Personal Training: Helping a Friend Day 34

helping-a-friend-day-34

FitFam Tuesday!

Happy TacoTuesday everyone! Hopefully all of you get the pleasure of eating some delicious Tacos and Mexican cuisine, I kind of cheated today and went to Chipotle for lunch, so I have leftovers for dinner. It was good, because I had not been there in over a year now, and I thought I missed it a little bit.. but actually it was just decent; left a smile on my face but not something I miss all that much after-all (coming from a Chipotle fanactic!!!) – I will try to remember to get ingredients for tacos sometime this week for next weeks TacoTuesday so I don’t have a  reason to buy them. In other news, today chest and back day for me, and I made some fun changes to John’s workout today as well; which took him by surprise and I will add another PR for him today, because he did fantastic! 

John’s workout:

Warmup:

-Dynamic stretches:

  • Walking lunges
  • Leg swings (10 reps each leg)
  • Inchworms
Workout Session:
Circuit #1:
  • Jumping jacks: 30 reps
  • Push up: 5 reps
  • Jumping jacks: 30 reps
  • Push up: 5 reps
He did well with this mini circuit, I had to make sure he was strong enough to do a standard push up and he was, he had good form and kept up, no complaint from him or I.
Circuit #2:
  • Crunch machine: 50Lb, 15 reps
  • Plank: 30 seconds
  • Crunch machine: 50Lb, 15 reps
  • Plank: 30 seconds
  • Crunch machine: 50Lb, 15 reps
  • Plank: 30 seconds
John did very well with this as well, of course, we had a 1 minute break between sets. I probably will consider upping the reps next time on the crunch machine. 
Circuit #3:
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, no incline, 5.5 speed (jogging)
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, no incline, 3.5 speed
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes: no incline, 5.5 speed (jogging)
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, no incline, 3.5 speed
He accomplished running with no problems, he said the first 5 minute jog was nothing, the second one he could feel it after 4 minutes, but he didn’t slow down, nor lose his pace no complain of aches. This was great news!
Core Exercise:
  • Planks: 3 sets, 1:14. I had him do the first set with 5 pounds, the second set with 10 pounds and then the last set with 15 pounds. Last week he was able to just do 5 pounds, now he has PR’d at 15 pounds of added weight to his planks. Which is GREAT news! I was very proud of him again today, he is showing progress these last couple of days and I am hoping it continues. 
Cool down:
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, 2.5 speed, no incline
My Workout:
Warmup:
  • Treadmill: 4 minutes, 3.6 speed, 5.0 incline. 
  • treadmill: 2 minutes, 5.5 speed, 5.0 incline
  • Treadmill: 2 minutes, 3.6 speed, 5.0 incline
  • Treadmill: 2 minutes, 5.5 speed, 5.0 incline
  • Treadmill: 2 minutes, 3.6 speed, 5.0 incline
Dynamic stretches: I did the same ones John did along with him when he shown up for his workout.
Workout Session:
  • Incline bench dumbbell press: 20Lb, 4 X 10
Superset:
  • Incline dumbbell flye: 15Lb, 4 X 10
  • Reverse grip low pulley straight bar bentover row: 50Lb, 4 X 10
  • Wide grip lat pulldown: 85Lb, 4 X 10
  • machine hyperextension: 45Lb, 4 X 10
The superset was a struggle but not too bad. I had never done the machine hyperextension, I started with a 25Lb weight plate to make sure I had the form and technique down and moved on to a 45Lb weight plate after realizing the 25 was easy. I definitely felt this workout. My lat pulldown PR’d is 120lb but I do about 85 with 10 reps and 100Lb with about 6-8. I need to work on my dumbbell flyes because I haven’t done them, so it was weird at first but I will work on it. The bentover row, I could do 60Lb, because 50Lb wasn’t hard at all. 
Circuit #1:
  • Jumping jacks: 30 reps
  • Push up: 5 reps
  • Jumping jacks: 30 reps
  • Push up: 5 reps
Circuit #2:
  • Crunch machine: 70Lb, 15 reps
  • Plank: 30 seconds
  • Crunch machine: 70Lb, 15 reps
  • Plank: 30 seconds
  • Crunch machine: 70Lb, 15 reps
  • Plank: 30 seconds
Circuit #3:
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, 5.5 speed, no incline
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, 3.5 speed, no incline
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, 5.5 speed, no incline
  • Treadmill: 5 minutes, 3.5 speed, no incline 
Core Exercise:
  • Planks: 3 sets, 1:00 each. I PR’d by adding 25Lb weight plate for each of my sets. Last week I was only able to do 10 pounds, now I am at 25Lb for my plank. I am hoping I will be able to handle 45Lb within the next month or two. 
Cool down:
I did the same cool down as John.
I wanted to make mention I forgot to do video footage of myself today for the “Topic Tuesday” youtube video, so tomorrow I will do it, and hopefully remember this time! Sorry about the delay. I may include my friend in the video as well, not sure yet; but it show me doing one the above exercises, so be on the lookout! Also, I have been asked to be a guest post on someone’s blog, so I will be doing that as well and keep everyone informed when it is published! 
 
Remember to share your workouts from today with me in the comment section!
Your Fitness blogger,
Shay-lon xxx
6 thoughts on “Personal Training: Helping a Friend Day 34

      1. Wow, 5 planks? I thought 3 was hard work. Although today I really pushed myself through them! Don’t the holds always seem like forever!? haha. Time goes by slowly when I do planks.

        I need to work my core constantly too! core is very important in everyday life activities.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey now! lol
      This is the workout I do when I feel like wonder woman! hahaa. – not many days like this.
      Debatable post are fun, i love reading everyone’s views as long as no one goes super psycho and comments something rude. lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

