“child obesity”

Now this was a blog post from a long long long while ago that I did, but I am bringing back some older post on my blogs for people who failed to see them or because they are relevant. Hopefully no one finds this particular post offensive, but I want people to be aware that child obesity remains a problem.

Staying healthy isnt a crime-Fitness is a lifestyle choice

“Put an end to this before it puts an end to them”

child obesity

CDC child obesity

medicine.net childhood obesity

American heart association Child obesity

Kids health child obesity

So in case anyone wants to know why I am jumping to this topic, it’s because the other day while on facebook, I was talking with a “group” page that I have joined (not going to give out information to protect the people in it) but someone had decided to post a facebook “meme” with a picture of a girl no older than probably 12 eating an ice cream cone but she looked to be “overweight” & the picture asked “Do you consider this abuse” or something around that.   Now knowing myself this was the perfect topic for me, seeing as I am major in exercise science and I have this strong mindset on helping people in the fitness/health world.  Before I…

View original post 1,676 more words

13 thoughts on ““child obesity”

  1. Its not abuse if the parents and children do not know any better in their eyes. If they are not educated on the fact, how can they make better choices if they do not know what the better choices are? Ever heard of “you are a product of your environment?” Well, if the parents/family are unhealthy then the kids will more than likely be unhealthy. This continues on for generations…and becomes the norm.

    Another problem I like to discuss regarding obesity/health problems with food is, Why is it socially acceptable to eat foods that are bad for you? Examples: halloween – give the kids tons of candy; birthdays – feed people cakes, cupcakes and all other pastries; school/work related parties/luncheons – majority of food is baked, fried, or sweets; movies/sports games – popcorn, candy and large coke.

    Just about any quick, easy and fun type of event, party, get-together or special occasion is dominated by high sugar, fried, baked and fatty foods. Think about all the times children and adults get together for entertainment and fun…what type of foods are available?

    Why is socially acceptable and encouraging to do so?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have heard this, but it is not always true in every case, because my mom for example was not brought up knowing all about which food groups were better or worse, serving size and overeating but somehow she managed to know just enough that neither I nor my sibling had an issue with obesity.It wasn’t something she researched in her pass time or something that she grew up knowing but it was common sense. Common sense to know that you shouldnt allow your child to eat to the point of obesity, to stuff their faces with excessive amounts of food healthy or unhealthy. now she may be a rare case but in my opinion much of this is common sense n other parts are just taking it upon yourself to read up on it or ask questions. I get people are a product of their environment but there comes a time when common sense kicks in. The arguement of abuse can go either way in this situation since we do not know the child or parents , but the thought of allowing a child to reach an uncomfortable weight and watching them being put to death .. idk.. seems like anyone can qualify to know better. That is just my opinion, no arguement intended. Not to mention there are other families who are overweight n have kids who are inshape and healthy..not mention have good exercise and eating habits.. so that is something to think about as well. The real point of this post was to bring awareness to child obesity and get other people’s feedback and which you shared your thought, thank you. The other half of your question is not a one answer ordeal and to be honest.. I dont believe eating sugars and carbs are bad in the first place, I am more concerned about the amount someone consumes .. because I have always believed in moderation. Some may disagree and that is fine with me, this might not have answered your question the way you wanted me to, but it gets my point acrossed that eating sweets and carbs isnt so much the problem as it is the amount one consumes and having self control.

      Like

      • All of your points are very put together and understandable. To bring awareness to your post and statements let me ask and also pose,
        1) What is common sense? If it were common, why would the parents/children be obese with regards to choosing good/bad foods?
        2) Define moderation? Each person has his/her own opinions regarding what is moderate.

        I do not mean to undermine you or anything…just bringing awareness full circle and another point of view.

        P.S. Glad to see more posts about health. Very important issues that need to addressed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I don’t know if everyone has common sense, but I suppose I can only speak for my upbringing and I believe my mom used common sense becaiuse nothing else would explain her actions in making sure I didn’t get overweight. I personally think some people don’t care & to ask me why people don’t care, I wouldn’t know, because I am someone who cares about the matter.
        I don’t find any of your questions or perspectives offensive or wrong, always feel welcome to post whatever you like without worrying about me taking offense to it, because that is what I want, people to say how they feel and not be afraid to do so, even if they disagree with my thoughts/opinions.
        Moderation is different for everyone, I feel like to go into a HUGE explanation would take me a day and some hours, and I don’t have that kind of time.. lol. I will say that in my opinion, each of my clients has different goals, and different eating schedules, what I consider moderation depends on what their goals are and based on their lifestyle. I am sure everyone knows what moderation means, but not everyone knows how to use it. Many fitness and non fitness people have different definitions, you are correct and I can’t say anyone is all wrong or all right , because there are many variables. I for one, believe the “MyPlate” method is a good start for my general population. When we get to athletes, populations with certain conditions then things change .. but yeah, I am happy people talk about health issues too! definitely a positive thing.

        Shay-lon

        Like

    • I am happy it isn’t a common thing either where you reside. The XXL-portions are commercialized and popular because people want more for their money & because people sometimes do not care. I love food and I eat daily just like everyone else and tonight I plan on eating a whole box of my oreo cookies as I watch American Horror Story and I am not afraid to admit this, but I also don’t promote to people they should, and I don’t boast about it, nor do I feel like I am making a “good” decision but I know my consequences..
      Not to mention this isn’t something I do everyday .. not that it makes a difference but sometimes I am willing to take my consequences to enjoy something.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You definitely should. I’m doing the same when it comes to looking after my food. If I want to eat fries because it makes me happy, I think the effect of it making me happy cancels out the negative effect of eating junk food. As long as you don’t do this every day, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with it. Now, eating a whole box of oreo cookies while watching AHS sounds like a tight plan! I can already feel my happy hormones pumping away! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

