What is a student to do?

what is a student to do

Alright world, I have a problem and need some opinions from all of you who can offer some advice for someone in my position.  I have a decision that needs made and I am scared to make the wrong decision! Firstly, all of you know I am on the road to being certified in personal training and currently have my AS in exercise science. Just in case no one knows, I do not need a degree in order to be a personal trainer but I wanted a degree. Now I have hit a crossroad in my life where I need to choose: Go back to school for my BA in exercise science OR focus my attention on getting my personal training cert and getting a job in my field (not interning, which I am doing now).  I know this seems like an obvious answer; do BOTH! but for me, that would be too overwhelming and I am not trying to lose my mind and lose interest by over-doing everything.  I have thought about this and it seems so crazy to me that I cannot make a final decision but I need to make the decision before the 17th because I was accepted at the college already.  Both journeys make sense and both have their pros and cons, what I have come up with is no matter what I need certified in personal training in order to have the proper title.. which makes sense and I know personal trainers who do not have their bachelors and are doing really well for themselves.  I know personal trainers who have no degree and are doing well, with multiple certs. I just don’t know what makes sense for me to do, and how I should go about this decision.  People have told me, I can always go back to school later if I decide I need to down the road and this is very true.  Nonetheless, if you are a personal trainer, I want your opinion and honest opinion about it. I don’t mind hearing from other people in my field of exercise science, etc..

I realize no matter what, it will be up to me to make the final decision.. as to what I want to do and focus on, but I want other people’s opinions because I am on the verge of losing my mind and it sucks!

Your Fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

14 thoughts on “What is a student to do?

    • True, I will. Although when I talk with people in my field they said experience is the most important factor in getting a job in my career and being good at it. They said the degree was fine, but it didn’t make or break their chances at success. I have always wanted to strive for more in education but I don’t want to waste money paying back loans I don’t need because of a degree I don’t need. LOL . Thanks for sharing your opinion though, it is greatly appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome and if they actually say that you don’t absolutely need a degree then I think you’re right there’s no point in wasting money and time on a degree. Anyway good luck with whatever you choose to do 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • You may feel amazing for having gone back to school and graduated but your chosen career path is not about making you feel amazing but the impact you have on others. Speaking from someone who has done both their are pro’s and con’s to both.

        Going back to school:
        Foremost you are paying for an education that in my opinion you don’t necessarily need. You would probably get as good, if not better education by immersing yourself into interning, self development, podcasts, reading etc. A degree may help you get in a door initially but your results and your network will help you get the jobs you want.

        The pro of going to school is that it teaches you to think differently, develops a lot of transferable skill sets which could help you transition industry (if you ever chose to) and it allows you to go back for post graduate. More education always looks good on a bio but it is an expensive bio line. There is also the added benefit of networking.

        Certs in fitness:
        The downside is that most courses are not amazing. If you are well read and semi practical you probably wont learn a great deal.

        The pro’s on the other hand are quite obvious. You need your certs to
        get insured and start working. It is quite easy to get a job as a trainer and if done well you will make a very good income.

        Without writing a novel, there is no right or wrong answer. You have a vision for your future, ask yourself does this action move me closer to that vision or does that … which ever one moves you closer quicker, you should do.

        Goodluck

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much for breaking everything down for me, this was awesome. I do appreciate this and will be using it for every choice I make in this field. This answered many of my questions/confusion and I am happy someone has been in my same situation and can give me hands on experience information.I thank you so much for this, I needed to see this. Good timing too!

        Shay-lon

        Like

  1. I agree with getting the degree. Yes you can always go back and get it later but once you get out of the student loop, I think most people find it hard to get back into that. And if you’ve already been accepted, then it means you don’t have to worry about going through all that again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been training clients for 11 years. I got my exercise science degree and then passed my CSCS. I share that because I was in your spot 13 years ago. To take the CSCS you need a 4 year degree. I’ve seen very good trainers fail the CSCS and my guess is it’s because they don’t have the background in exercise science. With that said I think it honestly comes down to how you’re paying for school. Don’t get in a ton of debt, get your degree and then expect a higher wage. Personal training is about experience. I used to share all my education to prove to people that I knew what I was talking about. Now I show them their results and never really talk about my education. I could go more in depth of you want. What certification are you getting? That’s the key. My votes is for you to get certified and get working. School will always be there. Since you said it’s not possible I didn’t mention it first but I trained and went to school. And that is the most ideal situation. I’m here to answer any questions you may have.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg yes!! I am so happy you found my post about this, thank you for stopping by and sharing all of this. See, I could go to school and study for cert but I am the type that doesn’t like being overwhelmed when I am in school.. I felt as though I had to work on one at a time, I wanted to be certified so I could work in my field and go back to school later. My professor shared the same information as you did! Actually both of you said the same exact thing, weirdly enough and he is also CSCS cert, among other degrees. I am getting the ACSM cert for right now to get my feet into the door then I will work on other certs afterwards. I probably could have taken the cert after graduating with my associates degree but decided to wait I guess (not the best decision) but hey! lol. Anyways, I have been studying for ACSM and have all the materials for it. Once I get certified in personal training, then I will look at other certs as well. I know about the CSCS and that one is well liked among companies and universities! I appreciate your answer and yes, I have decided I will work on getting certified then find a job and then decide if I want to go back to school. I also didn’t want to go back to school yet because I plan on moving in the spring or summer possibly to another state and didn’t want to waste money. I will definitely have more questions as time progresses, I am happy a personal trainer reached out to me.

      Like

    • Well said. One point to raise is that being a trainer is more than just understanding sport science. You need to have other valuable skills such as strong communication, an ability to market and sell etc. You could know everything of exercise and nutrition prescription but if you can’t convert a lead into a client and don’t enjoy that side of the business it may sway your decision and impact your long term success.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm, this is something my former professor mentioned to me while in his class. He said it goes beyond the science and diet, he always mentioned business is a huge aspect in this field. He said we are constantly having to sell ourselves and if we don’t, we don’t make clients nor money.

        Like

Leave a Reply

