7/02/16 CrossFit class

crossfit

Today was my first day back to Saturday’s CrossFit class (I missed 3 weeks of it) because of different reasons. The night before had been a long night, so when I finally got home, I was playing a game in my head asking myself “should I wake up early for CrossFit or sleep in” since it would be my day-off. Well, I decided I would go, I set my alarm; the morning soon awaits me.  I normally eat breakfast in the morning when I wake up, but since doing CrossFit, I will eat breakfast after the class, I was fighting the urge to sleep in because my bed was so comfortable and I didn’t want to leave it.  I decided that I had no excuses and I needed to go, it had been a while and even though I was sure no one missed me, I wanted it to be known that I was still committed to learning and pushing myself.  Not to mention, I don’t workout on Friday’s so in my mind this makes up for not working on Friday’s (rest days). I am taking free classes right now because I want to be fully committed before signing up for the beginners class and with my schedule sometimes spiraling out of control between work and pretending I have a great social life; I have yet to make the move and sign up for a membership. Right now I have two emails signed up for their site, so I technically have like 6-7 free classes left that I can take advantage of. I know I will eventually sign up for the CrossFit classes because I enjoy it; really motivates me and I know what I want out of it but I need to make sure  my life is order before I sign my name on a dotted line & hand over 65 dollars. Not to mention, I have been slacking when it comes to studying for my personal training test, so I really should be doing that instead of blogging and watching movies all day (I will get to studying) is what I keep telling myself but I always end up doing something else less productive. I really do want to be certified though so I need to get the ball rolling and take my priorities seriously. 

I got to class like 10 minutes early today, quite a few people had shown up, it wasn’t packed but we probably had like 15 people show up for today’s class.  This is to be expected when it is 4th of July weekend, most people are spending their days on a lake drinking and having fun and we chose to show up to workout and get sore afterwards. As always we went around and met people so that everyone was aware of everyone, I had a new person speaking with me, and she was nice. It was her first time and she wanted to lose weight so she came to this morning class to get a feel for CrossFit. We talked and ended up being partners during a stretch exercise.  As always the coach chose 4 line leaders to lead us in our dynamic warmup:

  • butt kicks 
  • high knees
  • skips to high knees
  • lunge twist
  • lunge glute hold 
  • inchworm to push-up
  • kick (low then high)
  • a jog around the parking lot
Then we did some push-ups, 3 of them to be exact, it was integrated into our stretch.  As most of you know, CrossFit has their ways of doing things and today it was no different than most days, we had a set time do our workouts in and no breaks until the very end (although if someone needs one, they don’t keep you from taking one).  Today’s workout regimen was:
  • Wall balls – as many as possible for 1 minute (we got to choose the weight ourselves, obviously beginners would do a lower weight and more advanced or stronger athletes would do a heavier weight)
  • we did box jumps/step ups- 1 minute (depending on what you could handle you could jump or step up; and you had the choice in the height and whether to use a wooden box or the softer ones.
  • kettle bell swings- 1 minute and you had the choice in the weight
  • burpees- 1 minute 
  • 50m sprint- 1 minute
We had to do 3 rounds, no break until the very end. Everything was continuous, we had to do as many as possible within the 1 minute of each exercise. We split up into groups of 4-5 people and went to designated stations. My group started at the sprints, I didn’t mind sprinting because I prefer it over long distance running but after awhile the sprints felt like a mile run. Everything had to be exact, we had to be fast and pay attention to time when he would let us know how long we had left.  I pretty much found the most athletic person in our group and made it my goal to stick with them the whole time, just to give me something to aim for. Haha, I am assuming some of you probably thought I was most athletic person in my group; nope. I was the 2nd most athletic person in the group. The first round of wall balls would have been fine if coach had not told me to move up in weight and by move up he meant instead of going to my 6 pound ball, I need to go up to the 15 pound ball and boy did I feel the difference! I suppose he was right, no need to do a lower weight when I should and could handle more, but I like slacking.  Lower weights are so much easier, right?! Box jumps were not that bad, I think I did mine on the 12 inch box, I surely could have chosen a taller height but didn’t want to overdue it and end up hurting myself.  The kettle bell swings, I think I did 15-20 pounds and that wasn’t so bad, I actually think the kettle bell swings were our “break” out of all the exercises. Then we had the burpees, my arch nemesis. Only because I always feel like I am on the verge of dying when I do burpees. I did a good job today at them though. At the end of our last round, I could smile; not because I was thinking about how much pain I will be in tomorrow but because I did it, I reached the end and didn’t give up! Sure I had my breaks when I shouldn’t have, but I was really pushing myself. When you think you are athletic, there is always something that challenges you.  We ended our day with a cool down stretch and then we had to get our group photo taken (he shares it on instagram, snapchat and facebook).  
Overall today was probably the easiest of all the workouts I have had to do in this class, I was relieved but it gave me something to work on for next time, and since I didn’t keep track of my reps for each exercise, I will make it my goal to get better at muscular endurance and pulling through even when I don’t think I can. 
Your fitness blogger, 
Shay-lon xxx
Leave a Reply

