Fresh or Frozen Veggies

veggies

How do you prefer to buy your veggies, fresh or frozen & why?

 

I typically purchase them frozen because they tend to last longer than fresh and sometimes they are cheaper & since I live on a college student budget, the price matters to me; I like more bang for my buck.  If you haven’t read my blog on grocery shopping 101, please take a look at it: https://fitness9555.wordpress.com/2016/05/19/grocery-shopping-101/ definitely worth your while & will save you time and money. 

I do like fresh vegetables, and will splurge on them for peppers, onions, tomatoes, etc. Not all my veggies are bought frozen (mostly just the broccoli, green beans, artichokes) stuff like that. This isn’t a blog post about whether one is better than the other, I figure the only thing that matters is how they are cooked and if you are getting the full nutrients. Although here are some things to keep in mind when purchasing vegetables whether fresh or frozen:

  • If buying frozen, check the sodium content, sometimes frozen vegetables if mixed in pre-made sauce or have other seasonings will have more sodium content. ( I buy the plain veggies with nothing added and add my own seasonings when I cook them)
  • when purchasing fresh veggies, make sure to have knowledge around when they are ripe, when they are no good (spoiled) and sometimes the prices change during certain seasons. 
  • Fresh veggies tend to hold in the flavors more, especially peppers and what not. 
  • cook them in a way to not lose all the nutrients.
  • you can eat most veggies raw, chances are you won’t want to eat frozen veggies raw.
  • Fresh veggies can be good for some “fur babies” (pets)
  • Both taste good- bias opinion
Everyone is welcome to share vegetable recipes on this post as well as let us know what your favorite veggies are! Thanks for reading, feel free to comment, like, share.
Your fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xoxo
35 thoughts on “Fresh or Frozen Veggies

  1. We only eat fresh vegetables cos we get plenty of them quite cheap in Kenya and I have to admit they taste a lot better fresh then frozen. It’s actually more expensive to get frozen ones here

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yeah? That is awesome! I would love to be there to get fresh veg, the prices range, not all fresh is more expensive but sometimes it is when you want to conserve it and it goes bad faster.
      I like the taste of fresh as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I guess it depends on the seasons too for you guys cos certain veggies are probably more expensive because they’re imported or not in season. We usually get everything all year around here which is a huge perk of living in Africa 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Yeah we literally never worry about food here which is pretty awesome. I was born and raised in Kenya as were my parents and grandparents. I’ve been to some other African countries too but the first time we left Kenya and went to Uganda I got malaria which was scary! No I have never been to the US but two of my best friends just came there for university. Have you ever been to Africa? And do you ever plan to come here? I could totally be your tour guide if you decide to come! 😝

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my! Malaria is scary, I have heard of that before. It is not a fun virus to have. I know many people from other countries who come to the states to attend college, that is awesome. Many of which get financial help because they are from other countries, and don’t necessarily have to find work here because of it sometimes. Do your best friends enjoy the states so far? It would be a huge culture shock, for sure. I know you want to go to Germany, but maybe coming to the states for college would be fun as well!

        I have never left the states before. I have traveled state to state but never been outside of the states. I have had aunts and uncle’s who have ventured into Africa and loved it. I would like to visit possibly to see the wildlife and get accustomed to a new culture, it would be very nice to have you as a tour guide, I am sure you would be an awesome guide.
        I always like to travel to new places but leaving the country is a HUGE deal, it is like a whole new world.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah malaria seriously sucks but once you take the medicine you get over it in a while. Yeah they are really loving America so far but they are surprised by how cold it is there compared to Kenya. The one in Chicago is afraid of turning into an ice block 😂. Yeah one of my friends got some financial aid cos he wasn’t well off and it’s really expensive to study in the US especially if you’re an international student.

        I actually can’t go to Germany for bachelors because they teach it in German but i was hoping to do my Masters there. Yeah i was looking into coming to the US cos it’ll be nice to be around friends but it’s really expensive so I don’t know if it’ll work out.

        Well if you want to see the wildlife you should come soon because most of the animals here are now endangered because of hunting. It’s really sad but the government is really not doing anything at all to stop it.

        Yup travelling is a huge deal but if you decide to come to Kenya you will just love it and you’ll forget you’re travelling cos it’ll feel like home! People here are very friendly and helpful. Plus you’ll think things here are so cheap compared to America cos everything is in shillings!

