Handstands (Exercise)

The biggest thing happening on social media right now.. & people are gasping over anyone who can perform a handstand (let alone a handstand push up). So what makes this movement so cool, well probably because it is an advanced movement and NOT everyone can perform it, but it is something that a person can practice at and hopefully get better. Some people have been known to do different varieties of handstands but for the moment being we will discuss the standard one (but be on the lookout for more blog post on the other types). 

 

I will be completely honest when I tell you that the last time I attempted a handstand was during CrossFit for our WOD and while I took the easy way around it (walking myself up the wall from the ground up) I haven’t yet tried doing a handstand on my own or by running toward a wall.. but something tells me this is an area I would be weaker in. There are many ways to work yourself up to a handstand BUT this post doesn’t go over that (saving that for another discussion) but this one will instead go over the benefits these athletes are receiving from being able to do handstands and the muscles used in order to be strong enough to hold your bodyweight. 

 

Why Should I Be Doing Handstands?

 
  • Weight bearing exercise – strengthens the bones
  • aids bone health in shoulders, arms, and wrist
  • beneficial for the spine (spinal stabilization)
  • stimulates endocrine system
  • builds upper body strength
  • Many yoga circles consider it a way to relieve minor stress and/or depression
  • improves grip strength
  • builds shoulder stability
  • improves athleticism – let’s be honest, when you view someone doing a handstand, the majority of times they are considered athletic. 
  • possible improved balance

Why Do You Handstand? – Leave answer in the comment section. 

 

What Muscles will be benefiting from a handstand?

  • Shoulder & chest muscles (medial & anterior deltoid) 
  • pectoralis major and minor
  • back muscles
  • arms
  • wrist
  • legs
  • stretches the core muscles

So as you can tell, it is beneficial and uses many muscles (and some I didn’t even list). Don’t fret if you can’t do one, because I will be making a blog post on how to properly do a handstand with and without the wall and will be posting some exercises you can do beforehand and during so that you can improve your handstand. In the meantime, if you have or had any back, neck, shoulder or back injuries – make sure to seek a doctor’s guidance before performing this exercise. 

 

How many of you can perform a proper handstand? How long did it take you before you could do a handstand? Can you do it with and without the use of the wall? How long can you hold your handstand for? Let me know in the comments and share this post with your peers! 

 

Your Fitness Blogger,

Shay-lon xxoo

16 thoughts on “Handstands (Exercise)

  1. Sweet article! I didn’t actually know all of this about handstands! Me and my girlfriend were doing handstands on the beach the other day for fun. Good to know it’s good for us too! Are you on FB at all? We have a group of fitness enthusiasts all sharing tips and tricks like this with each other, it would be great to have you a part of the community too. Here’s the link if you’re interested, feel free to drop your article in there too – https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Mike,
      Thanks for dropping a comment! well I forgot to add they can be fun too! good addition 🙂 But yes, think of it as a fun way to gain strength! it proves how strong you are when you are capable of doing one in the first place, so the both of you must be pretty strong individuals! so awesome!
      I do have a FB, both page and personal Facebook, thank you for inviting me over to your community – I will be checking it out & hopefully posting this article, I hope they enjoy it!

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha, it has taken me a year to build up to a proper shoulder stand. I tried a head stand a couple weeks ago, but I still lack the upper body strength and balance for that. I’m still working on those wall push ups, so maybe some day…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The fact you can do a shoulder stand is awesome Arlene, like I said, I know I am not capable of doing much right now with the handstand for the most part. Something that I need MAJOR practice with, and yes the wall push ups will definitely help you 🙂 you should look into writing about how you were able to get yourself to do a shoulder stand, and how long it took you 🙂 I might even have you use it as part of my blog post when I discuss how one can learn to handstand .. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

