I cannot sit on my toilet in comfort after a lower body workout

lower body

Alright, so everyone I wanted to talk about today’s workout and aftermath results. By the way, I will make a “serious” topic after this one, and by serious, I mean something like my normal stuff where I have a topic of discussion and blow your brains up with information and set these high expectations that all of you will share feedback, Haha.  Yes, I realize what I do with you guys and I just can’t help myself because I am so passionate about fitness and health and I want all of you to love it like I do and feel the same way I do; no I am totally kidding, I just want all of you to appreciate it in some form or fashion and have a little bit of different outlook maybe.. and share your inner feelings with me about it, so I can handle those concerns and make you smile again when I make mention of the gym and working out. I really do love fitness and health though, so I thank all of you for putting up with me when I talk about it a whole lot and spread my wonderful knowledge and opinions and sweaty facts. 

As for today, I hated my lower body workout, not because I chose really lame exercises, or because I felt watched while doing my squats( although that did happen) but because IT HURTS so bad afterwards and during. Some of you are probably wondering what exercises I did; well I am going to tell you. I will also make mention it was a very high intensity day for me again on leg day.. I am sore.

  • Leg press- 200lbs 20 minutes, 6 reps, 1.5 minute break between sets. Now some of you are wondering why I did this for 20 minutes, and not just 3 sets of 6 reps. Well yes, I could have done the 3 sets of 6, but I like timing myself when I do high intensity workouts sometimes. So, technically I am just doing it for as long as I can with the proper breaks between, so that I am not fatiguing myself. On a more normal day, I probably would have done 180 lbs, 3 sets of 6-8 and called it a day and moved on to another exercise, but I am not always normal.
  • Russian twist using a 25 pound weight plate. This was my first time moving up to 25 pounds, normally I use 10 pounds but I felt like conquering the world and took the dive. my abs definitely felt the burn. I did 105 reps total, doing sets of 20 with a 30 second rest between. 
  • Split squats using two 10 pound weight plates. I did 6 reps instead of 8-10 because by this time, my legs were practically telling me to go fuck myself (excuse the harsh language) and I didn’t want to hurt myself, I did do 4 sets though each leg.
  • Planks. 3 sets of 1 minute planks, This wasn’t so bad today; 1 minute break between sets. 
  • single leg deadlifts- 4 sets of 10 reps each leg using 10 pound weight plates. You betcha, I was wiggly like worm doing these today, I have horrible balance when I am not focused.. and today I lost focus due to the many questions this guy was asking me.  Grr. I like this exercise though (heads up, I will talk about this exercise soon)
  • I failed using the cables today for a lower body exercise (looked like a dork) I totally know better and  I had a complete brain freeze and spent 10 minutes trying to figure out how to use cables for a lower body exercise (for my hamstrings).. yes… shame on me. I am going to look into videos to refresh my brain.  Even professionals such as myself forget things and embarrass themselves. Yes, I did have a couple of people watch me as I struggled to find the correct form and technique to my exercise with the cable. Talk about a nail to the ego, but I am okay, I will return and pretend nothing like that has ever happened to me & hope that somehow they forget all about watching me look like mental patient.
Everybody has learned quite a lesson for today from me, which is know what you are doing, before you do it, so that you don’t look like I did trying to figure things out. Prepare for soreness for a couple of days if you do a hard lower body workout. Nobody has to time themselves when working out, like I do, I do it for multiple reasons, but stick with what I taught you until I explain more about it or unless you are like me and have to keep track of time constantly. ugh. I wanted to do back squats today, but our smith machine was taken for the entire time I was at the gym (we don’t have a free weight bench area), so I had to skip back squats, but tonight before I leave for work, I will probably do 100 reps of standing squats with no weight. Basically I left the gym the same way I came in; sore. I felt like I had a good workout, but it is difficult to sit on my toilet in comfort because I am sore and walking; well I walk weird right now, due to throbbing of my thighs. None of this is bad pain, it is great pain, the type of pain that lets you know you are amazing at what you do. I just felt like I had to share all this with you guys, so go out and conquer the world with your lower body workout and make those legs feel the burn (in a good way). 
Your fitness blogger, 
Shay-lon xoxo
Leave a Reply

