The Gym Goers Job

obligation

In a world full of body savvy, nutritional professionals, where I am only less than the 1 percent who actually cares about the well-being of others not just how their ass looks in jeans or the shirtless pictures they post on social media. Although, we all look, guilty as charged. I found out recently after reading a Facebook post from a group member of a fitness group I have joined (I joined many to share my blog post and Youtube videos) that is our obligation to look a certain way so that others will want to look as we do. I laughed loudly, very loudly to myself because I wanted to know how such a person even came up with that conclusion, as if I am some model citizen that people should praise and look up to in such a way where they feel the need to compare themselves to myself and others in our profession. Forgive me if this next sentence makes me sound like a whining bitch, but “who in the hell said I wanted others to look like me”, why is this a hard concept to grasp when I make mention that isn’t my goal. I don’t ever feel the need to strike an argument with a fellow personal trainer, because I know we all have our own ideas and ways of doing things but when a personal trainer makes such a statement that involves how we should look in order to make others “want our bodies”, “praise our hard work”, and “give us a round of applause for being attractive”, I find that kinda absurd, maybe because over the course of the years my body hasn’t made head line news and I don’t feel like it is any better than the next females, sure it looks nice but improvement is always needed no matter how “flawless” it may look to others, I find it needs improvement because I am not perfect and this whole I should feel obligated to make sure it is this perfect canvas is bullshit. I have my days where I am drowning in sloppy joe sauce and stuffing my face with french fries, and so if I choose to do that and get a small pouch on my tummy from eating such amazing food, that is my business, doesn’t mean I am any less a personal trainer than the next person in line who treats themselves to a salad on the weekends with a decent amount of croutons. 

 

For one, I take care of my body to my liking, not someone else’s, I stopped wanting to be a show doll years ago when I realized people won’t be satisfied no matter which direction I take. Looking at me you would assume I eat veggies all week and stay away from any kind of fast food, or dining out but hanging with me, I am smashing my face with gourmet burgers and waiting for the next margerita to be served. Seriously, and I still manage a healthy weight, confidence, and muscle definition that goes beyond my expectations most days and I get complimented on my physique more often than not most days, not to mention if you have seen my recent pictures on Facebook of me at the gym, then you would know I know what I am doing when it comes to taking care of myself and it is not to appeal to my others and/or society but to appeal to myself. It is a bonus to appeal to others, because it makes us feel good, but on the other hand, I am not perfect, I bloat when PMSing, I gain weight, I lose muscle, my abs look like shit some days, my hair is never on point, my thighs jiggle to the beat of the music sometimes and I have stretch marks that I have had since being kid that switch between being noticeable and unnoticeable. Shit, I would hate for someone to be like me, and did I mention I don’t wear make up so you can see my pimples when they stop by to visit. Here it is folks, the truth. I think this whole I need to look a certain way in order to get clients may be true, of course, I have to workout, stay in shape and be healthy and not to mention have some confidence and pride in myself. I do. I have a lovely personality and I lift heavy weight, I can run sprints like a champ, and I maintain a healthy balance of food in my fridge, I have self control when I eat, I am knowledgeable in my profession, I have my degree,  I work hard and I carry myself with dignity whenever I have the chance, I failed to mention I have determination,I am disciplined and I strive to be great in everything I do. Always have. 

 

So here we are discussing why I need to look a certain way in order to get clients, I don’t have to look like the chick on muscle and fitness magazine, I am okay with being myself and representing who I am to people in order to get clients and build my rapport. I feel as though no one would hardly know my lifestyle choices unless I told them, and I do eat healthy foods, drink water and stay active, I love having a fit body and looking good in pictures, but deep down, I am not a show doll, I want to be treated like I would treat my clients, “normal”. I don’t need praise, I don’t need another personal trainers approval and I sure the hell don’t have to put up a front like I am some hot shot in order to have clients and gain exposure. My only job at the gym is to work on me and improving my weaknesses, my only obligation is to help other people feel good about themselves, improve their health and well being and bring awareness to people all over in how important fitness/health is. Yes, I will need to look the part for people to believe I am good at what I do, but hopefully once they step into my world and train with me, they won’t need to feel the need to base my quality from how I look but from how they look instead. 

