Face Pull Exercise

It has been awhile….

Since I have created some post about specific exercises. I thought to myself, I have been slacking in that particular department, so here it is, I will do a better job of doing more of these again. 

This particular exercise is done using a rope extension with the cable machine, so unless you have this at your home, it will take a gym to do this exercise the way I am describing it. It is an upper body workout and like any other exercise, it takes proper form and technique to decrease chances of injury.

How to perform the rope pull (face pull):

  1. Facing a high pulley (using the rope or dual handles attached) pull the weight directly toward your face, being sure to separate your hands as you do so. Be sure to keep your upper arms parallel to the ground.

Easy enough right? Should be, it is a beginner exercise and to make it more challenging add more load or do more reps. 

 

Want a video how to?:

 

What muscles are being targeted?

  • Shoulders

Do I like this particular exercise?

  • Yes!

Tell me if you have done this exercise and if you like it, would love to hear, also don’t forget to mention how much weight you face pull, I am always curious how strong some of you are 🙂 

Very simple exercise, but make sure you are using proper hand positions to get the full ROM and avoiding injury. 

 

Your Fitness Blogger,

Shay-lon xxx

 
24 thoughts on “Face Pull Exercise

  1. I do face pulls a lot. I modify them a bit to help target some weak areas on my body though.. mainly… my rear deltoids. I find that if I pull more towards my upper chest and neck and really focus, I can get an awesome pump in my rear delts! I typically do 3 sets of 10 starting with 70lbs ending at 90lbs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! Yes, I just started doing them myself after seeing someone at the gym do them.3 sets of 10 is good, that definitely is standard and I do that pretty much with a lot of workouts too. You lift heavy though, wow! I have yet to go over 30 lb yet, lol. — someone has been getting a lot of gains (you) 🙂

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, hey I am learning something new about you, I never even knew that! That is awesome, do you compete? or just for recreational?
        I don’t think I have you on IG yet, so I will find you 🙂

        Like

    1. Omg, you are like another one who loves them. Who knew this simple exercise would be so popular among lifters. I am becoming one of those people that hop on the face pull bandwagon, because I like them haha. I didn’t really expect to , but they aren’t bad and I like using the cable machine anyways.
      Do you use a TRX at home?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh lucky! I want a home gym:) so many people have been creating their own and I am so jealous! ha. that is goals for one day in the future, I don’t mind my gym but it would come handy for when I don’t feel like leaving the house.

        Like

  2. I like how you have to specify to move one’s hands apart. (I’m reminded of the many times I would move my sister’s arm and say, “Why are you hitting yourself? Why are you hitting yourself?”)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brad,
      Well, when using the rope, it may be obvious to move your hands apart but not always, I treat everyone as if they have never done the exercise before. lol.
      Not to mention it hurts when you get yourself doing that exercise.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So I tried these yesterday. Unfortunately, I used a really light weight (not sure where to be at) and I forgot all about moving my hands apart!
    Three reps in and I had a black eye, a bloody nose, and I knocked out a front tooth!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brad,
      Did you like the exercise? I know so many people have mentioned that they do 🙂 I now enjoy them myself and I realized I use a light weight too the first two times I did them, so I will go up the next time .

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know what I’ve noticed? It could be all in my head but I’ve found some cable weight stacks to be “lighter” than others at the same weight. So 50lbs on one feels like 40lbs on another. Know what I mean?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I had that happen today actually. I was lifting 40 lb on one and it was really light and then when I used a different cable weight stack, 40 lb was heavier. I thought it was the oddest thing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

