Just when you start to think…

memories

“We grow older, but that doesn’t mean we can’t smile at the end of the tunnel” -Shay-lon

It’s late in the evening and I didn’t want to make a post this late about fitness and health, so I was thinking about what kind of post could take me off the beaten path and be on interest to others.  It wasn’t until I had stumbled on a fellow blogger that I follow: https://fitrecovery.wordpress.com/.  He is a great blogger and whenever he talks about his passion for cycling, he never fails to mention the people in his life that make him feel whole, that is one of the many reasons why I enjoy his blog post (besides the health aspects of cycling) because he incorporates people in his life into this blogging, and honestly, some may think it is the cycling he is most passionate about, but when I read his blog post, I think he is most passionate about his love for everyone in his life and the many thanks he gives to those who stuck it out with him to see him come out a better person! & I just wanted to say, because of you, I was able to come up with this blog post of my own, thank you.

When you start to think about where you are NOW in your life and where you were back THEN, you see the steps you have taken and the struggles you had to endure in order to make your way. Sometimes, you get it easy in the beginning and sometimes you start off in a black hole you don’t think is possible to escape. I have two siblings, one being 8 years of age and one being 21 and I tell you, when I look at them both, I see my whole life flash before my eyes, my mistakes, my proudest moments, my old friends, my achievements, my failures, my hopes and dreams, my pain, the sacrifices I had to make, regrets, and then I see one brother who I grew up with; who was my best friend and other times the most annoying kid ever.  The many kickball games we played in front of the house and the many times we got in trouble and he would take the spanking for me or jump to my defense – I would always throw him the blame (not the greatest sister award), we would ride our bikes and skateboard, we really thought we were something, we had a childhood where we played basketball against one another, if I lost, I was ready to throw a fit and if he lost, he was rolling his eyes (very competitive siblings). As we grew up, our closeness started to fade, we no longer ran the streets wild, we no longer met at the court to play basketball and we no longer made it a thing to hangout as often as possible throwing a football (me thinking I am the next Tom Brady) LOL .. but I am damn good at throwing a football,  Regardless, everything we once did, now becomes a memory of the past, a good memory, a memory I miss so much of and a memory that I hope to one day share with him when we both have grey hair and want a good laugh.  My youngest brother and I are close, he stuns me everyday with all the things he knows and all the things that interest him, he is the cutest and sometimes too smart for his own good. I can only imagine his bright future and I only want the best for him, for now I am again making some of the same memories I did with my younger brother with now my youngest brother and all I ask is when it starts to fade and I am no longer “cool” to hang out with and I am no longer there to visit him as often as I was did, that one day when gets grey hair and wants a laugh or a smile, he thinks of everything we did together and how much I love him. 

I wanted to keep this piece short and sweet because I didn’t want to bore the audience, but the fact of the matter is, I made memories with many people, memories that when I am old and grey, I can think about when I need that laugh or smile.  I have come a long way for being 24, and I still have much further go, “who knows where I end and who knows where I’ll be, but no matter what happens to me, I will always carry these memories”-Shay-lon Moss

Your fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

6 thoughts on “Just when you start to think…

Leave a Reply

