Water Retention/Water Weight.

water retention

Hello everyone! Happy Friday, the start of the weekend, woot! woot! I decided to do a short post on water retention, aka water weight because I know most of us have been down this road and didn’t enjoy it.  I thought it would make for a good topic since there are tons of products out there that swear by weight loss but really only rid of the water weight and I don’t think people understand this concept.  I known many people in the past whom have swore they have lost weight but come to find out it was only water weight, which is fine but I have noticed those same people don’t realize the difference and so in their minds they believe it was actual weight loss and when the scale proves this theory, they are then upset. I hope that many of you on a weight loss journey find this helpful and those of us who want to rid of it can learn a few things as well. 

What is water retention? When your body holds on to too much of water and causes puffiness and 

swelling. 

Causes: 

  • consuming too much sodium in your system holds in water (check the sodium level of everything you eat, our bodies need sodium but only a small amount and be aware of how much sodium you consume daily because it can make a difference)
  • Sitting or standing too long can cause your tissue to hold water, so if your job calls for you to sit or stand for a long period of time, you may notice swollen ankles 
  • Move around, keep the blood circulating
  • medication can cause water retention, if you are on medicine of any sorts, see if that is a symptom of any sort
  • Having a “weak” heart can cause you retain water and swelling in the legs and abdomen.  
  • if your veins do not close the way they should, this could cause swelling in your lower legs
  • Pulmonary edema 
  • Deep vein thrombosis 
  • Preeclampsia 
  • Cancers
  • Kidney disease
  • Cirrhosis of the liver
  • protein loss from severe malnutrition
  • lymphedema 
Preventive measures: 
  • Watch your sodium intake and consume less salt.
  • Some may need to take a water pill (prescribed by a medical doctor)
  • Raise your feet a few times a day to remove fluid from your feet and ankles (while laying down)
  • Some may need to wear compression stockings
  • Dandelion supposedly been said to help
  • consuming parsley is said to help as well
  • Epsom salt bath
  • Consuming lemon juice in a cup with warm water
  • Fennel seeds have said to help some people
  • Consuming nettle
  • Cranberry juice 
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Consuming onions
  • Drink plenty of water throughout the day because your body starts retaining water when you are the verge of dehydration
  • exercise regularly 
  • avoid excessive amounts of alcohol 
Thanks for reading, hope this was helpful!!
Your fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xoxo
8 thoughts on “Water Retention/Water Weight.

  1. Sodium is an interesting topic depending on who you talk to about its place within our diets. For someone who is more sedentary I think that you’re completely correct on sodium intake because most people don’t need a lot. However sodium is an electrolyte so for athletes or someone with an active job they may need a lot more sodium than the RDA. At one point I tried to lower my sodium intake to the RDA levels and I was constantly lightheaded/fatigued, but once I raised the intake again I started performing/feeling better almost immediately. I’m really interested to know what your opinion on sodium/electrolytes for performance vs healthy lifestyle! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, agreed. Sodium and electrolytes are very important for those high performers and athletes (aka anyone with a highly active lifestyle). I suppose I should have mentioned this within the blog post, but I am glad you did! Sometimes I overlook things and forget to mention other “important” aspects, forgive me. I have never been on a “low sodium” diet, but I do however make it a point to look at my daily sodium intake just to get an idea. I also try to get alternative food items if possible with lower sodium, because hypertension is relatively high within the black community.
      My opinion stands the same as yours when it comes to athletes needing sodium because of the amount of sweat that leaves their bodies and having to replenish what left. I do however find that sodium overall isn’t necessarily great when it comes to health reasons for the average person. I do think there are obviously better sodium choices, but many people do not think about those options (i.e sea salt).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. AWWW! thank you MR!!! Yeah, well I tend to ask you all the questions!! LOL

        Personally I think if I am not slamming mcdonalds fries every day, I will be okay! Lol what is your thoughts? hahaha

        Like

    1. Well, it was quite the boring post but it got my point across, I did however leave out that athletes (high performance athletes) will need more sodium consumption than most general population, although from another blogger’s point of view that can argued..
      how do you feel about sodium intake?

      Like

    2. Hey! sorry about deleting your post from the other day! ugh. I was typing really fast as usual and somehow hit the delete button! I didn’t want to make you think it was intentionally done. I will just respond to it by saying, that it was good feedback and information. I never gave much thought to the whole paleo lifestyle in place of worrying about sodium intake but it does make sense and the paleo lifestyle is also much more sustainable in my opinion when compared to other lifestyle diets. Looks like we both agree for the most part about sodium and its uses:)

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

