Bulimia (Eating Disorder) Page 2

bulimia

Yesterday we went over anorexia, and today we will be talking about another eating disorder: bulimia. Again, if you are someone who wants to offer answers, advice, share their story with us, feel free to do so, as it would be a great learning experience and help to keep people aware and give them insight on something that is life threatening and happens more often than not. I believe like anorexia, bulimia is something that needs to be taken seriously and something many people do not understand, and so I figured we would discuss some facts about it and hopefully it will be helpful to some if not all.  

Bulimia: Life-threatening eating disorder characterized by a cycle of bingeing and compensatory behaviors (i.e self induced vomiting) 

Symptoms: 

  • Frequent episodes of consuming large amounts of food followed by behaviors to prevent weight gain 
  • A feeling of being out of control during the binge-eating episodes
  • self esteem overly related to body image
  • living in fear of gaining weight
  • eating until the point of discomfort or pain
  • forcing yourself to vomit or exercise too much
  • misusing laxatives, diuretics or enemas after eating
  • restricting calories or avoiding certain foods between binges
  • using dietary supplements or herbal products excessively for weight loss
  • not wanting to eat in public or in front of others
  • going to the bathroom right after eating or during meals
  • having sores, scars calluses on the knuckles or hands
  • having damaged teeth and gums
  • discoloration or staining of the teeth
  • unusual swelling of the cheeks or jaw area

Health consequences:

  • electrolyte imbalances ( irregular heart beats or lead to heart failure/death)
  • inflammation and possible rupture of the esophagus from frequent vomiting 
  • tooth decay and staining from stomach acids
  • chronic irregular bowel movements and constipation
  • gastric rupture (uncommon, but can happen with binge eating)

More information: 

  • More common in females than males.  80 percent of females
  • people with bulimia usually appear to be “average” body weight
  • risk of death from suicide is increased for eating disorders
  • usually found in late teens or early adulthood
  • psychological and emotional issues can contribute to eating disorders
  • media and societal pressures can contribute 
  • again, sports, work, and activities can contribute to eating disorders

Complications:

  • dehydration
  • heart problems
  • sever tooth decay and gum disease
  • absent or irregular periods
  • digestive problems
  • anxiety and depression
  • misuse of alcohol or drugs
  • suicide

Treatment:

  • Psychotherapy along with antidepressant medication
  • hospitalization
  • nutrition education – to help plan your new way of eating and lifestyle 

Of course there is multiple reasons why one may turn to either one of these eating disorders and both are very dangerous and can be very deadly. Again, I will say that I am here for support and if anyone feels the need to want to share their experience, please do so, and if you are in the medical field and want to add to this information, please do so as well! thank you for reading.

 

Your fitness blogger,

 

Shay-lon xoxo

 

P.S there are many other eating disorders that I have yet to go over, so if you think something is important and want me to hit on that topic, feel free to let me know. I hope to keep people aware of the issue and I hope to enlighten people on other eating disorders as I continue to blog so that people know what is out there and can stay informed on the issues.  

 
Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

Leave a Reply

