Tips: exercising in cold environments.

FitFam Friday! 

So I figured since we are still in the winter months (in most places) that I would give you guys some tips when it comes to exercising in the cold weather months. Now these tips are for those of you who intend to be outside when getting your sweat on. Personally, I have never been one to enjoy exercising outside when it is cold – mainly because I have bad blood circulation in my fingers and toes and because I don’t like winter months, so I hit up the gym instead. For those of you currently workout outside during the colder months or those who would like to give it try, I hope this list comes handy to you. Keep in mind that “cold injuries” could occur, so safety is a must. 

 
 
  • Typically one should wear 3 layers of clothing pending the assessment of weather: inner layer, middle layer and outer layer. 
  • Wear clothing that minimizes sweating
  • Avoid an outer layer of clothing unless it is rainy or very windy
  • Reduce clothing insulation as exercise intensity increases 
  • For trainers: don’t impose a single clothing standard on an entire group of exercisers
  • Wear appropriate footwear to avoid slips and falls. 

Medical conditions that could occur in cold environments:

  • Hypothermia: when heat loss exceeds heart production (factors: immersion, rain, wet clothing, low body fat, older age, and some health conditions) 
  • Frostbite: Tissue temperatures fall lower than 0 degrees C / “contact” frostbite can occur from touching cold objects with bare skin that causes rapid heat loss. 

Cold weather is not a barrier in performing physical activity, however it is very important to dress appropriately and know the signs/symptoms of cold injuries. Thank you for reading. 

 

Please take a moment and let me know if you exercise in cold weather, have you ever had the above cold injuries, and how you minimize your chances of injury.  Also, feel free to mention what type of exercises you take part in your cold environment (this includes if you play any winter sports).

 

Your Fitness Blogger,

Shay-lon xxxx

15 thoughts on “Tips: exercising in cold environments.

  1. I am with you with indoor workouts during the colder months! But as we approach the expected snowfall tonight my husband will be gearing up for a run. I’ll be waiting his return with some hot tea for him, haha. Great tips!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. He’s walking out the door now to run in the six inches we already got and the snow is still falling. He wanted me to accompany him on his six miles but I declined, haha. I’ll join him again for runs in the spring! Plus I am so clumsy I’d be slipping and sliding on the powdered snow and ice lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow! That is awesome that he is willing to do that, many people like myself are more of a drive to the gym and participate in indoor activities.
        You should have said yes and went along Rachael, lol I am disappointed in you!!! lmao!! there is still time to catch up to him now and write about the experience! LOL no excuses, remember!

        Shay-lon

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Do cold injuries include sticking your tongue to something metal?

    I have biked in temps down to -5 C and run in temps as cold as -10C. I prefer 15-20C for both. Don’t get me started on swimming in the Yellowknife pool that always seemed to be ice cold even in the winter.

    I give two thumbs up to your tips and I would add that, from what other trainers have told me, when exercising outside to expect your body to warm up by 10C. So if it’s 0C and you’re running, it will soon be like 10C and it’s important to account for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that reminded me of a movie I had watched over Christmas break, anyways. They would be a cold injury — never had it happen thankfully.
      Oh you swim in colder waters too? wow, I was going to mention some more information swimming in colder climates, but figured, not many probably do, so didn’t want overload anyone’s brain. lmao.
      Yes, that last tip is true as well, thank you for adding that in so others will keep it in mind as well. I am happy you approve of my post 🙂

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t intentionally swim in cold water. The water in the Yellowknife pool was always chilly but it was the only pool in town. When racing, if the water temp is less than 20c we get to wear wetsuits which kind of gives it a real crime fighter vibe.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve run in some pretty frigid temps. I did the Hypothermic Half Marathon in Montreal the past two years and both times it just happened to be the coldest day of the year. But if the footing is treacherous or visibility is low then I don’t risk it. I think the hardest part is getting out the door; once you get moving you realize it’s not so bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! yes, I bet Canada has its days. I have never heard of that half marathon before, but I don’t think I want to experience it, so I will let you do all that! lol. Will you be doing that race again this year? Why don’t you risk it?, lol nothing should be stopping you! xD

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

