Seated Leg Extension (exercise)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJyUQfDXTs

Hope you don’t mind loud background noise and hard breathing because that is what the video is full of, oh and a guy without his shirt, who has abs, don’t pass out women, I promise I posted this for the example of the exercise, not to deliver massive heart attacks.  On a more serious note, how many of you have completed a seated leg extension? how many of you start to feel it after like 8 reps? okay, and how many of you like this exercise? Okay, so we have a rough crowd tonight, not many hand raises or I do’s, as a matter of fact, I heard the wind blow and that is hard to hear when you are indoors. I will assume most of you have done this exercise whether it was at the gym on the machine or at home using a chair, and if you haven’t yet tried this exercise, next time you have a chance, give it a go. 

I normally tell all of you “I like this exercise and would highly recommend it” right, because that is how I feel about many exercises and wouldn’t lead my audience over a cliff if I knew they couldn’t swim, LOL. I have jokes today, but this particular exercise isn’t something I am going to necessarily say I love and enjoy and would highly recommend it, but it is one that I would say can be implemented into your workout sessions as a warm up for the lower body or after a strenuous workout if you use low weights. Like many machines it has its pros and cons, and it is relatively easy to do with or without the machine. Where I go to the gym, I don’t see many people use this, but the ones that do, usually switch between this and the seated leg curls, which could make for a good circuit, if you add maybe a lunge exercise or something that will do the full ROM. Me, personally I don’t use this machine very often, but when I do use it, I normally also do the seated leg curl as a switch off as well because they are placed right next to one another and I can go back and forth working on the hamstrings and Quads. However, there are other ways to go about working the quad muscles and hamstrings, avoiding the use of the hopping from one machine to the next, a more functional exercise. I will mention that this is a good beginners strength exercise, so if you are new to the fitness world and want an easy exercise for the quads, look into this workout. 

How to perform a “Seated leg extension”

  1. Sit on the machine with your legs under the pad, feet pointed forward and hands holding the handles (you will want to adjust the pad so that it falls on top of your lower leg), make sure the legs form a 90 degree angle. I have heard of machines being designed a way that you are not capable of forming a 90 degree angle, I would skip the machine or make sure to only go as far down as 90 degrees. 
  2. Using the quadriceps, extend your legs to the maximum as you exhale. Pause a second on the contraction and make sure the body is stationary on the seat.
  3. Slowly lower the weight back down to the normal position, as you inhale, ensuring to not go past the 90 degree angle. 
  4. Repeat for the recommended amount of repetitions.
Reason to not go past the 90 degree angle is to prevent the knees from going over the toes, which in turn can cause a stress at the knee joint.
Pros:
  • Easy to perform
  • hard to do incorrectly
  • good if you wish to work only the quad muscles
Cons:
  • Is said to apply “constant ACL tension” (people with ligament injuries should avoid this exercise)
  • Increased risk of lateral patellar deviation
  • when you do this exercise with high weights, your chances of knee injury increases
  • exercise is not practical, only for kicking movements – again not a functional exercise
Now, you can see why I don’t highly recommend this machine exercise, nor am I a huge fan of it, but it does make for a good beginner exercise. 
Your fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xoxo
Leave a Reply

