How do you manage your stress?

Hello bloggers!

Today’s problems that we can and cannot control can sometimes give us the most stress, the financial burdens, our relationships, our work load, if you have children or pets, sometimes our neighbors or bosses, the weather, the town or environment we live in, death, our past we hold onto, school, struggling to self- identify, our religions, not meeting a goal, our anxieties, fears, sleep deprived, illnesses, sexual desires not being met, lack of self esteem and confidence, struggling between what is right and what is wrong, sports, family members, holidays, birthdays, moving from one place to another, being homeless, losing your job, not having transportation, not understanding, anger, confusion, negativity, handicaps, losing, comparing, health, being a hero, struggling, etc. I could name so many things that could bring on stress on a daily basis for each and every one of us. I named just a few that I know are fairly common reasons for why people are stressful.  As a matter of fact, I am sure one of you reading this might be feeling somewhat stressed for one or more of these reasons and not even realize it. I know I have stresses, I was just stressing the other day and I am in a grumpy not yet stressful mood now (just woke up in pain and have a lot on my mind).  So, even myself has stress, more stress than I actually want in my life and sometimes more than I can handle.  The problem isn’t that we ALL stress at some point in our lives, the problem is HOW we handle the stress when it comes knocking at our doors.  I can share with all of you ways some people handle it: alcohol, drugs, violence, hate, greed, addictions, obsessions, emotionally disconnecting, running from it, bottling their feelings/thoughts, taking over the counter medications, suicide, etc. I realize this list isn’t the list we want to come to terms with, but more than likely someone has handled stress in one of those ways and not saying what they did was WRONG, because we cannot preach something if we have no idea how that person is feeling or what they went through, but there are BETTER ways to manage stress, more productive ways that prevent us from going down a road that is dark and lonely. 

I am hoping this list of ways to manage stress will come of use to those of you and myself when we run into a stressful situation and need something to help us get by. “Sometimes we think we have it bad, but bad only exist when we allow it to conquer who we are as a person” -Shay-lon Moss

How do you manage stress: 

  1. Ask yourself what can you do about the sources of stress (what is causing your stress)
  2. Keep a positive, realistic attitude (hard to do, but only you can do it for you)
  3. Learn and practice relaxation techniques (some may find this helpful and others will not)
  4. Exercise (cliche because I workout, but exercise is said to help)
  5. Eat healthier (take care of your health)
  6. Manage your time wisely (set goals, to do list, plan, etc) 
  7. Say no when necessary to things that add more stress in your life
  8. Make more time for hobbies and interest (this is important)
  9. Get enough sleep (this is also very important and for some hard to do)
  10. Don’t rely on alcohol, drugs or food in order to ease your mind, it will be short term and will only be more stressful down the road.
  11. Spend more time with people you love being around (people who are doing well, people who love and support you, people that make you laugh or smile)
  12. Talk with a professional or look into taking a stress management class 
  13. Listening to music has said to help with getting your mind of the stressful situation

Sometimes it isn’t about coping, it is about allowing everything to come to surface.  I always tell myself and others when they are enduring stressful situations to allow tears and madness out, because keeping it in, fucks with your mind. 

This is what could happen if you don’t manage your stress: 
 
It can wear down the body’s natural defenses and cause symptoms: 
  1. Dizziness (being out of it)
  2. General aches and pains
  3. Grinding your teeth
  4. headaches 
  5. indigestion
  6. increase or loss of appetite
  7. muscle tension in neck, face or shoulders
  8. Problems sleeping
  9. Racing heart
  10. Cold and sweaty palms
  11. Tiredness and exhaustion
  12. Shaking 
  13. Weight gain or loss
  14. Upset stomach and/or diarrhea
  15. Sexual issues
  16. Being irritable, impatient or forgetful
“Stress is something we want to avoid, but avoiding it becomes more stressful” -Shay-lon Moss
Your Fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xoxo
7 thoughts on “How do you manage your stress?

  1. Great post and super informative! A lot of physical health problems these days are caused by high stress levels and many people don’t realise this and just end up taking a bunch of medication which cure the symptoms not the root cause. A lot of times when you ignore stress or repress it, it actually really physically harms you and I think the best thing to do sometimes is change your lifestyle or your thinking patterns

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am happy you enjoyed the read. I figured since you had done one, I would as well but used different things to talk about so it didn’t sound redundant. LOL.
      I will admit sometimes stress is something we can manage and sometimes it runs our daily lives but like you said the best thing one can do is change your lifestyle or thinking patterns. None of which are easy but it is worth the sacrifice if your health is at risk.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am so glad you did this post because I think everyone has some kind of stress in their life whether it’s because of their school or maybe because of their job or family and everyone does need to learn healthy ways of dealing with that stress and I think majority of people don’t know how to do that. Yeah I think even though it’s incredibly difficult to change your lifestyle or thought patterns you do eventually need to because the stress is sooner or later going to catch up to you.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great post! I’ve noticed that a lot of people get stressed because they find themselves in a situation and find themselves mentally “stuck” and can’t figure out what to do. Or they just know something is wrong but not what. I think spelling out stressors and possible coping mechanisms can help find options to deal. Keep up the wonderful info.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I appreciate the support! I would have to agree with you, “people become mentally stuck” and honestly, that is a lot of the problem when stressing, not knowing what to do about the situation and then comes anxiety.. it all starts to add up!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for your interest in my blog. I like your approach to health and that exercise and diet are two components. I suggest you develop acronyms for helping people remember lists and that words be short focusing on essentials. The more absurd the better to help remember. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • No problem, I had a look on your page and fell in love with your pictures! I love seeing things from all over, very great stuff to look at! hopefully I will be able to read about each of them as well!
      Thank you for the follow back, I appreciate the support and the advice as well. I think that will be a splendid idea, I remember a teacher always having us do this when I was a youngster, and it did help so something I may consider for my audience as well! thank you

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

