Personal Training: Helping a friend day 32

helping-a-friend-day-32

Good day FitFam!

This isn’t necessarily “normal” of me to be blogging on a Friday because of course I work all day find Friday’s to be one of the busiest days of the weeks for me, but since I had some spare time, I decided I would share John’ & I’s workout today.  I will not be blogging Saturday & Sunday, because I make those days my time away from blogging unless I have an assignment due with an editor. Regardless, I hope all of you enjoy your Friday & weekend – Happy Veterans Day! to all our vets as well, I have had family who were in the service, and I am grateful for your service for our country. Thank you from me to you. 

John’s Workout:

Warmup:

  • Treadmill: 10 minutes, no incline, 3.5 speed
Workout session:
  • Treadmill: 20 minutes, 4.0 speed, no incline
  • Treadmill: 25 minutes, 3.5 speed, 2.0 incli
Ab workout:
  • Planks: 3 sets, 1:14 – I had him add a 5 pound weight plate to his back for the last set. He did very well.
Cool down:
  • Walk 2 laps around the gym
John hated his workout today because he forgot his earphones and couldnt listen to music while doing any of his workouts, I had a laugh the whole time because of his facial expressions when he seen me listening to music! lol. He got through everything fine though and managed without music, I seen it as an opportunity for him to talk to others around him. Although I would be pissed without music playing in my ears while working out, so I could imagine his frustrations. I decided to add weight to his plank in seeing if he could handle it and to add some extra challenge, but he did very well with it and I am proud of him, hoping next week, I can add some new workouts to his regimen, we shall see.  Tomorrow I am having him create his own workout (warmup, workouts, cool down), just to allow him to play around with it and he enjoys participating in creating his workouts. 
My Workout:
Warmup:
  • Treadmill: 15 minutes, 3.8 speed, 2.0 incline – I ran at 5.5 speed for 2 minutes at 2.0 incline as well.
Workout Session: (back/glutes/biceps)
  • Seated cable (wide-grip) row: 42.5lb, 3 X 10 – I used a double pulley which is why this number is lower than my normal row lift.
  • Incline bench dumbbell press: 15lb, 3 X 10
  • swing lunge: 3 X 10 per leg
  • Seated alternating dumbbell curl: 20lb, 3 X 10 per arm
  • Straight bar high pulley triceps extension: 40lb, 3 X 10
  • Squat into high side kick: 3 X 8 per leg
  • Planks: 3 sets, 1 minute. – I added a 10 pound weight plate on top of my back during the last set
Cool down:
  • I walked 2 laps around the gym with John
Overall my legs ache like hell and my upper body aches like hell, if you haven’t tried the swing lunges, those are no joke when you are getting into the groove of things, I felt them all the way through.  Next time I will try 20lb for the incline bench press, and I will try 25 for the alternating bicep curls. John and I ended up getting lunch after leaving the gym, Hope all of you have a wonderful weekend! Talk to you on Monday!
Your Fitness Blogger,
Shay-lon xxx
Leave a Reply

