What Is A “Side Stitch”?

Hey Bloggers, I am back again for another blog post.. 

& this time this one will be more informational. I am not sure how many of you have heard of the term “side stitch” but previous to last week I had not known what it was either. The only reason I found out about this was because I was doing some research into some pains I had been feeling during my runs on and off the treadmill. 

 

The kind of pains I was feeling were sharp pains, almost like a cramping feeling in my obliques, and I would run through them just to finish my run but they would hurt so bad, sometimes I had to slow down in order to lessen them or would stop completely and they would go away. I thought it was the oddest thing and while these pains were nothing new to me, because I have had these pains happen for the last year or so, I finally decided to look into them.  Now I am not a medical doctor, so my answer does not mean it is your answer because there are obviously other reasons why I could have been experiencing this pain, but to my knowledge and after doing some digging, I found that I have a possible “side stitch”. 

 

What is a “side stitch” you ask? 

 
  • Also referred to as a side ache, or side cramp is an intense stabbing pain under the lower edge of the rib-cage that occurs while exercising. It is also well-known as an transient abdominal pain (ETAP)

after looking at some signs and symptoms , I gathered this could be my issue, so then I started to look into ways to keep it from happening and many different sites had ideas and I figured I would share some with you , if you know that you might have this. Now I would like to add, that I don’t get these when I lift weights of any type, only when I am running does it happen. 

Hopefully all three of these links will offer some ways to deal with your side stitch. I have given them a try and today during cardio, I had no pain. Yay!

 

Share your thoughts in the comment section, let me know, do you have side stitches? Thanks for reading. 

 

Your Fitness Blogger,

Shay-lon xxooo

9 thoughts on “What Is A “Side Stitch”?

      1. But that is totally okay, nothing wrong with that, learning is being active in the mind, as long as we continue to learn , we continue to grow 😀
        I always like your meditation blogs because while I stopped and want to get back into it, I need to find what works well for me and my mind in order to stick with it. ya know.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

