Chances are you aren’t really living ..

Every once in a GREAT while, I get in one of these inspirational moods and bore you with my positive outlook and story… thoughts.. fears.. momentary comedy.. and toward the end everything ends with .. bullshit I could have said in the beginning but decided to make you read til the end to find out the point. This is another one of those post. ๐Ÿ˜€

ย 

You see, we run into this thing called chance, the possibility of something happening but we never know what. We are always taking chances, at least most of us are, and when our chances run out, well.. that normally means we have met our maker or we have run into a dead end, and it is time to re-evaluate how we spend what time we have left. How do you spend today, if you don’t know what tomorrow will be like? Odds are you will continue to.. what is that word? Live?

People use the word “live” a lot, it almost sounds like a catchy answer until I become a nuisance and ask you “how do you really know you are living, spending everyday alive, when you aren’t taking chances, and you are afraid to make mistakes”? then you get that grumpy answer: “Well I am still breathing, aren’t I?” – nothing seems to make sense anymore.. when people say that.ย 

Many of you are probably wondering what this has to do with “Fitness/health”, but if you pay attention, this whole thing will add up to another post in the future & in all honesty this whole post has to do with life – and fitness & health is a lifestyle, right? so calm down and don’t worry about me getting off the beaten path..ย 

ย 

This whole year of 2016, I took some pretty huge chances, I made some really fucked up mistakes and I probably lived more than I have in many years. Actually.. I haven’t lived enough and I want more of out life – but that is because I constantly await for something to happen in my life, I patiently wait to make another mistake, to fuck up, to laugh louder and harder, to cry more, to smile often, and store what is left of the memories in my phone, laptop or brain. ย I suggest all of you wait too, no use in running after something that will greet you at the door in due time. I am not really good with words, so excuse me if this starts to sound like gibberish, I don’t mean to make you fall asleep, I just don’t use really big words when I speak to keep people’s attention – I much prefer to speak like a child (repeating what I say often using different sentences but the same small words) luckily for all of you, I am a “big kid”, so no need for a babysitter.ย 

ย 

It’s shame we have all been trying to fit in all this time, trying to create this white picket fence where we greet our neighbors every morning, say hi to Lucy and Tom next door, and go to work to come home and do it all over again. We stopped taking chances, sometime ago, when we realized that Lucy and Tom were shot walking down the street to get coffee, our dog was hit by a train and our children lost their first sports event of the year & we got laid off from our million dollar job! Oh.. we were living.. day in and day out, doing the same shit, greeting the same neighbors, attending the same games, and working the same hours, laughing at the same black and white TV shows. I remember when people were “living”, living in bliss and living in fortune. Some might agree that back then compared to now has significantly changed (and I don’t mean the weather) – I mean everybody who is somebody can’t even stand to walk anymore without fear. We don’t take the same chances anymore. I hear people say “nothing is going to stop me from living” but they are the same ones driving to the corner store up one block and complaining about how they wished they could save on gas, but don’t dare walk in fear they could be mugged.. – so what was that whole nothing can stop me from living again? lol.ย 

ย 

We stopped living when things happened next door to us, when people we know lost their lives, when we decided that it was much safer in our homes, when we watched the news and wanted nothing to do with the outside world, and when pain and sorrow came knocking at our doors – we gave up our lives, we surrendered them to those that challenged it. We don’t attend the same kind of parties anymore, we don’t associate with the same kind of people anymore, we don’t offer sugar to our neighbors, we don’t eat candy from Halloween, we don’t drive the same way to work – call it being cautious if you want to, but being cautious is what kept people from living (for better or for worse, that is up to you)

It isn’t only you that isn’t living, hell I am not living, I am being more and more stuck in this zone of “safety” where it scares me to almost say my name to strangers, not knowing their intentions. Making new friends and dating never seemed anymore scary than these days – online and offline. Truth is, we don’t take the same chances we once have, and it doesn’t mean we failed, or that we are scared shitless, just means we developed a sense of wanting to stay alive, wanting to protect, wanting to be more aware of what could happen.ย 

ย 

I personally believe that “living” is what you make it, but what if you don’t live long enough to make something of life? What if your tragic end comes in the next couple of hours? Does it mean you didn’t live life, or does it mean you lived it until you had nothing to live for?ย 

ย 

Something tells me you are going to think I am crazy for creating this post, I hope it wasn’t too deep for any of you. I hope it didn’t scare any of you, I hope I get some good feedback , and all of you decide to share your thoughts, I hope you share my post with your audience and get them talking about it, I hope I have inspired you to take chances.. more often.. and I hope I opened your mind to life.. to what we know but do not always notice.ย 

ย 

This is how I will end this post: “if by taking chances means we die quicker, then I guess that means we need to make haste, because who wants to die a slow death” – Shay-lon Moss

ย 

Thank you for reading.ย 

ย 

Shay-lon Moss xxxx

ย 
40 thoughts on “Chances are you aren’t really living ..

