My Gym Workout – Dec. 27th

Heyy Fitfam,

Today’s workout is short but it was very heavy and very leg day, lol. I would have to admit, I made it short on purpose, knowing that it would still benefit me because of the type of lifts I was doing and the load. Looking at the workout at first glance, it will seem very simple and not much to it, but after actually doing the workout, it takes longer than you think and definitely fatigues you. Of course many of you are stronger than myself, so I could only imagine how you would feel at the end of this workout.

 

Warm up:

 
  • Treadmill: 10 minutes, 2.0 incline, 3.8 speed

Workout Session: 

  • Smith Machine Squat: 5 x 15, 12, 10, 8, 6.  1 x 35lb, 1 x 65lb, 1 x 75lb, 1 x 85lb, 1 x 115lb
  • Smith machine stiff-leg deadlift: 4 x 12, 10, 8, 8.  1 x 105lb, 1 x 125lb, 1 x 135lb, 1 x 155lb

Circuit Training: 3 rounds, 30 second breaks after each round. 

  • Reverse lunge: 15 reps per leg
  • Switch lunge: 15 reps per leg
  • Burpees: 15 reps

Air Squats: 110 reps 

 

I need to load more on my squats to overload a bit and my deadlift is lower than my max, but still was good enough for me for the amount of sets/reps I was doing. I want to definitely keep working on both of those movements. During the circuit, I won’t lie, by the 2nd round, I was taking 45 second breaks because those switch lunges killed my legs so good, I didn’t know if I would make it. It had been a VERY long time since did those and let me tell you, those are no joke if you are doing them in continuous movement. I definitely should do more circuit training because I don’t mind them at all and they can add some much needed cardio in my workouts without the redundant running or walking. As Always the air squats for the squat challenge, 110 reps didn’t seem so bad, until I hit 80 reps and realized I needed 30 more and my legs were sore as hell. I still need work in some areas but nothing was horrible during this workout. 

 

I snapped some selfies of me at the gym today and posted them on Instagram, If anyone is interested in seeing my progress pictures, and wanting to see how far along I am, I will post my instagram at the bottom. 

 

Also, I did make a YouTube video for today, so I will post that to the blog as well and my social media. 

 
 

Your Fitness blogger,

 

Shay-lon xxxx

Leave a Reply

