Obsessive Compulsive Disorder- OCD

obessive compulsive disorder

Bringing back the mental health topics for today and the one we will be speaking of is: OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder).  I, myself have a form of OCD which can be bad depending on what it is, but normally is minor. Actually overtime, my OCD has gotten to a point where it hasn’t been as relevant in my life. I guess the things that used to bother me, I can now overlook the majority of the time.  I don’t think I know anyone with a severe form of OCD, but when watching a television show on MTV that used to come on (“true life”) or something like that, they had an episode telling of people who have OCD and how they live their everyday lives and the people with the more severe forms had a fairly difficult time sometimes (with work, relationships, etc) so I could not imagine going through that everyday, but I do know what it is like when other people don’t necessarily understand your OCD and give you hell for it.  My mom is OCD and a perfectionist about the majority of things, so I think mine stemmed from that, but overtime, I did notice she hasn’t been as OCD like she used to be (I was annoyed as a kid), because I didn’t understand it at the time. I swear I just thought she was bat shit crazy, but come to find out.. she just had OCD and was a perfectionist about shit. Now I understand because I am the same way sometimes about certain things.  At work, when I am being OCD about something, my coworkers just don’t always understand & it can annoy them sometimes, but they don’t give me too much slack about it, thankfully.  Anyways, I thought I would share some information about this disorder.  

What does it mean to have OCD: 

To have a common, chronic and long lasting disorder, in which the person has uncontrollable, reoccuring thoughts and behaviors that he or she feels the urge to repeat over and over again. 

Obsessions: Repeated thoughts, urges, or mental images that cause anxiety, symptoms:

  • Fear of germs or contamination
  • Unwanted forbidden or taboo thoughts involving sex, religion, and harm
  • Aggressive thoughts towards others or self
  • Having things symmetrical or in perfect order

Compulsions: Repetitive behaviors that a person with OCD feels the urge to do in response to an obsessive thought. Compulsions:

  • Excessive cleaning or hand washing
  • Ordering and arranging things in a particular, precise way
  • Repeatedly checking on things
  • Compulsive counting

NOT ALL RITUALS OR HABITS ARE CONSIDERED COMPULSIONS!

 

A person with OCD:

  • Can’t control his or her behaviors, or thoughts
  • can spend 1 hour a day on these thoughts or behaviors
  • Doesn’t get pleasure when performing the thoughts or behaviors, but could feel a brief relief from the anxiety the thoughts cause
  • Can experience significant problems in their daily life due to these thoughts or behaviors

Some people with OCD also have a tic disorder as well. 

Risk Factors:

  • Genetics
  • Brain structure and functioning
  • Environment (those who have experienced physical or sexual abuse have a higher risk of OCD)

Treatment options:

  • Medication
  • psychotherapy
  • Deep brain stimulation
  • Augmentation

If you would like more information about this disorder, please refer to this site: https://iocdf.org/about-ocd/.  Also keep in mind not everyone knows they have OCD, most adults and/or children are not aware that they have the disorder.  

 

Thank you for reading.

 

Your fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

 
 
3 thoughts on “Obsessive Compulsive Disorder- OCD

Leave a Reply

