Happy Canada Day!

To All my readers and Bloggers! 

Published by

fitnessgrad

Hello! I have just recently graduated with my exercise science degree May 2016, yay! I am more than happy; and decided that since my passion is for fitness/health, I would write about it and share my journey with others because in my opinion health is everything (both mental and physical). I am 24 years old, and reside in the states. I enjoy being active anyway possible and want to get my cert in personal trainer and also be a wellness coach. I love to eat and don't believe in eliminating, but rather moderation. I hope that my blog post will inspire, motivate and encourage you all to want to be the healthiest person you can be! It all begins with "I can" and "I will" :) -Shay-lon P.S feel free to follow me on social media and or email me, l don't mind answering questions or simply networking. Would love to hear from you all.

17 thoughts on “Happy Canada Day!”

      1. Oh man you have no idea how insanely long the process is! I finally have everything put together like copies of my passport, birth certificates, Kenyan citizenship etc so now I just have to make the application for my Visa. I’m not sure when I can leave yet cos it depends on my Visa but I’m hoping by mid-August if nothing goes wrong during the elections because if there’s violence and riots I’ll be stuck here till September.
        Now the stressful thing is finding an apartment! It is so hard to find a furnished apartment 😭

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh wow! August is coming up, I hope the process goes over smoothly for you. College and moving takes a lot of paperwork and time. Are you excited to start this possible new journey though?

        Oh wow, you will be living in an apartment? that is awesome. You will have your own space, lucky. I am having to live with roommates, but I can excited for the day I can move into my own place.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah August is so close so I really hope I get my Visa’s soon! University is such a huge hassle but it’s definitely worth it! I’m super terrified but super excited too! Honestly, I feel like this is what I need right now and I’ve always wanted to go abroad for university so I feel like this is what’s best for me right now and I of course always have the option to move back to Kenya so I’m not so scared!

        Yeah I want to live in an apartment and once I make some friends at university I’ll probably get some roommates too because I don’t know about the US but Canada is crazy expensive when it comes to renting! Yeah having your own place is such an amazing experience and I can’t wait to live on my own and start being an adult!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, this is true. I remember graduating high school and thinking it would be easy to go from there but BOY WAS I WRONG, having to apply for different colleges, thinking about what you can afford, trying to determine living situations and having to find a part time job that will work around the vigorous college schedule. Not to mention having to worry about making new friends .. fitting in with someone while learning about the campus and exploring. I remember be anxious, excited and somewhat scared to venture because I wasn’t sure what to make of college .. until I got the hang of things, but I believe you will do well for yourself. I will be here in the meantime.

        The U,S can be expensive as well, depending on where you reside, but most college students live on campus here and while it seems like a great way to build bonds, it can also be quite expensive for room and board, so I think an apartment is a great start .. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yeah it’s just such an insane process especially when you’re on a budget it’s so hard to find a place to stay that’s affordable and you need to check out everything to make sure it’s affordable! I think the whole process before uni is actually more stressful than actually going to university! Which of course is pretty stressful to because you kind of have to start all over again which is so hard!

        Yeah I was checking out New York (because my best friend is there and I thought it would be fun) for a while before I decided to go to Canada but it was too expensive for me. Canada has a lot more scholarships so it was working out better for me. And California is just so expensive I just gave up on it!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh, I had not known that you thought about going to New York or California, wow. Both of those would have been good experiences I bet, I have never been to either place but I do know that both of those places are very expensive living. They both have good universities as well though, I don’t know anyone who went to either one but I have seen from TV that they both hold some good choices as far as schooling goes.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Yeah I was considering those two places because I have friends in both those places but the one in New York was actually telling she likes it there but both places are more than double of the cost of Canada! Yeah they have excellent education but I just couldn’t afford it. I want to visit New York though it’s right next to where I’m going and I want to see my friends who go there!

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Yes,
        That would be a good idea as well, to visit. Visiting can be just as great and give you some insight for maybe a later year if you decide you still want to move there and can then afford it.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Yeah I have quite a few friends living in the US right now because they are doing their undergrad there so I was thinking of meeting up with all of them and visiting a bunch of different states and checking out which ones I like so I can have some options for the future. Although I don’t have any plans of studying in the US because it’s quite expensive even in other states and it’s Masters and Doctorate is free in Canada so I would prefer to just study there.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Yeah it’s so sweet of them. Plus there are so many Scholarships! They cut off more than 10000 CAD from my tuition fees because I got a bunch of Scholarships! And I can apply for quite a few Scholarships because I’m a Kenyan citizen and they’re really helpful towards African students which I think is very nice. Because of the difference between CAD and KSH it’s so expensive for us and many people can’t afford it.

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Yeah it is really nice of them. I think they do that because they’re looking for international students right now so it’s good for me! Having a Kenyan passport has it’s perks 😂😜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

