Gym Workout – Jan. 26th

Gym, Sport, Fit, Fitness, Bless You

Hey FitFam, 

I woke up later than usual today due to a phone conversation last night that seemed to last longer than I would have expected but it was well worth it until I woke up and realized how tired I still was – ugh. I swear I looked at my alarm clock (yes I use an alarm clock and not my phone because I am still somewhat in the 90’s lol) and realized is it really after 10am .. do I need to go to the gym today; then realized I had promised someone I would post a video of me doing my squat challenge today since I am feeling much better in the female department — next time I will not make any promises so I can sleep in instead, lol. jk. 

 

Oh and let’s not forget, there is this certain blogger who keeps reminding me about having to do pull -ups, I won’t speak his name or anything because I don’t want all of my blog followers to bring torches to his page, but yeah he is also the reason for my going to the gym today. LOL  but seriously.. I am glad he reminds me, because we have this small challenge going on and it has helped me develop my pull ups 🙂 

 

On to the good stuff, but WAIT! Yes, I did have a YouTube video for today and will post the link and what not in the next blog post for all the world to see, please subscribe to my YouTube channel, I love feedback and positive vibes or criticisms. I have a fun announcement to make in my next blog post as well, which hopefully will get people excited with me! be on the lookout for that! 

 

Now on to the good stuff…. 

 

Workout Session:

 
  • Bench press (narrow grip): 3 x 10, 1 x 55 lb, 1 x 70 lb, 1 x 80 lb. Superset with Pull ups: 3 x 10 
  • Overhead triceps extension: 3 x 10, 20 lb. Superset with smith machine one arm upright row: 3 x 10 per arm , 25 lb
  • Triceps Pushdown: 3 x 10, 1 x 40 lb, 1 x 50 lb, 1 x 60 lb. Superset with Low row (narrow grip): 3 x 10, 1 x 55 lb, 1 x 70 lb, 1 x 85 lb
  • Kneeling Triceps extension: 3 x 10, 1 x 15 lb, 1 x 20 lb, 1 x 25 lb Superset with Cable rope curls: 3 x 10, 1 x 20 lb, 1 x 25 lb, 1 x 30 lb
  • Bodyweight squats: 230 reps 

So this probably looks like a short workout, but when you consider it being done as supersets, it isn’t as easy as it looks after all. I had a wonderful time during my workout and as I am typing, i can feel the soreness coming from a good workout today. I PR in my bench, which was nice. I went from a good 70 lb struggling to do 10 reps, to now 80 lb with 10 reps! I love that, my goal is 100 lb by the end of Feb, so hopefully that increases. If anyone does any of these exercises or does this routine, please leave me a comment letting me know what you think of it, love hearing from all of you. Thanks for reading.

 

Your Fitness Blogger,

 

Shay-lon xxx

6 thoughts on “Gym Workout – Jan. 26th

  1. Good workout!
    Whoever it is that’s encouraging you to do get to the gym and do pull ups is surely a wonderful person, kind, and supportive; a person of many talents, a wise, trustworthy and loyal friend.
    If you can do 3×10 pull ups, maybe that person encouraging you should tell you to reset your goal and add at least one more rep? Obviously 10 is too easy…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! you figured out why the workout was wonderful.
      Hahaha. no resets allowed. I actually struggled on the last set to do 10 without a break, but didn’t mention it. I pretty much did 4 sets on the last one and took a long break before continuing, so I am not ready for the big leagues – not to mention used the assisted machine pull up .. at 40 lb 😛 but no one else is supposed to know this! I should be doing 25 lb to none on that machine but .. but..but.. no excuses.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s really good. Even though you were using pull up assistance instead of full bodyweight like you were supposed to, I’m sure your encouraging friend will be affirming and understanding; nonjudgmental nor shaming, no matter how difficult it will be not to say something.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you encouraging friend, lol it was hard to not use it, it was looking at me with a sad face and I felt bad. So technically, I should be only at my remaining 5 without assistance, so technically I am not doing all that amazing 🙂 but still doing something.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

