Personal Training: Helping a Friend Day 35

helping-a-friend-day-35

FitFam! 

Happy Wednesday! Glad all of you could join me for another day of my blogging about our workout today. Today was a bit different than the usual, actually a lot different for John since he normally does not do any of these exercises when I assign him workouts (for good reason) but we will be starting resistance training workouts soon.  Yesterday I had asked another gym-goes whom I have worked out with once before if I could join her for today’s workout since I had nothing planned for myself and it would save me some time and give John a break from cardio a bit – something new and fun.  It was her leg day (I know, luck me right) lol & she is good for making the workout so you really feel those gains – I would know because I was aching for 2-3 days after the upper body workout we did, but my back is looking good; so worth it. Therefore, I decided to have John workout with us as well:

John’s Workout:

Warmup:

  • No proper warm up, but he did walk on the treadmill for a little while, waiting for her to show. 

Workout Session:

Air squats (pyramid):

  • 1 X 12
  • 1 X 15
  • 1 X 20
  • 1 X 25
and all the way back up to 12 reps.  He said he could feel the burn with these, which was awesome, I demonstrated the movement for him and made sure to watch his form/ which was actually fairly well for a first timer. I had to remind him to get low, but I realize his hip flexors could be tight or core, so I didn’t enforce it too much – something we will work on because I have always had tight hip flexors & it sucks to do squats when you do. He was sweating afterwards.
Sumo Squat (barbell)/ smith machine:
  • 1 X 12, 35LB
  • 1 X 10, 55LB
  • 1 X 6, 65LB
  • 1 X 3, 70LB
The sumo squat was a bit harder for him to do, I wanted him to just try it out and let me know what he thought, he has a weak core ( which I can tell) but something we are learning to work on and it helps to know this because then I can aim goals at strengthening it and making his weaknesses into improvements.  I gave him a few pointers and stood behind him guiding him through the range of motion during his squat, so it helped a bit, but not enough for me to allow him to do them on his own yet and something we will work on when we cross that bridge.
Superset:
  • Leg extensions (machine): 4 X 8, he did the first 3 sets at 50LB and the last set at 70LB. 
  • Weighted walking lunges: 4 X 10, he did one set with 10LB dumbbell, one set with no weights, and one 2 sets with 5LB dumbbell. 
I will say that he has poor form when it comes to lunges and many people do, especially if you have suffered injuries, or have a weak core or not great stability. He does better with no weights vs weights and he does better with 5LB dumbbells versus 10LB dumbbells. This was giving me an opportunity to see where his weakness was in his lunge. Of course there are other functional exercises I can have him do in place of lunges when necessary but I want him to work on this. Posture during a lunge is very important, I will be the first to say I never had “great” lunge posture for the longest time, and it was always difficult for me to do lunges- I dreaded them. The leg extensions he did well on, he doubted himself, saying “he couldn’t do 70LB” but when he least expected it, he pulled through. 
  • Cable kickbacks: 4 X 10, he did 5LB for the first two sets and 10LB for the last 2 sets
  • Goblet squats (using the cable): 3 X 6, he did 1 set at 10LB and the last 2 sets at 30LB. 
The cable kickbacks were awkward for him using his right leg, because he is left handed, but something we can improve on and he hasn’t quite mastered them, but it was all new to him and new to me as well. The Goblet squats he didn’t struggle with, he did well with those for the most part. 
Overall, I realize he isn’t ready for strength workouts yet, but I wanted to give him something different to experience. We shall be starting resistance training within the next month or so.. depending on his progress. I wasn’t upset with anything he did because he was learning and participating and didn’t give up and that matters to me most! I love that he didn’t allow these workouts to intimidate him but did what he could – this is always a positive site for any trainer. Tomorrow it will be back to the stuff I create for him. 
My Workout:
Warmup:
  • I was on the treadmill for about 5-8 minutes doing 3.5 speed
Workout Session:
Sumo Deadlift (barbell)/ Pyramid: 
  • 1 X 12, 65LB
  • 1 X 12, 105LB
  • 1 X 8, 135LB
  • 1 X 5, 155LB
My highest deadlift has been 170-175, but I have never done sumo deadlifts before so it was a bit awkward for me at first and I didn’t do a perfect job, so this is an exercise I will pay more attention to and work on, because I want to better myself in it. 
Sumo Squat (Pyramid) (barbell/smith machine): 
  • 1 X 12, 35LB
  • 1 X 10, 55LB
  • 1 X 6, 65LB
  • 1 X 5, 70LB
I have never done a sumo squat either, again another awkward exercise for me, but I did what I could, I definitely realized I couldn’t get as low on a sumo squat compared to my normal back squat.  Which kind of bothered me, but I wasn’t too worried about it. My hips were tight as hell today per usual. The girl we did the workout with, did a great job with these workouts, she introduced them to us – I am thankful for that. 
Superset:
  • Leg extension machine: 4 X 8, 70LB
  • Weighted Walking Lunges: 4 X 10, 10LB

The superset wasn’t bad, I felt the burn during the lunges, because honestly we probably did 20 lunges per set since we went both ways down the aisle of the gym

  • Cable kickbacks: 4 X 10, 2 sets at 10LB and 2 sets at 5LB 
  • Goblet cable squat: 3 X 6, 1 set at 10 pounds and the last 2 at 30 pounds. 
I liked the Goblet cable squat (never have done it) and it was a good workout, definitely could feel it my legs.  The cable kickbacks were awkward for me using my left leg. It was something to get used to but no complaints because it was a good exercise to implement into my workout routine. Overall I enjoyed today’s leg day, it gave me new ideas and good laughs.  Feel free to share your workouts in the comment section.
Your Fitness Blogger,
Shay-lon xxx
11 thoughts on “Personal Training: Helping a Friend Day 35

Leave a Reply

