Personal training: helping a friend day four

personal-training

Warm-up:

  • Knee to chest
  • lunge twist
  • leg swings
5-10 minutes of dynamic warm-up.
Workout Session:
  • Treadmill – 45 minutes, no incline, 4.0 speed. 
If he needed a break, I told him to reduce the speed and keep walking, not come to a full stop. 
Cool-down:
  • Treadmill- 5 minute, no incline, 3.5 decreasing slowly to 1.5 speeds
Stretching:
  • Glute stretch- hold 10 seconds each leg
  • Runner’s stretch- hold for 10 seconds, each leg
  • hamstring stretch- 3 sets of 8-10 second counts both legs at the same time
Overall:
John did a good job with not coming to a complete stop when he was becoming fatigued, he listened to me and reduced his speed as needed but always made to sure to raise it back to 4.0 when he was ready.  It is obvious he struggles with cardiovascular oxidation, but that is okay, because we will continue to work on this.  Tomorrow, I will have him do the same exact exercise regimen, if we attend the gym (which is in the plans).  I figured he may get winded a bit because he is not used to walking that pace, he does a good job with staying hydrated during the workout session, unlike myself. oops. He turned in his paperwork for the week, that keeps track of his eating habits, steps, and sleep. I will be sure to look over all of those this weekend, he asked me when he could weigh himself and I informed him Oct. 9th would be his first weigh-in. Hopefully  he will see results, small or big, and if not, we can go over the why & how. 
Goal: Cardio, Cardio, Cardio. Work on his endurance, cardiovascular oxidation, breathing, and get him to push himself when he gets “tired”. 
Your fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xoxo
P.S I may not get to anyone’s comments from today or tomorrow because I am having to work all day today, so bare with me, and I will make sure to reply back as soon as I get a chance. Thank you.
Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

6 thoughts on “Personal training: helping a friend day four”

  1. I know you are learning, but part of you getting experience is teaching. Even if the lesson is that he learns how much he needs a trainer. So maybe one day let him set everything up and be in total control. Another day he goes by himself and let’s you know what he did. I know he is already your friend but if he can do on his own without fear of judgement(doing incorrect). Every now and then our clients need to know we have confidence in them. It had to see that confidence when we are constantly telling what to do and not do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Russell,
      While I do agree with what you are saying about teaching and giving him an opportunity to do things on his own, knowing my friend, and his back story, and his mindset, I am not prepared to allow him to take over his own workout, not anytime soon without my direction. I have allowed him to go off on his own with the given workout I give him, but to trust that he is actually doing it without my overseeing, eh..
      Today, he may have to go without me because of circumstances, and I plan on sending him his workout as usual, and I hope he does it and doesn’t slack because I am not there (which is bound to happen). Also, he isn’t willing to learn about anything, he just wants results for now , and that is okay with me, because honestly.. I just want to this to be about results so I can tweak what works and what doesn’t. He isn’t the type of client, where I can teach him much of anything and expect him to continue down this path. I know him very well, and if anything changes, then I will give him more freedoms with the workouts. He once had a personal trainer, I cannot disclose the background as to why the personal trainer quit on him, as that would ruin our friendship, but based on that information alone.. I don’t plan on giving him much freedoms with workouts, etc. Maybe down the road, but not anytime soon. Thank you for the heads up thought, appreciate it. Sorry this story can’t be detailed information. If this was someone else, I would more than likely follow your advice, but it is someone I know and know very well.. and this isn’t typical.

      Like

    1. Hello, hello!
      Thank you very much! her blog party was a blast, I couldn’t stay for long, but thank you for visiting my blog page!
      Good luck on your fitness journey, you are always welcome back, everyone starts somewhere.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry I sometimes have to shut off instructor mode. Which is an actually setting on blackboard. I never forgot when my former boss told me that personal trainer worry about trying to fix every little thing. However we actually suck at actually fixing things. She meant it the context the we have to let certain slide to move on. However just applying that logic it turn into a valuable lesson. In a nutshell it means with have to give up some of our power as personal trainers. Of course not right away that would be bad. However the longer we control every single things the worst things get. The plan should be to give it in little chunks from the start. Maybe ask if he wants to use the treadmill or bike. Just occasionally. It can be something that simple and you don’t have to move on for weeks or month past just that. Then you can sort of judge the next step.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

