Wearing a Weight Vest

weight-vest

Okay so for beginners, this shouldn’t be too long of a blog post, I know how some of you yawn at all my post and yet still manage to come back for more, LOL, Only kidding. 

On a more serious note, have any of you considered wearing a weight vest while working out, or taking a run? Chances are a small number of people have actual done this and most of the time it isn’t something I would recommend in the first place unless you are a more advanced athlete or have a good fitness level where it will add to your skill and not hinder your progress. 

Some of you are probably thinking, “why is she writing about wearing a weight vest if the chances of people actually doing this is very minimal?” well to be honest with you, because I had the chance to wear one while running a 800m run, and I turned down my chance because I didn’t think I could possibly hold an extra 20 lb and run a 800m with a decent time. I don’t always feel the need to show off my skill level and when I do, I make sure to not look like a dumb ass in front of elite athletes, and/or everyday general population. Neither group needs to see me make a fool of myself in order to make myself seem “cool”. Nonetheless, I have been looking into getting myself one, not because I feel the need to make a valid point, but because it actually occur to me that I have gotten stronger since that time and have developed a much higher level of confidence than I had in the beginning. I like to challenge myself without going crazy over the top.

Back to my point, I wanted to do a brief post on how adding a weight vest to your workout has its positives, but like I said, don’t feel obligated in going out to buy one, there is more than one way to get a challenge from a workout; but for those of you who may be interested, this will be a fun post for you to read. 

  • Combined with resistance training, the potential for performance enhancement increases.
  • Good tool for variation
  • Takes cardio exercises to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL 
  • Weight vest should be used occasionally (not all the time) to prevent injury and overuse
  • You can choose how much weight is on your vest
  • Known to increase strength and endurance – previously said 
  • Said to have musculoskeletal benefits
  • Weight vest are not cheap items 
  • You need to be physically in shape before you consider going “rambo” LOL
  • Not something I would recommend for children (yes, people have asked) – seriously what child wants to add an extra 20 lb while running around with his/her friends… 
  • Some people have complained of back and shoulder problems after using a weight vest 
  • Joint pains are another popular injury while wearing a weight vest
I think it obvious that if you are wanting to purchase a weight vest to add to your workouts, you will want to know what exercises will benefit you using one, how often you should use it and what weight would be appropriate for you specifically until you are ready for something heavier. It is also recommended that you give considerations to the environment you plan on wearing it in and the length of time you plan to have it on. Would love to hear from those of you who wear weight vest during your exercises, what exercises you add it to? 
Your fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xoxo
Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

9 thoughts on “Wearing a Weight Vest”

    1. What type of exercises do you use your weight vest for? just a sample routine, I would be interested in knowing for myself 🙂
      I can only imagine how tough it would be, I mean watching other people use one when performing strength exercises, really amazes me sometimes.

      Like

      1. With the weighted vest, simple strength exercises like pull-ups, chin-ups, push-ups and tricep dips, step-ups, walking lunges and Bulgarian squats. For core, I would wear vest for pike holds, straddle holds and hanging crunches. Fun, but challenging. But, I admit the vest weighed 10lbs for most of those exercises. Have you heard of other exercises?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hey 10lbs is 10lbs, that still is extra weight on top of our already body weight, and god forbid you can’t lift your own body weight, an extra 10 would be a struggle, lol. That is the amount I was looking at, I am not ready to go Hulk Girl yet, LOL. Maybe in a few more months I can challenge myself a bit more.
        I have seen many people wear them for pull ups and chin ups on instagram, very popular videos besides lifting. I didn’t think about using them for lunges, I suppose that would be challenging.
        I haven’t necessarily heard of other exercises, only seen videos on insta and youtube where people use them for their running and for strength exercises in which you listed. You know what? I think single leg deadlifts would be harder with a weight vest too, they are already a bit of a challenge depending on the amount of weight you use and how well your balance is. The tricep dips are another good idea, that would be challenging with extra weight. Hmm, maybe even planks would be more difficult too, LOL. since you mentioned push ups, hey holding a plank for 2 min with a weight vest, that could make for a good core exercise.

        Like

Leave a Reply

