps control calories
  • Flushes out toxins
  • Helps energize muscles
  • Water keeps the skin looking good
  • Helps your kidneys
Tips on how to drink more water:
  • Bring water with you everywhere (water bottle, bottled water)
  • add a flavored pack to the water so it  has a taste you enjoy (watch sugar content in the pack)
  • Drink water with every meal
  • Drink a glass after every bathroom break
  • Use an app to help keep you accountable of your water consumption
  • Dilute sugary drinks with water
  • If you don’t like the tap water, invest into a filter or buy bottled water
  • Choose sparkling or mineral water over pop
  • Eat foods with more water content
  • Alternate water in after every cocktail or alcoholic beverage you consume
I hope these tips I have shared will come handy for those of you who may not drink enough water.  This is more important than you would think and has wonderful benefits that will help your body now and in the long run. 
Drinking too much water:
Drinking too much can cause the level of sodium to drop too low, in turn a condition of hyponatremia (water intoxication) and this can be fatal. 
  • Normally over 4 liters a day is too much for the majority of the general population. For those of you that are athletes, it might be fine for you, since you tend to sweat a lot more during exercises versus people who are in the general population. Something to keep in mind, out of all honestly the amount of water someone should aim to drink at least 2 liters of water a day.  
Stay hydrated folks, take your water everywhere and enjoy! 
Your fitness blogger, 
Shay-lon xoxo
Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

Leave a Reply

