Dumbbell Shoulder Press (Exercise – how to)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEwKCR5JCog – Video Demonstration 

hursday has arrived and I am up early, getting ready for the day to begin. I love how when I wake up it is alright bright and sunny and looks to be a warm day. My only fuss is I wasn’t sure which blog topic I wanted to write about today, I have a list of blog topics that interest me to write about and sometimes the hardest part is choosing which one to start on. I realize yesterday I gave you an exercise post but I find these exercise post are handy for some people and short and to the point, that way if I have plans, I don’t feel rushed writing. I love writing but sometimes I am on a strict timeline, especially when I make prior engagements, but thankfully my tummy is feeling a whole lot better than the last couple of days and that has been helpful in focusing. With all this being said…

Have you gave the dumbbell shoulder press a try? It isn’t a new exercise by any means but it is one I do enjoy implementing in my workouts, who doesn’t have dumbbells handy someplace if not at the gym and if you don’t own dumbbells – normally you can find some lower weights for cheap vs paying a hell of a lot more for some heavier weights (although after a while depending on your fitness level, you will want to invest in high weights possibly). Just like any other exercise I mention on my blog, it is the form and technique that is more important than the load you lift, because you want to make sure you have a grip on how the arms go up and really activate those shoulder muscles. I typically tell people to start with lower weights or have a spotter if pushing higher weights so that they can get the form down and also reduce their chances of injury. This particular exercise can be done standing or sitting, and I don’t mind either way, but many times, I have probably done it standing more so than sitting (variety is key). 

How to perform the exercise?

I have a video at the top with the link showing the correct way to do this particular exercise, but for some, I always like to add some written steps in case others would rather read than watch the video.

  1. Hold a dumbbell in each hand, sit on a bench that has back support. Start by placing the dumbbells upright on top of  your thighs
  2. Raise dumbbells to shoulder height one at a time – use your thighs to help propel them into position
  3. Have your wrist rotated so that your palms face forward, This is considered the starting position
  4. Exhale and push the dumbbells upward until they touch at the top 
  5. Pause at the contracted position at the top, slowly lower the weights back down to the starting position while inhaling. 
  6. repeat for the recommended repetitions

What muscles are being worked?

  • Anterior deltoid
  • posterior deltoid
  • lateral deltoid
  • pectoralis major (chest muscle) – help with this movement 
  • triceps brachii – help with this movement

I would highly recommend you give this exercise a try if you haven’t and leave me a comment letting me know what you think! Thanks for reading!

 

leave a comment, like, share, and follow!

 

Your Fitness Blogger 

Shay-lon xooxo

 

9 thoughts on “Dumbbell Shoulder Press (Exercise – how to)

  1. Awesome info, thank you! So important to know how to properly do things or someone like me would hurt themselves (lol!)
    I just wanted to stop by to let you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award, your content is great and I always enjoy reading. Thank you for your lovely posts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey! Thank you, glad it could be some of use to you and others. I enjoy writing content to help others. I also appreciate your nominating me for the award, if it doesn’t get done today, I will make it my mission to hopefully finish it tomorrow! looking forward to it!

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hello! Hey, good question/request, I will definitely try to implement/write more post that are bodyweight exercises as well 😀 I can’t promise it will be today or tomorrow but glad you decided to ask me, I think bodyweight exercises are great as well, so yes, will be sure to do some topics of some of them , thank you 😀

      Shay-lon

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I just say I am so happy I found your blog! It is so informative and refreshing to see a genuine and consistent mix of personal experiences and informative tips in one post. I will probably binge watch your videos and posts now haha. I’m at the beginning of losing 100 lbs and my blog is going to reflect that journey soon so I’m happy I’ll b able to refer to your posts for reference when I’m clueless haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awh thank you so much! I appreciate your kind words! I try to make my blog more engaging because their are already so many fitness/health blogs out there that seem to be more scientific and more informative and having this mix allows me to talk in lamens terms, and share my own thoughts and opinions. I feel as though it makes me stand out among the crowed topic. I hope my videos make your day 😀

      Shay-lon

      Like

Leave a Reply

