If You Are New To Fitness..

In Case The World Forgot…..

 

I do still make post that don’t have my workouts attached. Let’s be honest, the majority of people who aren’t into fitness, think it is stupid, waste of time, don’t understand it, don’t give a shit or were misinformed, they tend to to think fitness is about “showing off muscles”, over-confident assholes, girls who have fake tits on the cover of sports illustrated, men who are meatheads and talk about lifting but don’t have common sense and feel as though we go around bragging about our bodies and how much we can lift in order to make ourselves feel better. When I mention anything about working out, or fitness to someone who doesn’t participate in those activities, I get the complaint, the look of “wow.. yeah, I don’t workout.. not my thing”, the comment “eh.. I would much rather smash my face with food” and while I don’t mind those particular people and respect their feelings toward fitness, I want them to know, being hip to being a healthier person doesn’t have to mean all those stereotypes I get boxed in. 

 

Sure, we have the occasional assholes who think they are better than everyone else at the gym, the occasional “bitch” who seems to think because she is in shape, she can talk shit about the girl on a journey and the pretend trainers who think they know everything about fitness because they watch YouTube videos and their favorite celebrity icon is Arnold. WOW! — yeah.. those people might suck, but guess what? we also have people like myself who don’t have to pretend to know shit, because if I know it, I say it and if I don’t I find out, I don’t think I am better than anyone at the gym because GUESS WHAT? I’m not. I don’t talk shit about the girl/guy on their fitness journey because I used to be on mine and probably had the same people talking shit about me. It seems like we are a rare bunch, but really we aren’t; there is more of us out there and many of us can’t stand when people think highly of who we are because we are human just like you, we didn’t come out the womb with a 6 pack and a nice ass – we started from the beginning too. Sure, I don’t know what it is like to be you, and you don’t know what it is like to be me, all you see is it what I look like and assume that I have no bad days because I carry a confidence about me that I don’t allow to fall victim to people’s negative vibes – this could be you, but instead you are giving up, you are doing exactly what people do to you, to me by assuming that my story is any less important than yours and giving me shit about being fit to excuse your choices and wrong turns in life. 

 

So to help you out and get you thinking outside of the box – if you are new to fitness:

 
  • Give everyone a chance to tell you how they can relate to your journey instead of pretending that you are the only one with a soap box- who knows, you might just be shocked to hear some of our journeys. 
  • Don’t judge me for choosing to be healthy and choosing to work my ass off for the body I have (you have no idea how long it has taken me and I will be damn if you choose to make me feel like shit about it) INSTEAD.. how about you get to know me as a person instead of judging me for what I look like and the amount of time I spend inside a gym. 
  • Get rid of the negative people holding you back from feeling good about yourself, YOU ARE ALLOWED TO BE CONFIDENT, YOU ARE ALLOWED TO FEEL GOOD ABOUT YOURSELF. 
  • Don’t stay complacent, always strive for more. There is always room for progress mentally and physically (just cause you met your goal of losing 5 pounds doesn’t mean you stop doing what you are doing) – it means aim for new goals (appropriate goals, realistic goals) 
  • Develop a learning mindset instead of a know it all mindset. Don’t get mad at helpful criticisms, people normally want to help, not make you feel dumb.  
  • stop whining. Seriously, we get it.. you were a child who got made fun of, so have many people, you were in shape and drank too much and gained weight, we got it. No need to throw it in our faces to make us feel bad, seriously.. we respect what you went through but I don’t care about your past, let’s focus on what you are going to do about it now. Tell me your story but don’t throw it in my face when shit starts to get hard and you want to give up, because guess what? many people have been through some shit, your’s is not the worse case scenario. It is okay to go through dark times, and cry, and be mad.. but don’t make me feel like the monster who did it to you.. because I am only here to be supportive and help. For ex. “You have no idea what I have been through.. blah blah blah..” chances are I have been through some shit too, just different story. 
  • Don’t go into fitness comparing your results to other people’s results= this will end in disaster and make you even more anxiety ridden. This isn’t about competing against another person, this is about making yourself happy with yourself. 
  • To get your body right, have to have your mind right – balance is important. You might be strong physically but are you strong mentally.. this makes a difference, trust me. You might be lifting 500 lb squats but if you don’t have a good mindset , you won’t lift it.. because you don’t believe in yourself nor your capabilities and you have allowed your mind to keep your body from achieving. 
  • Don’t worry what others think of you, because chances are, they aren’t paying you any attention in the first place – if they are, they aren’t doing what they need to be doing (which is focusing on their own journey)
  • Don’t talk to us (people in the fitness industry)  like we are gods/goddesses, we aren’t. We enjoy compliments, but don’t forget we are human too, we have flaws, we have bad days and we struggle just like you do and when I am PMSing, I get bloated too, our abs don’t keep us from dying ya know.. we are HUMAN 🙂 
  • Don’t worry about lifting the heaviest weights and running the furthest distance – do you. Whatever you can do, do it and do it well.

If you want respect from us, respect us. Not all of us are the same, and I sure the hell don’t want to be a stereotype, I am Shay-lon and if you want to stereotype me to make yourself feel good, then do it, but don’t be shocked when you find out I don’t meet your expectations. Fitness isn’t about being the strongest, fastest, most athletic person in the world, fitness is about finding that burning desire to create something amazing out of yourself and conquering the very thing that kept you from starting in the first place. If you don’t know what fitness is about, the find out.. from someone who does. 

 

Thank you for reading,

 

Your Fitness Blogger,

Shay-lon xxx

16 thoughts on “If You Are New To Fitness..

Leave a Reply