      1. I agree, you should live your life to the fullest. You have to take chances in life or you will never move forward, or learn from your mistakes. Yes, we all have to die eventually, so the fear of death or tragedy happening can’t stop you from exploring and living life. It’s all about using common sense when it comes to the safety aspect. You sent a wonderful message. ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for sharing this, I appreciate it. I love hearing my readers thoughts, and this was truly a positive way of explaining your thoughts. I would agree with the use of common sense, some do not seem to use their’s very often, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, I think I live life. When I was a teenager, I lived a little more than I wanted๐Ÿ˜„ But now that I’m an adult with children, I live as much as my income will afford and my common sense will take me. I can’t have too much fun because I have my Husband and children to go home to. So now I simply take chances where I find necessary and do things I enjoy. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hahhaha! we all lived a bit too much as teens! Lmfao! the things we did.
        It is funny that you say “as much as my income will afford and common sense will take me”, clearly you think things through because of having a family now. That is brilliant, because you don’t hinder yourself, you change how you manage your life in order to be safe.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Loved this post! I just finished reading “On The Road” which talks about very similar things to this post and I was in a super deep mood too which is probably why I enjoyed this so much. That and your writing of course! Anyway the book made me wonder if I was really living because after reading everything this man did in his life mine felt dull in comparison. I have been trying to do more things I want to these days but I want to do even more next year like finally start writing the book I’ve been meaning to for like 10 years now!
    I agree that not everyone lives life and it is important that you do everything you want. That way you’ll never regret all the things you didn’t do. In the end our life is all we have. Even if you die young at least you will have lived.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad that you responded about this post, I was nervous to even begin writing about it, and it came to me very late at night (which is when I had originally written it) – I didn’t know if anything I said would be all gibberish or if someone would understand or even care to read through it all.
      What kind of book do you want to write? Also, I have been wanting to write one as well, many people on WordPress seem to have written books, which I think is really awesome.
      I would love to hear your perspective of the questions toward the bottom of my post – if you have any perspective at all. I have not heard of that book, but it seems this post came at a good time for you! lol.
      I hear all the time people want to live more, or have more they want to do, but when do people do it? normally never or later, why wait… why not start everything you want to do now? Well for me, because things cost money and not everything I want to do is possible to do if I don’t have the lifestyle to afford it, not to mention, some things I want to do aren’t things that would bother me either way, then the things I do want to do I always put off – lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah it’s always scary writing your thoughts because a lot of people might now understand them from your perspective or might disagree but I’m glad you wrote it anyway because it gave me a lot to think about.
        I had always planned on writing a fiction novel but now that I’ve finished reading “On The Road” I think I might want to write non-fiction like maybe just my own story. Not exactly like an autobiography but similar. Yeah a lot of people on WordPress seem to have published books which is very cool and I would love to publish my own someday. What do you want to write about? Have you got any ideas so far?
        Well like you I don’t exactly have the capital to do some of the things I’ve always wanted to do but I someday hope to still have the chance to travel the world even if I can’t afford to right now. I used to put stuff off a lot too and I still have the tendency to do that sometimes but these days I am making a conscious effort to stop doing that.
        I think no matter how much you live- whether you die at 20 or 100- it is important to make everyday count because you never know what’s going to happen tomorrow. I would rather die when I have nothing to live for then die when not having truly lived.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, I hear many people going the non-fiction route these days (non-fiction means true story right?) and I think that is because it is easier and possibly sells more? maybe? I am not sure, something for me to look into. It would more like a memoir? Are autobiographies good sellers? I have never read one before. is there a difference between a memoir and autobiography, I don’t know these things & since you read more, I thought you would know. Do you want to write it as an Ebook or print publication?
        I think I want my first book to be based off my blog post (with a some changes of course) the downside to it, is people have read my post, but I want the book to stem from them but not necessary be the same exacr thing. Now that you mentioned a non-fiction about one’s self, I think that would be another good idea; I like it. I would need to figure out how to go about it though – something else for me to research and ask questions about.
        Also, I appreciate your sharing your thoughts about living.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah I think non-fiction tends to be easier to write because it’s pretty much just factual. Also I think people like reading about other people’s life because most authors non-fiction books tend to be more popular than fiction. I tend to read non-fiction more these days because I just find it fascinating I’m not sure why. Yeah autobiographies and memoirs tend to be similar but are two different types of books. I prefer a print publication because in general I’m not a big fan of Ebooks not that there’s anything wrong with them just that I don’t like reading stuff online. I have however heard it’s easier to publish Ebooks than printed so I don’t know I think I’ll have to look into that too.
        Well yeah you can base it on your posts but change some things. Actually a few people have told me I should publish my poetry too which is also an interesting idea I’m thinking about too. My idea for my non-fiction book is not to write about my entire life but just the next year because I will be doing a lot of new things next year so maybe you can do something like that and only write about the things or parts in your life you want to write about.
        You can ask me more questions any time you like cos I’ve been thinking about this pretty much since I was a little kid so obviously I’ve done quite a bit of research which would probably be helpful to you as well. You can even email me if you ever want to talk or ask about anything ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. What is the difference between memoir and autobiography? is one better than the other?
        You should publish your poetry, especially if you admire your own work, why not! I think it would be at least a positive step in the door of publishing. Also, I am not a fan of Ebooks either, I guess because my eyesight is horrible and looking at a screen for long periods of time takes away my focus and strains my eyes sometimes. I suppose that is a good idea, instead of telling your whole life, do certain aspects, that wouldn’t be too difficult and that way people don’t need to know your WHOLE business.

        Do you think Ebooks or printed copies sell better? realistically? and Ebooks are typically cheaper right?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’m my opinion the biggest difference between a memoir and an autobiography is that memiors only have part of the persons story. Like it’s only the interesting parts where as autobiographies tend to be longer and more detailed which some people like I guess but I would personally prefer to only write the interesting stuff. I genuinely don’t think my poetry is good enough to be published yet but maybe soon I’ll come up with some that I will want to publish.
        Yeah Ebooks strain my eyes too which is a little annoying. I think in this day and age realistically it’s probably a good idea to start out with an Ebook cos they’re free to publish where as a printed copy would be more expensive but if you have the capital I would say go for a printed one because i think they sell better and you make a larger profit

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re not crazy at all! Most people go through life never taking any chances or truly enjoying life, they’re just existing. We have make mistakes in order to grow. I agree with everything you said in this post and I’m wishing you the best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

