Is Water Aerobics better than land based exercises?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=veJN-XyYoiM

So I will admit, this is probably bad timing since summer is almost over, but where I live there are gyms that offer indoor pools all year round for those who want to swim for their workout or enjoy the hot tub. I cannot imagine being one of those people, because once summer goes away, I don’t want to even imagine myself in a swimming pool (I can handle being in a hot tub) BRRRRR! With the weather cooling down, I don’t expect many people using this type of workout, but someone can always use it for next year or use it for their indoor pool activities.  I have never participated in any form of water aerobics classes, and so I decided I would look into to, since most people know that swimming is a great total body exercise.  Recently I had someone ask me if I thought water aerobics was a better form of cardio than taking a run or cycling, and to be honest, I didn’t really know off the bat, but told them I would look into it and I am happy I did because I had the chance to learn something new in my field and share with all of you.

 

For starters, swimming is a great at increasing cardiovascular health, joint health and builds upper and lower body strength (which I knew this much already).  Secondly it never crossed my mind but swimming is a great exercise for those easing their way into exercising and need something that is low impact.  Duh, right?! I know. I guess my fitness mentality didn’t kick in right away, don’t blame me, it has been a long week. To be continued… 

 

Benefits:

 
  • Low impact exercise
  • Total body exercise
  • Good cardiovascular exercise
  • builds strength in both the upper and lower body
  • “Calorie Burner”
  • Great for seniors & older adults
  • Helps rehabilitate healing muscles and joints
  • Great for those who live in a hot environment
  • reduced chance of injury

So as you can see water aerobics has many great benefits. Bear in mind that you still need land based exercises in order to get the benefits from a weight bearing exercise to maintain a healthy bone density. All in all, based on this information alone, I think swimming can offer some of the same benefits as those who run or cycle but I would definitely recommend it over running for someone who needs a low impact activity in the beginning, but wouldn’t use it as a supplement to weight bearing exercises. Depending on the clients goals and their fitness level, water aerobics could make for a great strength and cardio exercise.

 

One thing I will mention is so many new water aerobic videos are being posted all over the internet and NOT all of them make sense or have a reasoning behind the movements, I feel as though if you are interested in participating in a water aerobics class, that you speak with someone who is certified in this or a coach who knows what they are talking about. I know we all know not to believe everything we see or hear on the internet but because a lot of these new and improved water aerobics are being advertised, people don’t stop and actually think about the relevance of the exercise and will try anything just because it looks “cool”, not everything that looks cool has a purpose. Thanks for reading, feel free to share, like, comment and follow!

 

Have you done water aerobics? Share with us your experience.

 

Your fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

Shay-lon is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to [insert the applicable site name Amazon.com

8 thoughts on “Is Water Aerobics better than land based exercises?

  1. No I have never done water aerobics, but I don’t count walking as exercise either. I have seen a couple of classes that start immediately after my daughters’ travel swim team practice and had a good chuckle (on the inside, of course)… Calling water aerobics a “calorie burner” is definitely a stretch from what I’ve seen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, oo this is interesting about how you do not count walking as an exercise, because that is a blog topic I have written down to write about at some point! this should be very fun! I think you may be of good use to that particular blog post as a guest speaker 😀 hmmm , got me thinking.

      Otherwise, yes some may disagree with it being a calorie burner but I suppose the intensity of the workout would make a difference. I mean, from what I have viewed, I have seen some classes online that seem very interesting and hard but others where it is .. much more relaxing and settle.. so hmm, guess it depends.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a great point you make…. I suppose the proper way to say it would be “from what I’ve seen one would be hard-pressed to call water aerobics ‘exercise'”.

        Fair enough. As far as walking goes, if I’m not burning a thousand calories an hour, it’s not exercise, it’s getting from a to b. 😆

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been swimming every day for the past week to stay in shape while not straining my joints at the same time :). Water aerobics always seems a little suburban housewife silly to me though ;).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