 

Your Fitness blogger,

 

Shay-lon xoxo

21 thoughts on “The Gym Goers Job

  1. I love this!!

    I wholeheartedly agree!!! I am so not the typical personal trainer stereotype that more judgemental people look me up and down and say “really” in such a disbelieving way that I have to ask them what their point is…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In a world full of fitness professionals, people believe we all have to live this same lifestyle, have these above and beyond bodies, make the gym our home, and make no mistakes in our nutrition or workout plans. I find it quite discouraging when other fitness professionals expect me to look a certain way to be taken seriously.
      As if we don’t have society knocking at our doors telling us to get on Youtube perform these tricks that are meaningless and make sure your shirt is off and your leggings are tight enough, like seriously.. it is way worse when a fitness professional expects the same.. and again .. I respond the same way as you do “your point is..”

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

      1. it is absolutely ridiculous, first and foremost we are about health and fitness!
        I can’t believe how many other fitness professionals are all about the looks!
        I know looks sell, but I suppose I am not selling to that market!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! that is absolutely correct! I was quite shocked myself when someone made mention of our “obligations”, I think that word is too tense and makes for uneasy, I don’t feel obligated to look any type of way, if my looks are selling then what was the whole purpose of me going to school for, what is the use of a certification and what is the point of even teaching people, should we all just be duds and walk around with 6 pack abs and tight asses, with no knowledge or passion..hmm

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like this is brought way too often. Consumer want tone arms, six pack abs, buns or steel etc. It is a crazy cycle. It is the media. Now you can have short term success through Instagram. Short term but to a lot that is good enough. So just like consumer search for ways to look like magazine models, some fitness people chase that short term Instagram success. Reality is that it is doing nothing. Not quite done yet. Next we have the self proclaimed experts. Instead of modeling half dress on social media the want to prove how smart they are.
    Great news is people are starting to realize the Instagram fitness do know what they are doing. The so called expert don’t have people skills. People are looking for professionals. True professional, look, knowledge, and treat people that of professional. That is how you reach the point when you have to turn potential clients away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The short term success from Instagram is cool, I mean I realize it can pay and give you more clients, but it isn’t always realistic and nowadays with so many people on board with that idea, the competition is harder. I wouldn’t mind some short term success, LOL but I am not that charmed by other people’s opinions and I don’t take enough selfies and I don’t have enough cash to do random photo shoots. I wasn’t made to be a Instagram success I don’t think, but who knows.
      Yes, the self proclaimed experts also bother me sometimes, especially on Youtube when I am watching videos, and they are trying so hard to be smart and right at the same time.
      I agree with you, people want the total package, you can’t have one without the other, brains with bronze is no better than bronze with no brain. LOL

      Like

    1. Yes, like they make money from youtube, based on the amount of views and subscribers. Not necessarily a check, I don’t think. I believe through paypal maybe, not totally sure..but nonetheless, yes, they get paid! really good youtubers, get paid.

      Like

      1. The smart approach is to sell a product or service. The key would be to get viewers to your website from there you can create your own or be an affiliate.
        Other than that as a fitness person you would have to do crazy stunt or ridiculous workouts. Isn’t that what the article was about avoiding that?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, many people on Instagram sell supplements and dietary foods. I have taken notice of that, maybe because they are sponsored or because they went through a company to do so.

        Right now, I am an affiliate of Amazon. but I am wanting to pretty soon buy my own domain and website page through wordpress to look more professional.

        Like

      3. Build your brand first. If you want to learn about branding don’t follow what Instagram models and you tuber are doing. Most importantly they may not be around in 5 years. Look what happened to MySpace and Aol. Follow brands like Amazon, Toyota and Starbucks. They evolve while miss Instagram will be depress when the next miss Instagram comes or no one is on Instagram.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Makes sense, I currently affiliate with Amazon, so that is a good start, I will work on building a brand (original content/name) for myself, so I can stand out from Amazon at the same time

        Like

  3. Just so we are on the same page being an affiliate is perfect fine. Really why not?
    Be more concern about your personal goals and the people you wish to help. In other words focus on the viewer and not the number of viewers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