        Liked by 1 person

      • PoojaG,
        That made me laugh “turn into a ice block” haha. it is getting to be that time of season here in the states, where fall and winter bring forth the cooler air. I have never been to Chicago, but I have heard horror stories about their winters, so let them know it gets worse 😛 haha (unless they get lucky of course).

        Ahh, I had no idea, well that is interesting, but makes sense as to why they would teach it in Germany. That would be a fun learning experience, although probably fairly difficult for someone like myself who doesn’t speak fluent German.

        The wildlife is becoming endangered? :/ no way?! ugh, poachers? this sucks, I love wildlife (not bugs) but practically everything else. Do you get to venture into the plains, or savannahs much to see lions, cheetahs, etc? that would be a fun experience, I pictured myself as Eliza Thornberry (cartoon character who speaks to animals).

        The would “shillings” makes me laugh,when I say it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha lol I am definitely going to tell him it gets worse to freak him out a little. He keeps sending me messages saying “winter is coming” and “the North remembers” cos he knows I love Game of Thrones and I am totally jealous cos I have never seem the winter or fall!

        Yeah they are changing it in a few years though so that all the degrees are taught in English but until then I’ll have to wait. Yeah I speak some German but not fluently yet so I would have a difficult time with that too.

        Yup poaching is huge in Kenya. Well most of Africa actually. Like 100 elephant gets killed a day and no one seems to be doing anything about it. Yes we love going to animal parks and stuff and try to go at least once in a while. My favorite place to go is the giraffe park cos you can feed and play with the giraffes and they’re so sweet and friendly. Oh and the national park is awesome too cos you can pet a lot of the animals. And you literally see monkeys everywhere like on the street. Lol there is this adorable monkey who lives in our compound who occasionally steals our food and stares at us. He’s a little wild but sweet.

        Lol you’ll love the word shillings even more when you realize you can spend like 10000ksh and it’ll just be like less than 100 dollars!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Omg! he steals food and stares as you, I want him! he sounds like my kind of pet :P. Especially the stealing food part. I swear this Monkey at the zoo was playing hide & seek with me, and he was very entertained with my faces and whenever I smiled, he would, it was quite amazing actually.
        I am actually fairly shocked your government is not raising awareness of poaching, it is a cruel thing, especially with wildlife since they do play a HUGE part in our ecosystem.

        We have an African Safari here, well like 2 hours away from me, and I been to it once, and got to feed giraffes and zebras and some other wildlife from the inside of my car. It was an unique experience and the zebras were stuck up. 😛 LOL
        I will be rich in shillings, the first time I will be rich XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol yeah monkeys are really sweet and adorable but unfortunately we can’t really keep them inside the house cos they’re kind of wild. But they’re really playful when they know you won’t hurt them. This one usually comes and steals food once in a while which is really adorable and we don’t really mind.

        Our governments are very corrupt and the politicians get paid off to not interfere with the hunters. We as citizens are trying to stop the poaching but there is only so much we can do without the help of the government.

        Wow that’s really awesome! Hahaha I’ve never really fed a zebra before but it sounds fun!

        Hahaha yeah you’d literally be a millionaire here

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, that would be amazing though to have a monkey come visit. The fact you get to see the little dude, is just promising that things are always bad in the world. He would be a breathe of fresh air.
        A corrupt government sounds about right for ours too, I mean it isn’t maybe as corrupt as your own, but we have our issues, many issues.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah it’s really nice to see him. I really love animals since I have grown up around them and it really does bring positivity to see them around. We just have one monkey here but some places have a bunch of them who kind of just live in the compound and people feed which is awesome too. There are usually like 10 around where my aunt lives.

        Yeah I think these days most governments around the world are corrupt. I mean human greed really takes over people and sometimes people who are trying to do good don’t have enough support because they want to do what’s right not what’s profitable. That happens a lot here.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I was willing to bet you prefer fresh veggies as well, all your food always looks so delicious on your page:D

      I like the crunch you get from them, I try to not cook them much either, but sometimes it is hard to do depending on the recipe.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh very nice! why do you prefer frozen fruits for smoothies, I have noticed many people do this, does it make a difference in the smoothie?

      I buy canned beans as well (kidney, and black beans normally) low sodium normally as well for myself.

      Like

  2. I prefer fresh fruits and veggies, but I agree – if you’re on a budget, frozen is better. Canned fruits and veggies have had most of their nutrients boiled out of them from the canning process, so the frozen ones are still more nutritious, to my knowledge.

    Frozen fruits are excellent for smoothies, too! Love my smoothies…
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

