When you are called upon as the HELP

friendship

I can only hope that when things get harder, they decide to push through instead of giving up.  Sometimes I feel compelled to help those close to me in thinking that I am obligated and other times  I just assume if I have the time, why not. In the past 2 days I have had two friends come to me about wanting to get shape and lose weight. I figured this would be a fun opportunity to help someone who I consider a friend and lead them on a path where they can feel confident.  It has occur to me that this would be a sacrifice in friendship in order to get them where they want to be, because I can’t be there friend at the gym during the session, I have to be their trainer. I have to treat them as I would anyone else I would be training, while having fun is on the agenda, it cannot be the basis of the workout all the time.  This may seem harsh, but in order for people to take me seriously as a trainer, I have to take their goals seriously and put them through the motions because otherwise we are at square one where our gym session is all laughs and no work.  While this journey I am starting with two friends will be essentially helping them, it will be helping me to build my resume and create a portfolio showing what I am capable of if given a chance, with that being said, I am going to take this opportunity fairly seriously, as I can only hope they do as well. I am not yet certified, so nothing I do will be charged and nothing I do will be 100 percent, because I am still learning and bettering myself but this gives me an opportunity to practice and tweak things as I go. I have sent my “terms and conditions” to one of my friends who wants to start on Monday, because I want to treat this as I would if I was working anyone in the community as a personal trainer and since that will be my career soon, why not make the most of it now. 

I also decided I would email him Monday’s workout plan, and since I am not sure where his fitness level is, I will have Monday be a typical cardiovascular workout and once I add strength training then we will need to start from scratch there as well. I am not performing any assessments, as I normally would on a client because I don’t have all the means in doing so, even at our gym, so this means I will need be creative and use what I do have in order to make the best judgments. Nothing is expected to be perfect the first day or any day after that, I will eventually mess up, he will eventually complain and this could lead to “friendship self destruction”; which I want to avoid during this journey. In order to avoid that happening, we will need to learn to respect each other as friends, but also have a level of respect for each other on a client-trainer basis, this is very important and I outlined that in the terms and conditions when I sent it to him.  As long as he is gives me permission, I will outline his workout on my blogs and keep everyone informed of all the good and bad, and share with you our workout sessions, I am hoping he will also eventually allow me to do an interview with him that goes along with one of my topics I plan on discussing in the future. I have some other ideas flying around, which I will be sure to give all of you a heads up on when these ideas launch. 

We pretty much have a plan set in place as to what needs to happen and how to go about it, but it will take some work because he lacks motivation and willpower, and that is hard to get back sometimes, so that will be another goal, to keep him motivated so that eventually this all becomes routine and habit.  I have him keeping track of his diet and workouts in a notebook, along with his moods and sleep patterns, because I want to know all of this, and make my decisions based on it (no worries he has a fitbit so he practically can keep track of all it the easy way), I just want him to write it down so that he can pay more attention to it. He seems  very excited about starting this adventure with me, not only as his friend but now trainer in practice. 

As for the other friend, who is a female, she wants to start sometime in October instead for her own reasons I will not disclose, but that is fine, she also wants to lose weight and needs the extra boost of motivation and wants to make it routine and habit.  I have yet to send her any term and conditions until I sit down and have a one on one chit chat about her goals and thoughts, and questions she may have for me. I want to make the best of this opportunity with her because she seems to really want this and has made some better decisions, but still feels as though it isn’t getting her very far yet. I hope that with my help and guide, she will eventually feel more confident with herself and begin to shine. 

With all this being said, I can only hope that they both see the results they want, but also that I see my strengths and weaknesses and work on them to better myself, I hope that while on this ride, I can develop great testimonies and build a stronger bond with my friends in and out of the gym. I hope that when we fall or collide, we can work through it together and not divided.  “I think everything will be just fine once the rain stops” -Shay-lon Moss

Thank you for reading, I hope that if you enjoyed this, you will continue to follow me as I take this leap with two friends, feel free to share, comment or like. 

Your fitness blogger,

Shay-lon xoxo

2 thoughts on “When you are called upon as the HELP

Leave a Reply

