Sprains

sprains

Well finally after having time to make some new content, I thought I would start it off with an injury, something most people can relate to and would not like to happen to them. First of all, how many of you have had a sprain?! (Raise of hands) and how many of you knew how to handle your sprain? (Raise of hands), okay, okay! seems like we have a good number of people in the blogosphere who have been in this situation once or twice before. Personally I have never had a sprain (that I can remember) although you would think my chances would have been higher considering I was a track athlete and basketball player and they tend to get sprains fairly often but I suppose I got lucky (knock on wood). Today, I won’t go too in-depth about this injury because it isn’t hard to comprehend, but I want to make sure everyone is aware of this injury if it should happen to them. Also, feel free to share your stories in the comment section. 

Sprain: A stretching or tearing of ligaments (the fibrous tissue that connects joints and bones) 

Some of the more common types of sprains:

  1. Sprained ankle
  2. Sprained thumb
  3. Sprained wrist
  4. Sprained knee
Symptoms:
  • Pain
  • Swelling
  • Bruising
  • Limited ability to move the affected joint
  • At the time of injury, you may hear or feel a ‘pop’ in your joint
Risk Factors to consider:
  1. Poor conditioning
  2. Fatigue
  3. Improper warm-up
  4. Environmental conditions
  5. Poor equipment
Treatment:
  • Medications- some Ibuprofen or Tylenol may help with the pain for minor sprains
  • Apply ice as soon as possible to minimize swelling – in worse case scenarios the doctor may decide to use a splint or brace
  • Elevate the affected area
  • One may choose to use compression bandages (unless you notice more swelling, more pain, etc)
  • Rest- avoid activities that cause pain. 
Mild-moderate sprains are said to heal within 3-6 weeks, over the course you should be gradually using the area that is affected unless a doctor says differently. In any case, you should contact your doctor if pain, swelling, or other symptoms become a problem. 
Your fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xxx
8 thoughts on “Sprains

  1. So I’ve probably had a bunch of sprains because I was a little rough as a kid but my worst injury was probably when my classmates and I were playing basketball and a girl tried to hit the ball out of my hand really hard and my finger bent backwards. It was so insanely painful but luckily it went back in place and healed. Oh and one time I got hit in the face with a football (soccer ball) and that hurt quite a bit too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. See! basketball is one of the many sports where sprains happens, and I played all my life and kept from getting one, don;t know how! lol.
      That would scare me to see someone’s finger bend backwards, I would probably scream in horror. LOL.
      I get hit in the face quite a few times in sports, and since I wear glasses it would suck.. ugh

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah basketball is actually pretty dangerous but I do enjoy playing it a lot! A bent finger isn’t enough to scare me away from basketball
        Yeah everyone looked pretty terrified when they saw my finger and I was like in tears. Luckily I wasn’t wearing glasses when I got hit in the face but if I had been that would have really been horrible

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I love basketball. I haven’t played in years though, I don’t know if I am any good anymore. lol. Probably no Micheal Jordan these days, haha.

        Avoid being hit in face while wearing glasses, it is always bad news, always bad news. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah I haven’t played since my school got over so I’m probably no Michael Jordan either
        I think overall, speaking as someone who has got hit by sports equipment way too often, people should just avoid getting hit in the face

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It has been my experience that when one is exceptionally fit, one to four weeks is enough to resume activity.

    For cyclists, interesting enough, we don’t sprain ankles as easy as many. I’ve gone over some ankle crankers that should have landed me in a hospital and was able to catch myself without touching the ground. It’s quite amazing really. I just never thought about writing about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jim,
      The exceptionally fit are lucky then! lol. I hope I continue to live life without having to deal with sprains, although if I do, now I know how to handle it. I never would have guessed cyclist spraining ankles, not to say your athletes cannot, but definitely on more rare occasions compared to other sports or a random person walking down the street , lol.
      I don’t think people think about writing about half the topics I write about, which is why I do 🙂 I like being different and expanding on my niche when and if I can. Although you can always write about it from your point of view as well as a cyclist, wouldn’t hurt.

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

